ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Entertainment and Media»
  • Movies & Movie Reviews

Family Film Reviews: Fantastic Four 2 Film Review

Updated on August 28, 2011

Fantastic Four 2: Is It Fantastic?

 Fantastic four was an okay movie, but the first film just was an average one, it didn't impress the fans that much of the much loved comic book Fantastic Four.

The casting of Jessica Alba as Invisible Woman just didn't seem to gel that much, although she is a fine actress, I for one felt that Sue Storm should have been cast with another actress in the role. However in this second film she did act a bit more like how the comic books have her portayed as Sue Richards.

The rest of the cast though all seem to have been cast quite well, although Julian McMahons Dr Doom was a little pathetic and this ruined the film.

When the film had a sequel entitled The Rise Of The Silver Surfer there was excitement about the film and whether it would actually be any good.

Well the few minutes in the film were you see the silver surfer flying around are the best bits and other than that it was a pretty pointless affair. Basically the whole reason the silver surfer has arrived is to herald the impending arrival of Galactus a world eating God who destroyed planets, although in the film we see Galactus as a dissappointing cloud of fart gas and nothing like the comics blue and purple giant god like figure who destroyed cities with beams of light from his fingers.

Perhaps the only good thing that this film served, was the fact of setting up the Silver Surfer for his own film.

On a lighter note though the film wasn't a total rip off, even though it felt like it.

There were some nods to the original comic with Reed and Sues wedding near the beginning and the whole cosmic power switching thing that occured because of the arrival of the Silver Surfer and this was fun to see after reading similar events like this years ago as a child.

The Fantastic 4 car also appeared too, which was nice!

Doctor Doom returns from the first film though and quite as pointless and pathetic as he was before, as he helps the Fantastic Four together with the military for his own devious ends which also turn out pointless.

The only saving point about the film is the special effects like all of these comic book films that just seem to pour out of Hollywood, the effects seem to draw the crowds, but it's all very well having money throwed at the effects, but if the story isn't up to scratch then why bother.

Now I know that the main cast are contracted for a third film, so I hope they do something fantastic with the next one, because this one should have been more and everything that we expected from the comic book, Galactus shouldn't have been a farty rain cloud, he should have been the God he was supposed to be with his all powerful gaze like Jack Kirby Drew him in the 60's.

All in all, not that fantastic, just average and most certainly looking forward to the Silver Surfer movie when that occurs.

Fantastic Four 2: Rise Of The Silver Surfer

Image Copyright Of Film Companies and Respected Film people dudes 2009.
Image Copyright Of Film Companies and Respected Film people dudes 2009.

Fantastic Four 2 DVDs On Amazon.com

Best Thing About Fantastic Four 2? If Any?

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • profile image

      Don Seesareu 8 years ago

      Hello, today I'll review Fantastic Four 2. This is a re-hash of the first movie which was bad if you all remember. This movie is somewhat decent. It has some flaws. I'm a comic book fan. unlike the man who a few hours ago posted a rant on Marvel. I loved Jessica Alba's performance here. Still, that's not good enough. The acting was okay for a Marvel movie in which, stories and plot don't matter much to Marvel. John Ottman was again off the ball for this film's mediocre score. Ottman is better than this. The effects were decent this time and not shoddy like the last film's effects. Is this as good as Citizen Kane? No. Is it as bad as Gigli (2003)? Not really. I hope that this film series gets a major change soon. We don't want to see Alba in a skin-tight outfit again. We want some serious acting this time Marvel, don't pussy foot. I have some advice for Marvel, starting caring about plot and story and create your own stars instead on casting established actors. You need to be original Marvel and not copy the lastest all star movie trend. My score: 6.75/10

    • profile image

      Mr. Seesareu 8 years ago

      Disclaimer-If you're a Marvel fan, you may not want to hear this or even see this. I'm going on yet another tirade against everything that Marvel stands for. I find Marvel's movies being a long snorefest marathon. These movies are so damn BORING! C'mon Waynet, even you have to admit that every single Marvel movie since 1999 was crap. To me, these movies were bullshit just like all two Star Wars Sagas. George Lucas should be a director for Marvel because he is famous for big, over the top shit like Star Wars. Marvel are also famous for over the top shit like X-Men 1 & 2 and every single Marvel movie since 1999. I also think that Stan Lee is dumb. Avi Arad is just a prick who pads his own big ego. Twenty Century Fox should be gulity for driving these pieces of shit down our throats when we aren't wanting it! If you're not a Marvel sheep, if you're smart. You'll notice that Marvel are trying to state that they are better than everyone on the face of this planet. Waynet, if you're a Jessica Alba fan, tell me why you like Alba's shitty movies. I want all of you people to see this. Waynet, have goldentoad see this as well because this may entice him to hear about my statements which are accurate. Do you see any of Marvel's movies getting any major hollywood awards? No. Know why? Marvel's movies are garbage! Later.

    • waynet profile image
      Author

      Wayne Tully 8 years ago from Hull City United Kingdom

      You love Marvel really! you want to marry them!!

    • profile image

      Mr. Seesareu 8 years ago

      I hate these mother fucking Marvel movies with a passion! These movies are stupid! You Marvel fans are idoits! You sheep. You gullible fools. You Marvel loving idoits! You Marvel fans are like a bunch of flies who disturb people. You are shameless geeks aren't you? You people defend these comic book movies. For what reason? You know that they're garbage. For someone like you waynet who admits that Fantastic Four 2 was shit, but you still defend these movies. You sir are indeed an apologist for Marvel! You suck up to Marvel! This will be my last comment to you Marvel idoits!

    • waynet profile image
      Author

      Wayne Tully 8 years ago from Hull City United Kingdom

      All of them films were great except FF2, Elektra and X-men 3 and nerds are them people who take the mick about other peoples stuff!

    • profile image

      Mr. Seesareu 8 years ago

      Here are my Ratings for Marbel's movies:

      Blade 3/10

      X-Men 2.5/10

      Spider-Man 3.5/10

      Blade 2 2.5/10

      Daredevil 4/10

      X-Men 2 2/10

      Hulk 7/10

      Spider-Man 2 3.5/10

      Blade 3 1.5/10

      Elektra 2/10

      Fantastic Four 0/10

      X-Men 3 1.5/10

      Ghost Rider 2/10

      Spider-Man 3 4.5/10

      Fantastic Four 2 0.5/10

      Iron Man 1/10

      The Incredible Hulk 4/10

      X-Men Origins: Wolverine 3.5/10

      Here are you nerds going to respond to this huh? I keep telling you nerds that most of these movies are shit!

    • waynet profile image
      Author

      Wayne Tully 8 years ago from Hull City United Kingdom

      The X-men films were okay, just the 3rd one killed off a few characters and that is what disturbs me as in the comic they resurrect them like nobodies business, but in the film franchises anything goes, nbecause they only have limited budgets for each film, so if they get rid of a few characters and there is no following film, then they are dead forever in celluoid!

      The X-men films however the first 2 were quite good and they proved themsleves to be faithful adaptations of the comic books in their own right, but there is always going to be a right balance as there are too many charcters to characterize in the x-men universe in one film, so they had to strike a right balance between the films villains and the heroes.

      I didn't mention the X-men films because I simple forgot about them, but on their own merits they did prove good viewing, especially if you were a fane of the comic books, because seeing this stuff in film just gives me a woody seriously!!!

      I've always wanted to see stuff like Spiderman on the cinema and the small screen based off me reading the comic books!!

    • profile image

      Mr. Seesareu 8 years ago

      Does this mean that all three X-Men movies were shit? YES! If you wanna talk crappy Marvel movies then we'll talk crappy Marvel movies.

    • waynet profile image
      Author

      Wayne Tully 8 years ago from Hull City United Kingdom

      Oh yeah I was going to do a review of the Punisher 2 War Zone, but it was pathetically bad too, so I can't be arsed!

      There are some good Marvel movies, like Blade, Ghost Rider and even Iron Man, but there are an equal amount of bad films that shouldn't have been made or they should have been made better.

    • profile image

      Don Seesareu 8 years ago

      I thought that this movie was rather bland. Waynet, you've heard of my brother Mr. Seesareu right? Well he hates any comic book movies and Jessica Alba movies. I want to tell you about Mr. Seesareu. He's a new version of the Youtube wrestling shooter PSPower. My brother knows shit when he sees it. I think that this movie might be even worse than the first film was. I'm glad that you're the only Marvel fan who knows that a Marvel movie is jack shit. I have a suggestion for what you could do. Come up with a list of Marvel movie list and give it a ratings system to see which Marvel movies are either good or bad. Expect to hear from Mr. Seesareu again really soon.

    • waynet profile image
      Author

      Wayne Tully 8 years ago from Hull City United Kingdom

      I didn't know there was any music, but the main point is about the story, it didn't really go that well, it just delivered a slapped together script with just a quick pass on reality, it didn't deliver the comic book thrills when Jack Kirby drew the best visual stories of his career.

    • profile image

      Mr. Seesareu 8 years ago

      I didn't mention Galactus. Well sorry. When I got this piece of horse shit on DVD I wanted to see if Jessica Alba could redeem herself to prove that she could be great once more and I was fucking disappointed. I want my fucking time and money Marvel. If you guys defend John Ottman's shitty score for this piece of horse shit, I won't comment. I will explain to you why Ottman's score was complete and utter shit! Basically, the score is so damn stupid and evokes bad vibes that I felt. This is John Ottman's worst score ever. In my opinion, Ottman is the worst film composer in the world. I'm sure if you guys will agree with me on this or not but I think that John Ottman is a John Williams clone. It's as simple as that! If you don't agree with me then just listen to Ottman's shitty score from X-Men 2.

    • waynet profile image
      Author

      Wayne Tully 8 years ago from Hull City United Kingdom

      You didn't break any of our spirits, because fantastic four 2 was indeed shite and another disappointment for the true fans of fantastic four...the things always good though, that's the only thing they got right!!

      But where was galactus... a floating gas cloud of obnoxious fart arse gas!

    • profile image

      Mr. Seesareu 8 years ago

      I'm so damn sorry to break your spirts gentlemen, but I found Fantastic Four 2 to be a huge pain in the ass! John Ottman's score was shitty as always, Alba's acting was as usual horrible and the other actors are bunch of stupid, giddy nerds who are happy to have their faces on the fucking camera!

    • waynet profile image
      Author

      Wayne Tully 9 years ago from Hull City United Kingdom

      Ha the film itself distracted me from those very things you described...so happy days it's a plan!!

    • goldentoad profile image

      goldentoad 9 years ago from Free and running....

      Its okay if you got a bunch of screaming kids, dogs barking, a woman yapping, and a cold beer in your lap and you need something to distract you a little bit.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: "https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr"

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)