ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Film review: Battleship

Updated on May 22, 2012


Film work details

Title: Battleship

Writers: Eric Hoeber, Jon Hoeber

Stars: Alexander Skarsgård, Taylor Kitsch, Brooklyn Decker, Liam Neeson, others

Director: Peter Berg

Production companies: Battleship Delta Productions, others

Distributors: Universal Pictures

Brief synopsis

Hasbro's strategic board game gets a sci-fi facelift with this Universal Pictures production from director Peter Berg. The action will pit a small fleet of naval ships against an alien force intent on enriching Earth's valuable assets to ensure their survival. Taylor Kitsch (Wolverine) and True Blood's Alexander Skarsgard star alongside Liam Neeson, Rihanna, and Brooklyn Decker

Stats

Genre: Sci-Fi, war, action, adventure

Age rating: PG-13 for intense sequences of violence, action, destruction and mature language

Reviewer rating: 3 & 1/2 Popcorns out of a possible 5

Reviewer summary:

Background: Some years back NASA scientists discovered a planet very similar to Earth beyond our solar system. In the hope of contacting intelligent life NASA transmitted to this planet a satellite-birthed communications signal from a Hawaiian base.

Meanwhile, in a bar somewhere in Hawaii two brothers are out for the night – Navy commander Stone Hopper and his slacker younger brother, Alex. At the end of their evening an attractive blonde catches Alex’s eye. The blonde is disappointed that the bar grill is about to close and she can’t get a burrito. Alex makes an attempt to impress her by stealing one and in the process is tasered and arrested by cops. Later, Alex is given down the road by Stone, who demands his trouble-incurring brother sign up for the Navy.

Current events: Alex is now a lieutenant and TAC officer on the USS John Paul Jones, a Navy destroyer, while Stone has moved up to become the commander of the USS Sampson. Even though Alex has attempted to leave his rowdy ways behind him, he is still a maverick. This attitude is about to get him tossed out of the Navy, yet not all is looking grim because he’s dating the same blonde he had stolen the burrito for. This woman -Samantha Shane- turns out to be the daughter of Admiral Shane and Alex is nervous about asking this intimidating commander for Samantha's hand in marriage.

At this junction five alien ships have responded to the signal NASA sent out. They come to earth, packed to the hilt with an arsenal of devastating high-tech weaponry far superior to practically any made by man. Suffice to say, their agenda is not one of peace. One of the alien ships collides with an orbital satellite and crashes. The other four converge over the Hawaii islands and bordering seas, where they create a force field that prevents human airships from entering. Along with civilian towns, suburbs and military compounds captured within this force field is a small isolated NASA base. It is here the interplanetary transmission had been sent launched years before. Additionally the USS John Paul Jones, the USS Sampson and a visiting Japanese destroyer are also detained within the force field.

Reviewer comments:

My reactions to Battleship are strongly contradicting. Components of it left me satisfied while others sorely disappointed.

What this film had going for it:

Fascinating premise

To be honest Military Action is not one of my favorite genres, but this one had the favorable spice of some good Sci-Fi mystery blended in. This combination made for a nicely dark storyline. The audience never really got to understand what compelled the aliens, but there is no doubt their intention is bad.

The most exhilarating part of the story happens when the tie-in with the premise of the Battleship game is brought in. If you’re a fan of the game this component is worth every cent you spent on a ticket.

Fantastic special effects and CGI artistry

From artillery explosions to the alien technology, all around superb.

The music of one of the best heavy metal bands of all time

AC/DC rules. I need not say more.

What this film had going against it

Numerous story elements borrowed from other movies

The script writers of Battleship obviously watched a lot of military-maverick-who-wins-redemption themed movies because practically every relationship element in this movie has already been done. Think The Midway, An Officer and a Gentleman, Top Gun, and Tora, Tora, Tora! Except for the addition of a gutter-mouthed female seaman we’ve seen these same soap realationships done and redone. The writers even gave their hero the abbreviated name of Hopper, which is all too reminiscent of Topper, the name of the maverick bad-boy top gun pilot from the parody Hot Shots!

Clichéd, two-dimensional characters and corresponding dialog

In addition to recycled story elements Battleship audiences are also confronted by some really stale characters. The male military characters are presented as gung-ho tools with about as much complexity as amoebas. The single female military character is your typical kickass urbanista whose only preoccupation seems to be showing off how superior to the men she is in the skills of fighting, cursing and being a gung-ho tool. Then there is the high-ranking admiral, graced with two emotional qualities: reserved and angrily reserved. The scientists are all presented as elitist educated idiots, the admiral’s daughter is a Pollyanna, ect. ect.

Worse, but not surprising, the dialog is correspondingly corny.

Uninspired performances

Even bad dialog can be elevated when the actors delivering it are using something called skill, and there happens to be several talented -and more so experienced- actors in this film who could have provided exactly this. Unfortunately –and unforgivably- these professionals didn’t appear to give a darn about imparting even a shred of depth to their roles. I was most disappointed with the performance of Liam Neeson as the admimral. This man is an Oscar winner who has appeared in countless movies; even if he didn’t care about the role he could have acted like he did, right?

The only experienced actor in the cast who didn’t appear bored or indifferent to his role was Peter MacNicol, in his portrayal of the Defense Secretary. To the audience’s loss, however, MacNicol’s on-screen time was limited to a few curt lines.

Completely predictable outcome for the clichéd, two-dimensional characters

What with the borrowing of story elements from other films I couldn’t really expect anything different. But still, I had my fingers crossed.

Final verdict

Despite its flaws the positive aspects of Battleship somehow win out. It is a fun movie with an alluring premise, eye-catching graphics and the story benefits all around from the great head-banging music of AC/DC. It isn’t the best Action or Military film ever made, but it is infused with excitement.

Lastly, if you’re a fan of Hasbro's Battleship game you’re sure to find this film a complimentary and likeable effort.

Reviewer rating: 3 and a half Popcorns

Visit the official Battleship website (graphic intense!)


This Hub review ©May 22, 2012 by Beth Perry



Comments

Submit a Comment

  • bethperry profile imageAUTHOR

    Beth Perry 

    6 years ago from Tennesee

    Eric, that is an interesting thought, and it may very well be true.

    As an author myself I've encountered a few editors who make similar complaints, then turn right around and suggest formula dispositions and personality trait changes for characters and scenarios. It is as if this is an attempt -whether consciously or unconsciously- to force writers into re-recreating stereotypical characters with the subterfuge charge that they (the writers) have written exactly that. Formula world building and character development may help make for some marketable "copy cats" but the market is always changing and such practice, in the end, makes for limited sales. Since I dislike stereotypes and formula this could explain why I've not made a whole lot of friends with editors, lol.

    Thanks for reading and leaving the astute comment!

  • Eric Calderwood profile image

    Eric Calderwood 

    6 years ago from USA

    Some of the problems you've pointed out in this movie probably come from the current mindset of writing instruction. As writers, we are constantly told not to make our characters two dimensional cardboard cutouts, and to steer away from cliche's. Then as a solution we are given a list of standard traits that make up a good, in-depth character. These identical traits are used over and over again creating a new stereotype. I just read a book on master character archetypes that will supposedly help the writer steer clear of chiche'd characters. It looked like a book length list of stereotypes to me. Thanks for the movie review!

  • bethperry profile imageAUTHOR

    Beth Perry 

    6 years ago from Tennesee

    I had no idea, Will. Well, maybe this review will help it a bit.

    Thanks so much!

  • WillStarr profile image

    WillStarr 

    6 years ago from Phoenix, Arizona

    You're generous and kind. The movie has been rated a box office disaster.

    Cool Hub!

  • bethperry profile imageAUTHOR

    Beth Perry 

    6 years ago from Tennesee

    ib radmasters, thanks much for reading and commenting. This was actually a difficult review for me to write, as I don't normally come away liking a film when the problems with it are so glaring. But I did and well, had to be honest to myself on this. If you catch Battleship I sure hope you come away feeling entertained as well; it is expensive to get to the movies and no one wants to feel as though they've wasted their money or time.

    Thanks again!

  • ib radmasters profile image

    ib radmasters 

    6 years ago from Southern California

    BethPerry

    I enjoyed reading your review, but I was surprised by it getting three and a half popcorns.

    SFx are great on the large screen, but a great story is good on any screen. It seems the latter attribute is missing in Battleship.

    My wife and friends say to me, it is only a movie, so you have to ignore technical correctness. I admit that I have a problem in that regard, and it results in my movie and TV experience being shrunk to a very short list of that I can actually watch.

    I was never fond the Battleship game, and I will have a real problem with a not so intelligent space alien.

    I guess that I could watch some of the trailers to get a better fell on this movie.

    Your enthusiasm on this movie has created doubt in my mind, that I should not simply dismiss the movie. The other factor is that there just aren't that many movies for me to choose from.

    Thanks

working

This website uses cookies

As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

Show Details
Necessary
HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
Features
Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
Marketing
Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
Statistics
Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)