ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Freedom-A Movie Review

Updated on January 21, 2016

Released in theaters June 5, 2015

Released in theaters June 5, 2015 and on DVD in July 2015. Freedom is directed by Peter Cousens and written by Timothy A. Chey. This movie is rated R because it contains some violence which may not be appropriate for young or sensitive viewers.

Freedom tells the tale of how slavery came to the new world. Two men separated by 100 years share common grounds and both play an enormous part in the search for freedom. It begins on a plantation in 1856, Virginia. This movie is based on a true story of how the Underground Railroad freed the slaves. A man, Samuel Woodward (Cuba Gooding Jr.) escapes the torment of a harsh life and leads his aging mother (Phyllis Bash), his wife (Sharon Leal) and his young son on a journey north to Canada.

Interesting True Story

History buffs will see more than just a movie about the Underground Railroad. They will find more than one true story intertwined throughout the whole drama. John Newton (Bernhard Forcher) brings a ship full of slaves to America despite his own beliefs. He taught a young boy a song he wrote (Amazing Grace). He nursed this boy back to health as they came across the mighty ocean. Newton becomes very fond him. Newton gives the boy his Bible just before the boy is sold to the highest bidder. This boy is Samuel Woodward’s grandfather and Samuel’s mother carries this story and the Bible with her straight through to her last days. Sadly his mother doesn’t make it the duration of the long journey.

Despite the interesting story line and despite the many talented people among the cast, this presentation needs some highlights not displayed. If it weren’t for the short spurts of violence it enhances about slavery in this film and its attempts to make it a musical by putting in some “Swing Low Miss Chariot” into a mix of other well known gospel hymns as well as Newton's Amazing Grace, it could have ended up a documentary very easily. Perhaps this would have made a good classroom film. But the R rating rules out any chance for that. If dull, dry, or whatever the word is to use for a less than exciting display of storytelling then this is it. Of course, that's just my opinion. See for yourself.

Freedom-trailer

You may discover something new.

Freedom is however a film that keeps you watching just to see if any of the story is familiar to you. Far from the history class I attended I couldn’t remember ever hearing about any of it. I never knew that John Newton, writer of Amazing Grace was captain to a slave ship or that later in life he played a big part in freeing the very slaves he brought here. So it is worth watching. Just please don’t be disappointed by slow drama.

My favorite version of John Newton's Amazing Grace

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment
    • Diana Lee profile imageAUTHOR

      Diana L Pierce 

      3 years ago from Potter County, Pa.

      I think you'd find "Freedom" interesting, aviannovice.

    • aviannovice profile image

      Deb Hirt 

      3 years ago from Stillwater, OK

      I heard about the film. I think I'd like to see it, as I had visited a few historical places in the northeast that were part of the underground railroad.

    • Diana Lee profile imageAUTHOR

      Diana L Pierce 

      3 years ago from Potter County, Pa.

      Thanks for stopping by, paintdrips. I hope you enjoy the movie.

    • PAINTDRIPS profile image

      Denise McGill 

      3 years ago from Fresno CA

      Thanks for the review. I hadn't heard of it but now I will have to go check it out.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)
    ClickscoThis is a data management platform studying reader behavior (Privacy Policy)