ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Movie Review: Secretariat: The Impossible True Story

Updated on June 23, 2015

Secretariat Was Enthralling

Although I have no interest in horse racing, I was completely enthralled and mesmerized by the latest Disney movie, Secretariat, a story of a champion horse and his owner winning the Triple Crown, the most prestigious prize in the field of running horses. To enjoy this latest Disney offering, you don't have to be into the races. You don't have to even like horses!



The Impossible True Story

Secretariat, starring Diane Lane as Penny Chenery Tweedy, the female protagonist, and John Malkovich, as Lucien Laurn, her eccentric French trainer, is set in the late 60's to early 70's.

The film follows the quest of a female stable owner to keep the family farm, by training a winning horse for the coveted Triple Crown, which culminates in the famous Kentucky Derby race. Movie trailer posters hail Secretariat as the “impossible true story,” a perfect description because it has all the drama and excitement of a made-for-Hollywood fictional blockbuster, but it's a true story.

The movie opens with Mrs. Chereny, Penny's mother, dying, and the family rushing home to attend the funeral, and comfort their father.

What Penny and her brother (Hollis Chenery, played by Dylan Baker) discover is disturbing: their father's mind is slipping and they are losing their family assets horse by horse. Both Hollis and Penny's husband (Jack Tweedy, played by Dylan Walsh) agree that the only sensible thing to do is to sell off the farm.

Mrs. Tweedy, however, disagrees, and enters into the world of horse racing with very little knowledge but a great deal of passion.



Sets like Mad Men

A couple of the most striking characteristics of this film were the sets and the wardrobe. Deliciously sumptous, the sets are a feast for the eyes with realistic details that take you back to that late 60's era seamlessly.

The modular, bright look of the modern Mrs. Tweedy's home, complete with brown shag carpeting in the living room, and a cool pool in the back gives the feeling of success and modernity. This set contrasts with the dark and shadowy setting of her father's home, which is more traditional, symbolizing the heritage of her father's work.

Both of the sets and the costume design are very similar in style to the T.V. Show, Mad Men. Diane Lane, as the protagonist, Penny Tweedy, is stylishly chic in pastel suits and A-line dresses and acts as the perfect feminine counterpoint to the business-only men suited in black suits and ties. John Malcovich, in the role of horse trainer, provides visual shock as the rebellious dresser whose tacky threads are reminiscent of WKRP Cincinnati, salesman, Herb Tarlick.

This was an animal story, but it was not cute!

And unlike some unnamed animal movies also made by Disney and other studios, this so-called animal story is NOT CUTE, in any way, shape or form. There is no deep voiced narrator explaining the horse's feelings and there are no cute kids trying to connect with the tragic heroine creature.

There is no cute at all in this Disney movie, which is why I was quite surprised to find out it was a Walt Disney production. There are kids in the storyline, but they are secondary to this woman and her horse.



Learning her Place

Secretariat is not primarily about a horse. Rather, it's about a woman, a woman who refuses to back down, and give up, when her world is filled with men who would all just love for her to go home and learn her place. From the memorable early scene where she gets the number of a cheating employee, to her ongoing sarcastic banter with her macho competitors, Penny  does anything but learn her place. In fact, she is a surprise to everyone: a lady in the world of cut-throat and very unlady-like competition.

She is defending her family's honour, and fighting for her father's legacy. When the men in the family refuse to step up, she believes she is the one that must take up the slack. 

Summary

Definitely worth seeing in the theatres. Compelling and moving, I absolutely loved this movie.

AND I GIVE IT A ...

4 stars for Secretariat: The Impossible True Story

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • renee21 profile image

      renee21 

      3 years ago

      This is an awesome movie! One of my favorites. Great hub!

    • prairieprincess profile imageAUTHOR

      Sharilee Swaity 

      7 years ago from Canada

      Travel Man, thanks so much for the comment. I think you would really enjoy this film! I don't get to see that movies, either, these days, so I appreciate the ones I do see.

    • travel_man1971 profile image

      Ireno Alcala 

      7 years ago from Bicol, Philippines

      Thanks for this movie review on Secretariat. I haven't been in the movie theater for a year now.

      Maybe because of my busy days as a hubber. I've been here in front of the computer most of the time.

      It's time to rent a video of it at the local home video store.

    • prairieprincess profile imageAUTHOR

      Sharilee Swaity 

      7 years ago from Canada

      Tammy, I absolutely loved it. Watched in the theatre by myself (husband had to work) on Halloween and relished it ... I am sure you will love it!

    • Tammy L profile image

      Tammy L 

      7 years ago from Jacksonville, Texas

      I have not seen the movie yet but I can't wait to see it. I already have it reserved in my Netflix account for when it comes to DVD. Secretariat was a large horse with an extra large heart. I'm not sure but I think his large heart is what contributed to his death. He was an extraordinary animal. There will never be another thoroughbred like him.

    • prairieprincess profile imageAUTHOR

      Sharilee Swaity 

      7 years ago from Canada

      Dolores, I know what you mean. It's just a small complaint but I think that storyline could have been better developed, but I absolutely loved this movie, too!

    • Dolores Monet profile image

      Dolores Monet 

      7 years ago from East Coast, United States

      I loved this movie. I think the short shrift given to Penny's family was just a time thing. You can only cram so much into a movie. I was thinking about the family, but was so much more entertained by the horse.

    • prairieprincess profile imageAUTHOR

      Sharilee Swaity 

      7 years ago from Canada

      Thank you much for your kind comment,Quill!

    • profile image

      "Quill" 

      7 years ago

      Excellent review and one to look into for certain... Thanks for all the hard work.

      Blessings

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)