ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Horror Film Reviews: The Haunting In Connecticut

Updated on July 4, 2011

The Haunting In Connecticut

Haunting in connecticut. the picture is supposed to be the ghosts ectoplasm, but it sorta looks like a turd.
Haunting in connecticut. the picture is supposed to be the ghosts ectoplasm, but it sorta looks like a turd.

Based On True Events - The Haunting In Connecticut

Whenever a film begins with the claim that it was based on true events, I always take notice, for some reason if it seems real or fact based then the more exciting the film could potentially be, whether they are actual true events that happened for real is one that is up for debate, but however this was an enjoyable haunted film, much like the first two Amityville movies were you know dark things happened in a house and there are angry spirits about.

The story really starts when the main character who is suffering from cancer and he has to make regular visits to the hospital, so his mum has to find a property that is near to the hospital for his regular chemotherapy treatment and so the first property they settle on is of course a haunted house and after a short period of time he sees stuff, that others brush off as hallucinations because of his treatment, but it's not!

I like the way the story unfolds and the history of the house is revealed, through the seances that take place in some of the story flash backs, as with any haunted house type of film though, I find it hard to believe that the characters stay after the events that they witness, I mean the kid who has a bedroom in the basement has an extra room adjoined to his room, which is dark at first and is locked...there is seriously no way I would sleep down there with that room in the corner hiding all of the dark shadows and haunted goings on.

Obviously because this is based on a true story, you need to separate fact from fiction to assemble the real fear that someone must have really gone through, but this is apparent through the directors vision of the material as there are some small jumps and scares like any ghostly film, the tension is sort of comparable to Amityville 2 The Possession, as there is some aspects that apply to the central character who freaks everyone else out within the family who live in the house.

The ending brings a solid conclusion to the story and happy endings all round as the ghosts are laid to rest in typical hollywood style, but there is sort of an open endedness about the whole story, as it explained certain elements, but left out some small details, but overall it was a better film than I thought it would be and it was all played out in a nervous atmosphere, which made it compelling to watch.

Some of the story flashbacks seemed a little unsettling, especially the dude with a beard overseeing the ghostly seance and the ghosts ectoplasm emerging from the boys mug and especially the corpse preparation to induce the spirits.

So to summarize the story, it was good and went at a pace that was comfortable and things seemed like they were resolved, although it felt like there was something missing, it did deliver a good amount of atmospheric scares and spookiness, so it wasn't that bad at all.

The Haunting In Connecticut Available To Buy On Amazon

Haunting In Connecticut Review Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • waynet profile imageAUTHOR

      Wayne Tully 

      8 years ago from Hull City United Kingdom

      Cheers, yes they do tend to dilute the stories some what when they try and translate a supposed true story to film and leav some good stuff out!

    • GhostChaser profile image

      GhostChaser 

      8 years ago from PA/NJ

      They should have stuck to the real story. It was much scarier then the peeps in the walls. Trust me, I know someone who was on this case.

    • waynet profile imageAUTHOR

      Wayne Tully 

      8 years ago from Hull City United Kingdom

      Cheers Wesley!

      I enjoyed this film immensely and I hope to review more horror films very soon!!

    • wesleycox profile image

      wesleycox 

      8 years ago from Back in Texas, at least until August 2012

      I watched this film with my wife when I was home on leave, and we both enjoyed it. It scared her more than it scared me but in the end I was the one with my feet off the floor. A great film to see, and a nicely done review of it.

    • waynet profile imageAUTHOR

      Wayne Tully 

      9 years ago from Hull City United Kingdom

      Yeah it's in that same spirit of them type of films, so I'm sure you'll enjoy it DameScribe!

    • Dame Scribe profile image

      Dame Scribe 

      9 years ago from Canada

      I was curious about this movie and will have to check it out now, as I have been a Ammityville horror fan, lol. :)

    • waynet profile imageAUTHOR

      Wayne Tully 

      9 years ago from Hull City United Kingdom

      Thanks for your comments Nancy & Robert!

      I've been getting into watching more horror films lately as I just renewed a membership at Blockbusters, and they have a current offer of 4 films for 4 nights for £10, so I've taken them up on their offer and watched nearly every film they have and plus for every two new releases you get 1 free family film.

      This film was better than I thought and so I have more horror film reviews in the pipeline, because I love the genre.

    • robertsloan2 profile image

      robertsloan2 

      9 years ago from San Francisco, CA

      Sounds amusing. True stories do need to be juiced up a lot in order to make them make sense as movies. As for people staying in haunted houses after nasty stuff happens, I can easily see it considering that we just moved into a new house. Moving is expensive. Moving is a pain. Moving and buying a new house is a lot harder than just renting. People who have gone through all that trouble don't give up easy no matter how bad the down side of the house is.

    • profile image

      Nancy's Niche 

      9 years ago

      Good movie, good review and it is based on a true event. However, Hollywood always has to add in their “sci-fi scare factor”. That aside, it was scary enough on its own merits…

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)