ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Horror Movie Reviews: Drag Me To Hell

Updated on October 7, 2013

Drag Me To Hell Film Review

Drag me to hell a film directed by Sam Raimi, image copyright 2010.
Drag me to hell a film directed by Sam Raimi, image copyright 2010.

Drag Me To Hell

Drag me to hell is directed by Sam Raimi who we all know directed the original Evil Dead films and this is a return to form in the genre that he started out in, and the story revolves around the central character who gets cursed by an old woman who wouldn't help her, the age old gypsy curse involves the demonic dead devil who claims the souls of those who are cursed after 3 days putting up with some serious case of haunted harassment.

The film starts off with a boy who has apparently been cursed and is then dragged to hell by demonic hands that break out of the floor because his 3 days are up, the whole set up is done well and we see this flashback some 40 years previous just pass by quick, now in the present time we have a woman who works at a bank who deals with loan cases and she is the one who gets cursed later in the film and a good solid chunk of the story deals with trying to break the curse as it quite frankly messes with her life.

There are some nasty surprises along the way not to mention the twist right at the end which I did see coming, but the old grannies vicious attack on the woman she curses is just really creepy, especially when her false teeth fall out and she tries to chew on the woman's face, almost made me baulk!

The terror of coming to the realisation that your days are numbered when you're cursed is played quite well in the film I think and some of the cliches that you would think happen actually didn't materialize so that was a change and a breath of fresh air, although there was some things that was predictable about the film, the ending made up for that with a right royal mix up that would happen to the best of us.

Some of the sounds in this film are reminiscent of Evil Dead with loud bangs and dark forces at work behind the scenes throwing people around so that was a nice touch to the films overall feel and atmosphere throughout and definitely when a man gets possessed and floats in the air and does a dance it really did bring back memories of Evil Dead 2.

The old lady who curses our main character makes a few more appearances throughout the film mainly to torment and provide an extra menace to the devil that wants to claim her soul, the other people in the story all serve the purpose of driving the story forward, like her work colleagues and her boyfriend who believes her in an instant which I think makes it all the more powerful at the end in the stories abrupt climax.

This was a great film and served as a taster for the much anticipated Evil Dead remake that has been planned for awhile now, although I'll have to re-watch it to see if Bruce Campbell made a cameo appearance like he did in all three of the spider man films, must have been a blink and you'll miss it if he was in it.

Drag Me To Hell was a great supernatural shocker of a film.

Buy Drag Me To Hell On DVD Now At Amazon

Drag Me To Hell Film Review

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • waynet profile imageAUTHOR

      Wayne Tully 

      6 years ago from Hull City United Kingdom

      Hahahaha I couldn't take this movie seriously really as it's directed by he who did the evil dead series and that was a funny horror movie trilogy...

    • Raevyn14 profile image

      Raevyn14 

      6 years ago from Tecumseh, Oklahoma

      I saw this movie with my sister-in-law. When I saw it there were 2 african-american men that were 6'2, big, buff men were screaming like school girls. There was man who almost wet his pants, and a girl ran outta the theater... screaming

    • waynet profile imageAUTHOR

      Wayne Tully 

      8 years ago from Hull City United Kingdom

      Cheers BKC! I liked the ending too, to have the cursed object returned to her was just a disaster but a great ending to a horror film.

    • BkCreative profile image

      BkCreative 

      8 years ago from Brooklyn, New York City

      I did enjoy this and it is so rare today that I can find a decent horror film. I was so impressed with the ending and that made all the difference. Thanks for the review!

    • waynet profile imageAUTHOR

      Wayne Tully 

      9 years ago from Hull City United Kingdom

      Cheers Nancy! yep this films not for everyones tastes, but I do like my horror films.

      And I will look up the blind side, so thanks!!

    • profile image

      Nancy's Niche 

      9 years ago

      OK, this is one I did watch finally and Hummmm, I give it a 2 star rating...However, I give your article a a triple A rating...Good job reviewing the movie....

      Be sure to see "The Blind Side." It's one of the best movies of the year and based on the true story of Michael Ore who plays for the Ravens....

    • waynet profile imageAUTHOR

      Wayne Tully 

      9 years ago from Hull City United Kingdom

      Cheers I like these types of films and as for the talking goat baaah!

    • jellydonut25 profile image

      jellydonut25 

      9 years ago from Buffalo, NY

      If you love the Raimi that made Evil Dead, you will LOVE Drag Me to Hell.

      My only complaint: the Raimi that did Evil Dead and AoD would have let the talking goat have like 20 minutes of screen time rather than 20 seconds...

    • ethel smith profile image

      Ethel Smith 

      9 years ago from Kingston-Upon-Hull

      Great review but not my sort of film

    • waynet profile imageAUTHOR

      Wayne Tully 

      9 years ago from Hull City United Kingdom

      Yeah I liked it that's for sure, cheers jycmba, Robert and Healthtip it's movie time in my house of late and I'll be reviewing some more horror films soon.

    • robertsloan2 profile image

      robertsloan2 

      9 years ago from San Francisco, CA

      Definitely sounds like a good one!

    • jycmba profile image

      jycmba 

      9 years ago from Los Angeles CA

      Thought this was a great Raimi roller coaster ride! My brother joked that he was glad he didn't waste the money for a rental (he uses Red Box, which charge 99 cents,) but I love the campy humor that's a trademark of the creator of the Evil Dead / Army of Darkness series.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)