ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Horror Movie Reviews: Blood The Last Vampire

Updated on October 7, 2013

Blood The Last Vampire

Film review of Blood The Last Vampire.
Film review of Blood The Last Vampire.

Blood The Last Vampire Reviewed

When a Japanese animated film gets the live action movie treatment it usually doesn't go to well translating some cool animated visuals onto live action (Fist of the North Star comes to mind lol!), but Blood The Last Vampire is actually a good film with a good cast and there are some striking similarities to the original manga film of the same name.

The story revolves around an age old vampire demon who has been seeking revenge for the murder of her father at the hands of a powerful demon Onigen, but along the way she has been enlisted by the council which have their own way of dealing with vampire and demon threats to stamp them out and clean up the evidence of any such demonic activity, although she is being used by the council, she uses them to obtain human blood which she needs to survive and retain her power, so then she can track down the demon Onigen and kill it.

There's some spectacular fight scenes with some vampires getting sliced and diced, although there are some dodgy effects when some grey looking demons begin flying about the place, but that aside, some of the other effects look nice and add to the story well and I like the asian woman who plays the lead character as you wouldn't really want to mess with her when she has a samurai sword in her hand or even if she didn't.

There's a couple of recognizable British actors in the film, although not for long as they get killed, but there's Eastenders Archie Mitchell who plays an American army general with a really convincing American accent (good job Archie!) and Colin Salmon who is a vampire demon creature.

It's great when you've seen the original Blood The Last Vampire manga film and then you watch this one as you can compare the scenes and what's different, but on the whole the story is near enough the same, although if you haven't seen the original it doesn't matter as it's a stand alone film in it's own right.

Most of the gore in this film is computer generated splattery, much in the same vein of Blade, which is fine as it adds to the energy of some of the fight scenes and with it being a multinational type of film there is no annoying dubbed voices, which would have made this film a bit frustrating to watch, much as I like some of the old kung-fu films with really bad dubbing that the voices just sound funny and over the top.

Blood The Last Vampire is one great film in a long line of world cinematic failures, so that's a good thing and I highly recommend this film if you're a fan of these types of films.

Go watch it!

Saya The Demon Hunter

Saya the hero of Blood The Last Vampire.
Saya the hero of Blood The Last Vampire.

Blood The Last Vampire Review

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • waynet profile imageAUTHOR

      Wayne Tully 

      8 years ago from Hull City United Kingdom

      Cheers now pdiddy!

      This was a good film and it complimented the manga animated film brilliantly I thought!

      Cheers!

    • pddm67 profile image

      pddm67 

      8 years ago from Queens, New York

      Cool hub! I love the genre. Actually saw this one. Waited forever to get it from netflix! Enjoyed the movie (and the hub)very much. rock on!

    • bat115 profile image

      Tim 

      8 years ago from Los Angeles, CA

      and I'll be waiting to read 'em!

    • waynet profile imageAUTHOR

      Wayne Tully 

      8 years ago from Hull City United Kingdom

      I don't know, maybe sometimes a film is not everyones cup of tea, but I found it quite good...oh well, more films to review!!!

    • bat115 profile image

      Tim 

      8 years ago from Los Angeles, CA

      I liked this film very much and your review was the first good one I have read so far... why does no one not seem to like it?

    • skyfire profile image

      skyfire 

      8 years ago

      I'm into anime and i vote for anime over this movie. This movie lacks in many part where anime is doing just great. I was expecting better action at the end,but anyay it's okay-types movie for fans.

    • waynet profile imageAUTHOR

      Wayne Tully 

      8 years ago from Hull City United Kingdom

      Yeah it passed the time and was a good film, I liked it for the asian women whhooohooo!

    • earnestshub profile image

      earnestshub 

      8 years ago from Melbourne Australia

      Not been big on the genre of late, but this sounds good. :)

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)