ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

How Do You Know - Movie Review and rating, Reese Witherspoon, Owen Wilson

Updated on March 13, 2013
- How Do You Know - Movie Review by Rosie2010 on Hubpages -
- How Do You Know - Movie Review by Rosie2010 on Hubpages -

Happy New Year everyone!

Today my daughter and I went to see the movie "How Do You Know" starring Reese Witherspoon, Owen Wilson, Paul Rudd, and Jack Nicholson.

This movie is about Lisa (Reese Witherspoon), a woman whose athletic ability is the defining passion of her life, having been her focus since early childhood. So you can just imagine how lost she must have felt when she was cut from her USA softball team. How would you feel if everything you have ever known is suddenly taken away from you? Not knowing what to do, she stumbles toward regular life.

And stumbled she did. She begins a fling with Matty (Owen Wilson), a major league baseball pitcher, a self-centered ladies man - a narcissist really, but with a code of honour. But before Lisa's relationship with Matty takes root, she meets a straight-arrow businessman (Paul Rudd) whose uncomfortable relationship with his father (Jack Nicholson), takes a spin when he is accused of a financial crime, which could possibly land him in jail.

Lisa and George meet for a first date on the worst evening of each of their lives--she has just been cut, and he has just been served. A triangle of sort occurs, everyone finds love but, as in real life, not everyone gets to live happily ever after.


Kathryn Hahn - most notable performance as Annie, George's loyal secretary
Kathryn Hahn - most notable performance as Annie, George's loyal secretary

Movie rating:

10 - A masterpiece, go, see it now

9 - Excellent movie, a must see

8 - Great movie, go see it

7 - Good movie, worth seeing

6 - Not bad, could be much better

5 - So so, worth if you don't pay

4 - Not good, even if you don't pay

3 - Poor movie, not recommended

2 - Very bad, forget about it

1 - Worst ever, avoid at all costs

My 21 year-old daughter and I (older than 21, much much older) both thoroughly enjoyed this movie. So imagine my surprise, when I read several reviews, giving this movie 1 out of 10.

Did we see the same movie?

It is without a doubt a chick flick. But although I cannot give it a 10, it is definitely not a 1. Good all around acting from the cast. I think Reese Witherspoon did a fine job, Owen Wilson was the perfect actor to play the narcissistic but nevertheless lovable sports guy, Paul Rudd was adorable as usual and, Jack Nicholson was just being himself--awesome. Most notable performance came from Kathryn Hahn, who played Annie, George's loyal secretary. The notion of someone so focused in her career as an athlete that she had never experienced love before and wouldn't know it if it hits her on the head, is quite possible. Although the plot could be said predictable, as romantic comedies usually are, it has a feel-good ending. This movie has its moments of being funny and of being romantic. And isn't that what a romantic comedy is all about?

I give this movie a 7/10. A good movie and it is worth seeing.



Did you know?  by Rosie2010

Did you know you can create your own HubPage? 

Did you know you can be part of a great community, make friends and, share your knowledge and experience, and EARN MONEY through Adsense and other Affiliate programs?  

Yes, you can!   JOIN HUBPAGES NOW -  CLICK HERE!


Comments

Submit a Comment

  • Rosie2010 profile image
    Author

    Rosie Rose 7 years ago from Toronto, Canada

    Hiya my dear friend Jackie, me too! I love Reese and Owen Wilson. You are so right.. there is a blessing to be found in any situation.. sometimes we just don't see it right away. I'm glad you enjoyed my review and thanks so much for the compliment. hugsss

    Have a nice day,

    Rosie

  • onceuponatime66 profile image

    Jackie Paulson 7 years ago from USA IL

    I love the actress Reese and O. Wilson and this movie would be a girl movie. I believe it has a lesson to be learned and that despite the challenges they both had, a blessing sure is to be found. Thanks for this hub. You are an award winner in Writing for sure. Ideas come to you like pen and paper go together ?

  • Rosie2010 profile image
    Author

    Rosie Rose 7 years ago from Toronto, Canada

    Hiya Happyboomernurse, thanks for dropping by. I'm glad you liked my review. Me too, I love Reese, Owen, Rudd, Jack Nicholson.. how can you go wrong? Enjoy the movie!

    Happy New Year!

    Rosie

  • Happyboomernurse profile image

    Gail Sobotkin 7 years ago from South Carolina

    Hi Rosie,

    After reading your review, I definitely want to see this movie as I love, romance, comedies, and all the actors and actresses that are in it.

    Thanks for sharing this information and your rating of the movie.

  • Rosie2010 profile image
    Author

    Rosie Rose 7 years ago from Toronto, Canada

    Hiya Pam, thanks for dropping by. I'm so glad you enjoyed my review. I just got so annoyed at so many reviews putting down this movie when it was not bad at all.

    Happy New Year!

    Rosie

  • Pamela99 profile image

    Pamela Oglesby 7 years ago from United States

    I have not see this movie yet either but you did a great review and I really like these actors. Thanks.

  • Rosie2010 profile image
    Author

    Rosie Rose 7 years ago from Toronto, Canada

    Hiya my dear friend Rhonda, love your new pic. I love Reese too.. although this is not her best movie, she did a fine job and my daughter and I both enjoyed the movie. hugsss

    Happy New Year!

    Rosie

  • Rosie2010 profile image
    Author

    Rosie Rose 7 years ago from Toronto, Canada

    Hiya Joesy, thanks for dropping by. I'm glad you liked my review. Enjoy the movie!

    Happy New Year!

    Rosie

  • Rosie2010 profile image
    Author

    Rosie Rose 7 years ago from Toronto, Canada

    Hiya my dear friend tnderhrt, I'm glad you like my movie review. I love movies so I just couldn't believe those people bad mouthing a movie giving it a 1 when it doesn't deserve it. I love Reese and Owen, even if this is not their best movie, I still enjoyed it.

    Happy New Year!

    Rosie

  • Rosie2010 profile image
    Author

    Rosie Rose 7 years ago from Toronto, Canada

    Hiya katrinasui, thanks for dropping by. I'm you found my review helpful. Enjoy the movie!

    Happy New Year!

    Rosie

  • Rhonda Waits profile image

    Rhonda Musch 7 years ago from The Emerald Coast

    Hi Rosie. I love Reese Witherspoon I try to watch all of her movies. I am glad you enjoyed it a great review. Thanks for sharing it.

  • Joesy Shmoesy profile image

    Joesy Shmoesy 7 years ago from New England

    Great! I need a good girly movie. I hadn't really heard anything about this movie so I am glad to see your review. Love Reese and Owen! Thanks!!

  • tnderhrt23 profile image

    tnderhrt23 7 years ago

    Rosie, This was an enjoyable read...I will definitely go see "How Do You Know". Jack Nickleson is one of my favs, and after "Marley and Me", I am an Owen Wilson fan, as well. I just love your hubs, Girl...Voted up!

  • katrinasui profile image

    katrinasui 7 years ago

    I have not seen this movie yet. Thanks for the review. I will watch it soon.

working

This website uses cookies

As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: "https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr"

Show Details
Necessary
HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
Features
Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
Marketing
Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
Statistics
Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)