ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

How To Use Rotten Tomatoes Movie Review Website

Updated on February 24, 2012

What is Rotten Tomatoes movie review website?


It’s a movie review website that helps people get information about a movie before paying to watch it at the theater or renting.

As of this writing there are 471 different film critics on Rotten Tomatoes from newspapers, magazines and online publications who give their opinion.

What is the best way to use Rotten Tomatoes Reviews?


You have to take into consideration that there are hundreds of different people from all walks of life, cultures and age groups giving their opinion of how the movie affected them. Just like people in their 20’s don’t have the same likes and dislikes as their parents who are in their 50’s, you should take into consideration who gives the review. Some are young, some are old, some are male, some are female and they are all different races.

The problem with Rotten Tomatoes is that they take an average of all the critic’s scores and from that they give a number of good tomatoes (good reviews) or rotten tomatoes (bad reviews).

Many times I’ve seen a bad average score of movies I really liked and at first couldn’t understand why they gave it such a low score. Some of my friends liked the same movies so I knew it wasn’t because I had bad taste in entertainment. Now I know a better way to decide what movie to watch.

Pick your favorite critics

Go to the site and pull up movies you've already watched and really like. Look at the film critics that gave it a good rating. Take note of these people because they are the ones you want to pay attention to in the future, not the over all score of a movie. These critics have your same taste in films and are going to give you better recommendations than someone who is not in your age group or shares your style of films. Don’t take every recommendation because naturally they won’t like every movie you like.

I mentioned age but don’t necessarily go by that. Some young people like old films and some mature folks enjoy innovative ideas so choose the critics that tend to like what you like and stick with them.

The best movie critics are the ones that have your opinion of films.

Should you pay attention to Rotten Tomatoes Movie Review Website?


Yes, by all means. It gives you a list of newest movies as well as ones coming up.

I often go there before renting movies. Now days many rent movies online so you can check to see what is out there, whether it’s any good and then rent online movie all in one sitting.

The thing you don’t want to do is see the low score and assume it’s a bad movie; sometimes it is but not always. Film review websites are other people’s opinions so you have to take that into consideration. Everyone has varied taste and not all agree.

Older people are not always as picky about special affects or expect movies to move as fast as younger people (once again, there are exceptions).


Movies that get a high score appeal to a large number of people.

Chances of a film being liked by everyone of all age groups and cultures is pretty slim, few motion pictures are able to do that. Disney Pixar Movies are one of the few filmmakers who can put on a production and have everyone all the way down to toddlers and all the way up to senior citizens love the outcome.

Sometimes it’s nice to watch a show that is made just for your generation and people who can relate to your life experiences. My sons have recommended movies to me that I thought were really stupid i.e. Year One. Likewise they don’t always like films I’ve thought were great.

Cowboys and Aliens got a low rating but my husband and I really liked it. I think that someone who grew up during the cowboy movies would better appreciate it more than younger people who are expecting more special effects from the aliens.

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Pamela N Red profile imageAUTHOR

      Pamela N Red 

      6 years ago from Oklahoma

      I haven't seen "Lost In Translation." Not sure if I would like it or not. I like Bill Murray but the story line didn't sound too great.

      I saw "It's Complicated" and really liked it.

    • profile image

      CJ Sledgehammer 

      6 years ago

      Hi Pamela:

      I know the movie "Lost in Translation" was given rave reviews and 4 stars, but I didn't like it at all. Just proves the point that one cannot argue taste.

      Be well - C.J. Sledgehammer

    • Pamela N Red profile imageAUTHOR

      Pamela N Red 

      6 years ago from Oklahoma

      C J Sledgehammer, I watch a lot of movies and my opinion doesn't always agree with their overall score that's why I pay attention to who is giving it a thumbs down before making my decision. Unfortunately that website probably ruins a lot of great movies because people don't take into consideration the age and taste range of the critics.

    • profile image

      CJ Sledgehammer 

      6 years ago

      Greetings, Pamela:

      You are so right. I have Rotten Tomatoes on my Favorites Bar, and there are many critics that I do not agree with. It is, however, a valuable site and good resource.

      Like you, I kinda liked Cowboys and Aliens. I was prepared to discard it because of the bad reviews, but like so many other times, I liked it...and they didn't.

      I guess one cannot argue taste. Fun Hub and well written. Voted up.

      Best wishes and be well - C.J. Sledgehammer

    • Pamela N Red profile imageAUTHOR

      Pamela N Red 

      6 years ago from Oklahoma

      Eliza I try to watch certain critics and pay attention to their reviews instead of the overall score. Thanks for reading.

    • ElizaDoole profile image

      Lisa McKnight 

      6 years ago from London

      I think reviews are really powerful. You do tend to believe them and decide whether to rent or go or not. Nice hub very useful.

    • Pamela N Red profile imageAUTHOR

      Pamela N Red 

      6 years ago from Oklahoma

      Sometimes I just watch the trailer on YouTube and decide from there if I like a movie or not. I also get recommendations from friends with similar taste. We have so many more options these days. Thanks for reading, Kashmir.

    • kashmir56 profile image

      Thomas Silvia 

      6 years ago from Massachusetts

      Hi Pamela,I agree with sunshine i only read a review after i have seen the movie,but enjoyed reading your well written hub that gives great information to those who may want to know what a reviewer said about a movie.Loved the video !

      Vote up !!!

    • Pamela N Red profile imageAUTHOR

      Pamela N Red 

      6 years ago from Oklahoma

      Frank, they have some good critics there who help people decide what movie to watch.

      Daffy Duck, I think it's pretty funny too. Glad you enjoyed it.

    • Daffy Duck profile image

      Daffy Duck 

      6 years ago from Cornelius, Oregon

      That is the funniest video I've ever seen. LMAO!

    • Frank Atanacio profile image

      Frank Atanacio 

      6 years ago from Shelton

      something I should check into.. I like to read reviews.. professionals get paid to judge.. and most of the times they are dead on.. gotta look up Rotten tomatoes.. thanks Red :)

    • Pamela N Red profile imageAUTHOR

      Pamela N Red 

      6 years ago from Oklahoma

      Robie2, I don't like it when I read an Amazon book review and the give the entire synopsis of the story.

      Thanks for reading.

    • robie2 profile image

      Roberta Kyle 

      6 years ago from Central New Jersey

      I find reviews interesting to read before I see the movie( as long as they contain no spoilers) and often I do not agree with them, so it does not affect whether or not I go to see a film-- I love what you have to say about Rotten Toomatoes. Great idea for a hub

    • Pamela N Red profile imageAUTHOR

      Pamela N Red 

      6 years ago from Oklahoma

      Sunshine, it is just another person's opinion. I used to look at the score but now I look at who is actually making the review.

    • Sunshine625 profile image

      Linda Bilyeu 

      6 years ago from Orlando, FL

      I always read the reviews after I see a movie. I prefer not to get brainwashed by someone else's opinion. Sometimes I agree and sometimes I don't.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)