ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Entertainment and Media»
  • Movies & Movie Reviews

Johnny Depp in The Lone Ranger

Updated on September 10, 2015

How the Story of the Lone Ranger and Tonto Began

This was the start of a great friendship between a white Texas Ranger and an American Indian; the Lone Ranger and Tonto. Both men had one goal in life---to fight for justice---right the wrongs done to anyone---white man or Indian.

The Lone Ranger wore a mask to hide his identity and Tonto wore war paint as they band together to bring the wicked killers and robbers to justice. Riding in a wild Texas territory where the law seem to be far away and never in the right place at the right time.

Many people were moving out West to seek a new life---good people who were at the mercy of outlaws that would kill---for a few dollars. Many sold their homes and land to buy a wagon to join a wagon train going west---to find a new dream and make a new home for their families.

Everyone was told of the risk traveling through Indian Territory to reach their land for homesteaders. But they came anyway, mothers, fathers, children, grandparents and all of their belongings piled high in one wagon and supplies and family in the other wagon.

The Lone Ranger and Tonto were friends for life.
The Lone Ranger and Tonto were friends for life.
Tonto with his friend the Lone Ranger
Tonto with his friend the Lone Ranger
Tonto and the Lone Ranger seriously talking about events of the day.
Tonto and the Lone Ranger seriously talking about events of the day.

The Lone Ranger

The Lone Ranger/John Reid (Armie Hammer) and Tonto (Johnny Depp)are playing in a revision of The Lone Ranger.

Therefore this epic will be somewhat different from the original story whereas Tonto played second fiddle to the Lone Ranger; it will slightly be the other way around.

Johnny Depp who is half Cherokee fits right in with the character of the original Tonto (Jay Silverheels) who was a son of a Mohawk Chief.

Johnny has changed Tonto’s look--- as he played around with a new look---he is now wearing with a dead raven on top of his headdress.

And, black lines on his fine face, which he contributes Tonto’s new look from a photo of an Indian who had stripes on his face and he liked the look.

So with the help of Penny Rose, she and Johnny came up with his costume design. Penny Rose helped Johnny design his Captain Jack Sparrow costume, so we know they work well together---thus the great results of the past.

Johnny gives his opinion about the character Tonto--- who is like-able and fun to play, in this fast pace movie. The movie is being filmed now on locations such as New Mexico, Arizona, Utah and Colorado. The Lone Ranger and Tonto will have vast Plains to ride, saving people and righting the wrongs of many as they fight against greediness and dishonest exploitation.

Armie Hammer as the Lone Ranger is a very handsome addition to the movie, and has his own fans behind him.

We will watch as he takes “The Lone Ranger” to a different level of fame. He is a great asset to the movie and will shine in his special glow of admiration.

Rebecca Reid (Ruth Wilson) who plays the sister-in-law to John Reid the Lone Ranger. Her husband Dan Reid (James Badge Dale) a Texas Ranger may or may not die as in the original version, we will wait for the final outcome.

In the original version of the Lone Ranger ---Rebecca’s was married to his brother Dan Reid---a Texas Ranger who was killed in action. John Reid a Texas Ranger and five other Texas Rangers were ambushed by a ruthless gang.

All six Rangers were left as dead, but one lived with the help of Tonto who found him and nursed him back to health.

And, that was John Reid the lone Ranger and this probably how he got his name. He became an ex-Texas Ranger to fight for justice with the help of his side kick Tonto who called him Ke-mo sah-bee. This translates to a compliment and a slogan.

To hide his identity the Lone Ranger wore a black mask, and rode a white horse named Silver.

Can you hear the echo from the past as the Lone Ranger calls out, "Hi-Yo, Silver! Away!"

Now, I predict that Johnny Depp’s Tonto will be very different and mainly his own man, and if anything the Lone Ranger will look to Tonto for guidance.

Johnny’s natural charm cannot be hidden under all the headdress, paint and costume, as it will pop out its little head and say, “Ladies--- I am here.”

A Special Thanks to the Producer and Director

A special thanks to Jerry Bruckheimer as the Producer who started this in 2007 and with all the lope holes of the business he never gave up. With great celebration they are now concluding production of the movie The Lone Ranger.

With the great Director Gore Verbinski in this movie is the man who directed Johnny Depp in the Pirate Movies, and we all know how much we loved them.

My review will be updated as I obtain the information to do so. And if the Good Lord is willing and the Creek don’t rise---I will not need a reminder to see Johnny Depp in---The Long Ranger---Premiere is July 3, 2013.

PurvisBobbi44 is the sole author of this article and if copied anywhere else on the Internet or printed in magazines or books it was taken without written consent and is strictly prohibited.

The Lone Ranger

Have you seen the Lone Ranger Movie with Johnny Depp?

See results

Comments

Submit a Comment

  • PurvisBobbi44 profile image
    Author

    PurvisBobbi44 2 years ago from Florida

    Hi Sylvestermouse,

    Johnny Depp is one of my favorites and I cannot wait to see his next film for 2015. Thank for the visit and comment and I hope you have a wonderful week.

    Bobbi Purvis

  • Sylvestermouse profile image

    Cynthia Sylvestermouse 2 years ago from United States

    I am crazy about Johnny Depp, but shockingly I have not seen The Lone Ranger! I remember when we first saw the previews I was determine to go as soon as it opened. I have no idea why I didn't make it, but I surely do appreciate the reminder.

  • PurvisBobbi44 profile image
    Author

    PurvisBobbi44 4 years ago from Florida

    Hi Sunshine,

    Great to hear from you and I cannot wait to see him either. Have a great summer and enjoy your babies.

    Bobbi Purvis

  • Sunshine625 profile image

    Linda Bilyeu 4 years ago from Orlando, FL

    Just a few more days until I get to see JD on the big screen once again! The previews look awesome! :)

  • PurvisBobbi44 profile image
    Author

    PurvisBobbi44 4 years ago from Florida

    Hi Patty,

    I cannot wait to see the movie as Johnny is one of my favorite actors. Thanks for your visit and comment.

    Bobbi Purvis

  • Patty Inglish, MS profile image

    Patty Inglish 4 years ago from USA. Member of Asgardia, the first space nation, since October 2016

    Excited, I attended a Press Screening and wrote a review for this film, but we are restricted to silence until the day of its release - July 3, 2013.

    I will say this - I found myself writing the words "the Lone Comanche" more than once. Johnny Depp's great-grandmother was of Cherokee or Creek heritage and he has said in interviews that he was happy to learn more about Native Americans. I would see the film again! Hope you all enjoy it.

  • PurvisBobbi44 profile image
    Author

    PurvisBobbi44 4 years ago from Florida

    Hi Diana Lee,

    I cannot wait either. Thanks for your visit and comment. Have a great week.

    Bobbi Purvis

  • Diana Lee profile image

    Diana L Pierce 4 years ago from Potter County, Pa.

    Johnny Depp will make a great Lone Ranger. I can't wait to see this.

  • PurvisBobbi44 profile image
    Author

    PurvisBobbi44 4 years ago from Florida

    Hi tillsontitan,

    Thanks for your visit and kind words. Going to see this movie would be a great "Date Night" for you and your guy.

    I cannot wait to see it.

    Take care,

    Bobbi Purvis

  • tillsontitan profile image

    Mary Craig 4 years ago from New York

    Us "old folks" will need to watch this movie with an open mind. After years of watching the TV show it will be hard to understand the change in command between the Lone Ranger and Tonto. Having said that, I look forward to this movie. Its been a while since we've had a good western in the movies. I know my father would have loved it! Hey, I might even be able to get my husband to a movie theater!! Great review Bobbi.

    Voted up, useful, and interesting.

  • PurvisBobbi44 profile image
    Author

    PurvisBobbi44 4 years ago from Florida

    Hi bravewarrior,

    I cannot wait to see this one---as Johnny Depp is one of my favorites. Thanks for your visit and comment.

    Bobbi Purvis

  • bravewarrior profile image

    Shauna L Bowling 4 years ago from Central Florida

    I had no clue this series was being bade into a movie. I don't really like Johnny Depp. To me he looks like he's dirty and smelly. I know he gets rave reviews, tho. It'll be interesting to see how he fares.

    I did see the remake of Dark Shadows. Johnny Depp played Barnabus Collins. The movie turned out to be a spoof so you really couldn't take any of the acting seriously. He was funny, however.

  • PurvisBobbi44 profile image
    Author

    PurvisBobbi44 4 years ago from Florida

    Hi,

    I found on the Internet the UK Cinema Release date of------- Friday 9th August 2013.

    Bobbi Purvis

  • profile image

    Karen 4 years ago

    Does anyone know when the UK premiere is?

  • PurvisBobbi44 profile image
    Author

    PurvisBobbi44 5 years ago from Florida

    Hi Bekka depp,

    This is the last information I have on The Lone Ranger---and when I hear more I always update my Hub. Johnny Depp is a great actor in my book---one of my favorites. Thank you for the visit and comment.

    Your Hub Friend,

    Bobbi Purvis

  • profile image

    Bekka depp 5 years ago

    I want to go to the premiere is it definatly on the 3rd? And is it the london one

  • PurvisBobbi44 profile image
    Author

    PurvisBobbi44 5 years ago from Florida

    Hi,

    I am so happy to hear from you and I hope everything is great with you and your love ones. Have a great weekend and thanks for the comment. I love Johnny Depp he is great.

    Your Hub Friend,

    Bobbi Purvis

  • thelyricwriter profile image

    Richard Ricky Hale 5 years ago from West Virginia

    Awesome info Bobbi! Love good ole Johnny Depp. Such a great actor and role model. Sounds like an interesting movie. He has the ability to take on any character and he is always fun to watch. Awesome review. Voted up, useful, interesting, and awesome!!

  • pconoly profile image

    Pamela K Conoly 5 years ago from Fort Worth,Tx.

    Thank you for this hub I cannot wait to see this! Big fan of Johnny Depp!

  • PurvisBobbi44 profile image
    Author

    PurvisBobbi44 5 years ago from Florida

    daskittlez69,

    Thanks I will this summer. Did you see the Astronaut's Wife, it was really good. And in 2014 he will be making another Pirate movie---I loved them---so different from the norm.

    Bobbi

  • daskittlez69 profile image

    daskittlez69 5 years ago from midwest

    I agree. I saw Dark Shadows a few weeks ago and he did a great job as usual. If you haven't seen it, you should check it out.

  • PurvisBobbi44 profile image
    Author

    PurvisBobbi44 5 years ago from Florida

    daskittlez69,

    Hi, Thanks for the visit and the comment. Anything Johnny Depp is in is great to me.

    Have a great week.

    Your Hub Friend,

    Bobbi

  • daskittlez69 profile image

    daskittlez69 5 years ago from midwest

    This is going to be a great movie.

  • teaches12345 profile image

    Dianna Mendez 5 years ago

    OH, I am disappointed... another year? Well, good thing I have your update to look forward to! Enjoy your week too.

  • PurvisBobbi44 profile image
    Author

    PurvisBobbi44 5 years ago from Florida

    teaches12345,

    I am so happy you vsited and left a comment. Remember that is July of 2013, a year and weeks away. I will update with a trailer when it comes out---so we will have a better knowledge of what Johnny is up to---he is so funny.

    Have a great week.

    Your Hub Friend,

    Bobbi

  • teaches12345 profile image

    Dianna Mendez 5 years ago

    You just have to know that Johnny will make this character very, very interesting. They chose the right man for the job. I didn't know he was part Cherokee. Good read and may have to see the movie in July.

  • PurvisBobbi44 profile image
    Author

    PurvisBobbi44 5 years ago from Florida

    Lord,

    It is great to hear from you, and I appreciate your comment. Have a great week.

    Your Friend,

    Bobbi

  • Lord De Cross profile image

    Joseph De Cross 5 years ago

    This review gave me the chills down my spine. I like Johnny Depp and his deep acting. Thanks for the effort Bobbi. You are such a doll..! Thanks again!

    LORD

  • PurvisBobbi44 profile image
    Author

    PurvisBobbi44 5 years ago from Florida

    Natashath,

    Hi, this movie premiere's in 2013 on July 3rd. You have over a year to wait. I am sorry that you were all excited and ready to go. But I promise to keep you up to date with any new trailer on this movie.

    Thank you for the visit and your comment.

    Your Hub Friend,

    Bobbi

  • Jackie Lynnley profile image

    Jackie Lynnley 5 years ago from The Beautiful South

    Who doesn't love Johnny Depp? Great review and you sold me!

  • Mhatter99 profile image

    Martin Kloess 5 years ago from San Francisco

    Thank you for this revue. i am a Depp fan, but my mind is married to that old TV show

  • Natashalh profile image

    Natasha 5 years ago from Hawaii

    Wow, I didn't even know about this movie! I don't have television and rarely attend the movies. Now I'm very excited and have a reason to go to the movie theater in just a few weeks!

  • PurvisBobbi44 profile image
    Author

    PurvisBobbi44 5 years ago from Florida

    billy,

    Thank you for reading and for the comment. I hope you and Bev had a great Sunday. Thanks for the visit.

    Your Hub Friend,

    Bobbi

  • Angela Brummer profile image

    Angela Brummer 5 years ago from Lincoln, Nebraska

    Oh I can't wait Johnny is amazing! Also I will watch anything with horses in it!

  • Sunshine625 profile image

    Linda Bilyeu 5 years ago from Orlando, FL

    Johnny on the big screen yet again. Life is good. Very good. I'll be there front and center!!! Thank you for the review!:)

  • Deborah Brooks profile image

    Deborah Brooks Langford 5 years ago from Brownsville,TX

    Bobbi this is awesome I can't wait for the movie to come out.. thank you for sharing.. I am really excited. I love to watch Johnny depp any way.

    Blessings

    Debbie

  • mollymeadows profile image

    Mary Strain 5 years ago from The Shire

    Bobbi, I can't possibly take Tonto seriously with that honking dead bird on his head. I think Johnny needs to reassess his friendship with the costume designer lol! She may be over him!

  • Jools99 profile image

    Jools99 5 years ago from North-East UK

    Great info and preview of the movie Bobbi. this is definitely one I will go to the cinema to see because I think the cinematography will be like that of an old Western so better seen on the big screen, and of course Jonny is always better on the big screen :o)

  • billybuc profile image

    Bill Holland 5 years ago from Olympia, WA

    I had no idea this film was being made. I loved that show on tv and I look forward to the movie. Thanks for the update and I look forward to more from you about this movie.

    Great hub but then I expect that of you.

    bill