ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

LAWMAN- Reviewing a Classic Western

Updated on November 10, 2014
Source

ABC Introduces Lawman

Keeping the peace and keeping it fair to those involved meant a lawman had to play two parts. He not only had to be a strong law enforcer, but he had to teach values as he played peacemaker. In the booming years of the early westerns on television, stories had to not only been packed with mild violence, but they needed role models who could bring the importance of values to a family viewing audience. The west was not won by gun fire alone.

In 1958, ABC introduces to the television audience a new adventure focusing on a stern sober faced lawman, Marshal Dan Troop (John Russell). Lawman became one of best remembered shows of its time leading the way for many others to follow as stories of the old west was dominating our viewing habits of choice. As if, Marshal Troop wasn’t dashing enough and flaunted his intentions upon at least three ladies of interest who were Julie Tate (Barbara Long) owner of the Laramie newspaper, Dru Lemp (Bek Nelson) owner of the Blue Bonnet Cafe, and Lily Merrill (Peggy Castle) at the saloon called The Birdcage Saloon whose character was added in Season 2, the creators (Warner Bros.) enlisted a second character in the very first episode to swoon the female audience and drive ratings out of sight as young Deputy Johnny McKay (Peter Brown) made them sit up and take notice. The two fought crime to keep their town (Laramie, Wyoming) safe, but at the same time ensuring fairness to be an important lesson taught as they rid the outlaws from their territory.

Currently Aired on Encore Westerns

October 5, 1958, Lawman’s first episode, The Deputy aired. The marshal of Laramie is killed and the new man sworn in for the job must first find the killer to bring justice to his town before he takes on any other duties. Marshal Troop gives the job of deputy to Johnny McKay intrusting him to keep the peace among the people in town in Troop’s absence. The Hawk brothers were played by Edward Byrnes, Jack Elam and Lee Van Cleef bringing to life a group of bad guys whose fame soared for years to come after guest starring on Lawman.

Guest stars of exceptional talents kept Lawman’s adventures flooding with excitement for seasons to come. Lawman ran four seasons with 156 half hour episodes to entertain any western fan. And the film keeps rolling decades later enlightening the younger generation as much as it did the baby boomers.

The final episode held just as much appeal to the audience as the first. Season four went off the screen with The Witness as its fair-well adventure. A man’s wife is killed and with the murder suspect standing trial, the jury setting him free may result in him being a victim of revenge. Even the Lawman will have problems protecting him. Another show of talented guest stars like John Agar, Jay Novello and Sarah Selby help Lawman’s memories live on in its viewers.

Lawman is currently being aired on Encore Westerns each weekday at 2 P.M. EST, with two back to back episodes. April 10, 2012, they start all over again with Season 1, episode 1, The Deputy. Reunite yourself with one of Warner Bros. Television Production’s finest classic westerns.


The Theme song to Lawman by Jerry Livingston and Mack David

Lawman, Lawman, the Lawman came with the sun.
There was a job to be done.And so they sent for the badge and the gun
Of the Lawman.

And as he silently roved, where evil violently ploved
they knew he'd live or he'd die by the code
Of the Lawman.

The man who rides all aloneand all that he'll ever own,
is just a badge and a gun and he's known
As the Lawman.

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment
    • Diana Lee profile imageAUTHOR

      Diana L Pierce 

      6 years ago from Potter County, Pa.

      I love all the old western. Thanks for stopping by, Abbyfitz.

    • Abbyfitz profile image

      Abbyfitz 

      6 years ago from Florida

      Just started watching this show a few months ago. Very well written article! It gave me a lot of info about the show.

    • Diana Lee profile imageAUTHOR

      Diana L Pierce 

      7 years ago from Potter County, Pa.

      Thanks for stopping, dahoglund. There are a few of them on youtube.

    • dahoglund profile image

      Don A. Hoglund 

      7 years ago from Wisconsin Rapids

      I remember the name of the show but don't recall watching it. I'll keep an eye out for reruns.I don't get the western channel.

    • Diana Lee profile imageAUTHOR

      Diana L Pierce 

      7 years ago from Potter County, Pa.

      Me, too. I'm watching Lawman right now. Thanks for stopping by, Hyphenbird.

    • Hyphenbird profile image

      Brenda Barnes 

      7 years ago from America-Broken But Still Beautiful

      I just love these old Western you write about. I could sit and watch them all day. This is a favorite of mine, but I suppose they all are. sigh

    • Diana Lee profile imageAUTHOR

      Diana L Pierce 

      7 years ago from Potter County, Pa.

      Thank you, Deborah. I'm a real western fan-addict.

    • Deborah Brooks profile image

      Deborah Brooks Langford 

      7 years ago from Brownsville,TX

      wow we tape this show every day.. LOL .. we love it..great hub

      voted up

      debbie

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)
    ClickscoThis is a data management platform studying reader behavior (Privacy Policy)