ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Marley and me film review

Updated on September 3, 2018
Journey * profile image

Nyesha loves writing about cooking/recipes, restaurants, movies, weddings, and poetry.

Marley and Me - an example of movies that make you cry

Marley and Me the movie is a good film. Well, I did it. I gave in and rented Marley and Me, a film that I had no intention of ever watching. I had heard the spoilers very early on, while Marley and Me was still in theaters. I knew that I would be really sad watching this movie. Why put myself through that? But, you know sometimes a good tearjerker movie like Marley and Me is just what we need. I am amazed by how this movie still made me react so emotionally even after I did get the spoiler and knew what was going to happen.

Adorable golden retriever puppy in Marley and Me the movie

The film Marley and Me begins with a couple, played by Jennifer Aniston and Owen Wilson.

  • They are seriously thinking about beginning to have children.
  • While that decision is still up in the air, Owen's character, John Grogan decides to get his wife Jennifer Grogan (Aniston) started with taking care of something.
  • She herself says that she can not even keep a plant alive, how will she take care of a baby?

Guess what he gets for her. A puppy! An absolutely adorable purebred golden retriever puppy that they call their clearance puppy since the breeder charged less for that one than any of the others in the litter. Now, why did the breeder do that? Are we to assume that she suspected this puppy would become a handful with major behavior problems? We can only guess.

Anyway, John names the puppy Marley after Bob Marley whose song is playing in the car on the way home from picking the puppy up from the breeder.

photo credit, imdb.com
photo credit, imdb.com

Marley makes a mess

John gets a little time to do some bonding with Marley but shortly after, he leaves to pick Jenny up at the airport as she returns from a business trip.

John decides to leave Marley in the garage while he makes the quick trip to the airport. When John and Jenny return from the airport, it is discovered that Marley became nervous and basically just wrecked the place.

As Marley grows up, he continues to have his quirks. He is very afraid of lightning and thunderstorms and has to be sedated to get through them.

 John and Jenny attempt to take Marley to obedience school but the dog is dismissed from the class for relentlessly humping the instructor's leg.

Marley the dog gets neutered

A terrible habit of Marley's, Jenny thought it would improve if he was neutered. John and Jenny decide to get him neutered. John sympathizes with Marley greatly because of this.

Marley grows up and the family grows as well

And so, in the movie Marley and Me, life continues on. Marley grows into an adult dog. John and Jenny start a family. Jenny makes the choice to give up her career to be a stay at home mom. John is a newspaper columnist. A boy is the first child. They eventually have three children- two boys and a girl. At times, John and Jenny are pressured in their marriage.

Jenny becomes overwhelmed with the kids and the unruly dog. She even threatens to give the dog away but they press on and realize that the dog is bringing more joy than problems.

The ending of the film is very sad and touching so brace yourself.

Marley and Me

Rated PG

Starring Owen Wilson, Jennifer Aniston and others

I rate is 4/5**** stars for absolute ability to tug at my heartstrings!

Golden Retrievers

Have you ever been the pet owner of a golden retriever dog?

See results

© 2010 Nyesha Pagnou MPH

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Journey * profile imageAUTHOR

      Nyesha Pagnou MPH 

      8 years ago from USA

      Thanks for posting your nice comment Michael. I appreciate it.

    • Michael Shane profile image

      Michael Shane 

      8 years ago from Gadsden, Alabama

      This was funny but at the same time, a tear jerker movie! Great movie & highly recommended for dog lovers! Great hub!

    • Journey * profile imageAUTHOR

      Nyesha Pagnou MPH 

      8 years ago from USA

      Hi sheila b. Thanks so much for the compliment!

    • sheila b. profile image

      sheila b. 

      8 years ago

      You told the story so well!

    • Journey * profile imageAUTHOR

      Nyesha Pagnou MPH 

      8 years ago from USA

      Sally's Trove, Sage Williams, MPG Narratives, thanks for all your comments!

      Sally, yes the film makes you really emotional but it is also very good- a very well made film. I'm glad I saw it. I haven't read the book yet but I am planning to. I guess I better have the Kleenex nearby.

      Sage, I'm glad you're thinking about seeing the movie and MPG Narratives, I guess most of us will feel the same way when we watch it.

      Thank you all again for your nice comments!

    • MPG Narratives profile image

      Marie Giunta 

      8 years ago from Sydney, Australia

      I found this movie cute as I love anything to do with dogs. Don't agree with all the negative reviews it had when in was in cinemas. Thanks, great review. Oh, and I cried at the end too.

    • Sage Williams profile image

      Sage Williams 

      8 years ago

      I have yet to see this movie. Based on your review I'm looking forward to seeing it. Not so sure I want to deal with the ending. Thanks for the warning.

      Sage

    • Sally's Trove profile image

      Sherri 

      8 years ago from Southeastern Pennsylvania

      I admire you for watching the film, knowing what would happen. I read the book and in so doing I felt as though I'd used up all the tears I'd ever have for the rest of my life. There's no way I'm watching the film. Kudos to you!

    • Journey * profile imageAUTHOR

      Nyesha Pagnou MPH 

      8 years ago from USA

      Hi ethel smith. Hehe, yes, I know exactly what you mean. Thanks so much for posting your nice comment!

    • ethel smith profile image

      Ethel Smith 

      8 years ago from Kingston-Upon-Hull

      I was thinking of reviewing this. We watched it a couple of nights ago and wept buckets. Well not buckets but you know what I mean. Lovely film and excellent review.

    • Journey * profile imageAUTHOR

      Nyesha Pagnou MPH 

      8 years ago from USA

      Hello, hello, thanks so much for your nice comment. I appreciate it.

    • Hello, hello, profile image

      Hello, hello, 

      8 years ago from London, UK

      Thank you very much for a wonderful review.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)