ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Midnight in Paris (2011) movie review

Updated on December 24, 2012
Midnight in Paris Directed by Woody Allen
Midnight in Paris Directed by Woody Allen

Midnight in Paris movie review – Despite the reputation of being intensely prolific, Woody Allen’s work over the last decade or so has lost its sheen and eloquence. However, Midnight in Paris thankfully breaks this deadlock and not only revives the old fashioned wit and sarcasm of his classics but goes much beyond it by creating one of the finest films of this decade. If you are looking for a film full of glamour, passion, romance, wit and sarcasm you must watch or buy Midnight in Paris.


Facts about Midnight in Paris, 2011

Director of Midnight in Paris: Woody Allen

Cast of Midnight in Paris: Owen Wilson, Rachel McAdams and Kathy Bates

Genre: Comedy, Fantasy and Romance

Awards: na

Midnight in Paris movie trivia: Woody Allen attempted to make this film in 2006 but eventually dismissed the idea because of the overwhelming expenses.


Reasons why you should watch our buy Midnight in Paris

The movie Midnight in Paris is about a frustrated yet hopelessly romantic Hollywood screenwriter, Gil, who embarks upon a magical journey in Paris. Obsessed with the Paris of the 1920s, he unknowingly travels through time to meet many great literary and artistic legends that stayed in Paris during the 20s.


Yet, things for our protagonist in his real world are not as rose tinted as his fantastical Parisian journeys. With a fiance who finds this romance for Paris naive and stupid and friends who sneer at his writing skills, the story revolves around his struggles and disappointments.

However, as this midnight in Paris movie review will reveal, it is through this surreal entwining of magic and reality that the film seeks to explore the importance of appreciating life as it is, in the here and now.


1. Beautiful visuals and locations in Midnight in Paris

Evidently as the title of the film suggests, Midnight in Paris is completely shot in Paris. While there is interplay between two different time zones, Paris of the 1920s and Paris of the present 21st century, the visuals displayed through this juxtaposition are absolutely breathtaking. What is unique about this film is that the visuals are crafted with such nuance that they appear to be completely in sync with the lead character.


Owing to Gil’s hopeless romanticization of Paris, the locations too are effused with the visions of a quaint, artistic Paris full of galleries, antiques and cobbled streets. The Paris of the 1920s which he tumbles upon accidently too is painted picturesquely. Full of vintage glory and charm, the visuals definitely shine out as one of the most riveting parts of the film – midnight in Paris.


2. Midnight in Paris - A delightful fantasy for adults

Fantasy as a genre is generally reserved for the children. However with Midnight in Paris, Woody Allen weaves out a wonderful tale of fantasy for adults. Gil, the main protagonist of the film is pining for the Paris of the 1920s. For him it represented a golden age of art and literature and being a struggling writer himself he yearns for the glamour and beauty of the 1920s Paris.


As the story unfurls, Gil discovers that at midnight everyday in Paris at a particular spot the time moves back to the 1920s. Thrilled by this discovery every day in the night he would glide across the Paris of the yore, chatting with all the legends from Picasso, Hemingway to Dali. Midnight in Paris very effectively recreates this magic of the 20s while simultaneously showing how the cracks of disappointments trickle through all times and spaces, no matter where you are.


3. Intelligence and wit in the movie

Midnight in Paris is a very cleverly made movie. The humor too is never over the top, flamboyant or in your face. Rather the wit and humor beautifully merges with the script and becomes an integral part of the story development. Gil’s hopelessly romantic side for example is shown by his longing for taking long walks in the rainy streets of Paris. On the other hand this is contrasted by his fiance who is always pulling him to clubs, smug restaurants and pseudo intellectual gatherings on art. It is Woody Allen’s spin on such stereotypes which brings out the humor in Midnight in Paris.


4. Background score of Midnight in Paris

The background music in the film too falls perfectly in sync with the character and the stories. Like all the other Woody Allen films, Midnight in Paris too is full of Jazz and in particular Gypsy Jazz music. The guitars and the violins will definitely pull the viewer into the dreamy nostalgia that the film has created.


5. Common emotional appeal of Midnight in Paris

Although Midnight in Paris deals with a very specific situation, the film at the end explores certain very fundamental emotions that everyone is forced to confront at some point in their lives. Whereas the film does not seek to teach any lesson, it definitely shows how people can cope up with disappointments and frustrations in life without getting heart-broken.


Watch Midnight in Paris movie trailer

Buy Midnight in Paris online on Amazon

Roger Ebert’s Midnight in Paris review

"Woody Allen must have had a great time writing this screenplay"

Source: Rotten Tomatoes

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • geoffclarke profile image

      geoffclarke 

      6 years ago from Canada

      Great review! Loved the movie! Paris is one of my favourite cities and I've always been a Woody Allen fan. Saw his latest play when I was in New York in September - Relatively Speaking - three One-Act Comedies by Ethan Coen, Elaine May and Woody Allen.

      Geoff

    • princesswithapen profile imageAUTHOR

      princesswithapen 

      6 years ago

      Hi Husky

      I think that this hub and movie review on Midnight in Paris now holds more value because it has got YOUR stamp of approval!

      Yes, we were all waiting for that next Woody Allen movie which could be talked about, analysed and ripped apart. Midnight in Paris is just that.

      Thanks for stopping by on this one. Much appreciated.

      P

    • princesswithapen profile imageAUTHOR

      princesswithapen 

      6 years ago

      Wow! Flora I wish I had more insight into why Starry Night has been used in this movie. We probably can relate the theme of the movie and the viewing experience of Starry Night. The depiction of the night, the town and the dark structure in Starry Night can leave viewers to draw their own relative interpretation of how the title of the movie can be fused with the theme of the painting.

      I'd love to know if you have any more insight into this one.

      P

    • profile image

      Husky1970 

      6 years ago

      I have been thinking of seeing this movie. Now that it has been reccommended by princesswithapen, I will definitely be seeing it soon. I completely agree with your opinion of Woody Allen and his need to produce something good. And if you say it is good then that's all I need to hear. Thanks for the review and giving the princesswithapen stamp of approval. Voted up, useful, and interesting.

    • FloraBreenRobison profile image

      FloraBreenRobison 

      6 years ago

      I'm surprised that Van Gogh's painting was used in the poster since this is set in the 1920s-wouldn't it have made more sense to feature an artist from the 1920s on the poster?

    • princesswithapen profile imageAUTHOR

      princesswithapen 

      6 years ago

      mckbirdbks

      Your comment brought a smile to the face and has made my day! You've quite rightly mentioned Midnight in Paris as "..a validation of legendary writers"

      We were all waiting for Woody Allen to give us that next movie to remember, and he's done just that.

      Thanks for stopping by.

      P

    • mckbirdbks profile image

      mckbirdbks 

      6 years ago from Emerald Wells, Just off the crossroads,Texas

      You have picked an excellent movie to review and done a good job of it. Take princesswithapen's recommendation and see this validation of the legendary writers.

    • princesswithapen profile imageAUTHOR

      princesswithapen 

      6 years ago

      Hi Autumn

      If you liked Midnight in Paris, I'm sure you'll like some of Woody Allen's other movies. Give me sometime, I'll make a list of a few of his movies that you may like watching. Stay tuned!

      I'm glad you liked this review. Thanks for reading and your comment.

      P

    • AutumnJo profile image

      AutumnJo 

      6 years ago from WI(Formerly IL, formerly PA)

      I've never really been a fan of Woody Allen fan, but this movie truly is worth the watch! Lovely review, by the way.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)