ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Molly and Me Film Review

Updated on September 2, 2018
Coffeequeeen profile image

I am a film enthusiast and enjoy reviewing films I have watched. I like all sorts of films but mainly black & white ones from the 50's & 60s

Actor
Character
Gracie Fields
Molly Barry
Monty Woolley
John Graham
Roddy McDowall
Jimmy Graham
Reginald Gardiner
Harry Phillips/Peabody
Edith Barrett
Julia
Natalie Schafer
Kitty Goode-Burroughs
Doris Lloyd
Mrs Graham

About the film

Released: 1945

Producer: Robert Bassler

Director: Lewis Seiler

Running time: 1 hr 17 mins

Genre: Musical, Comedy

Distributed by: Twentieth Century Fox


About the film

This film is set in London in 1937. Molly, played by Gracie Fields, is a struggling actress and decides to apply for a job as a housekeeper since she is tired of looking for acting roles. She applies for a job in a house which is run by John Graham, who is an upper class gentleman. She has no experience of housekeeping, so she gets her friend Kitty Goode to help supply a fake reference. (Kitty is an exotic dancer.) Things get complicated quite early on in the film when Molly goes for the interview. Peabody, the Butler, interviews Molly for the job. But when Kitty turns up, he recognises her because he is a former actor. He gave up acting because he had a drink problem, which he has by now recovered from. He is in two minds whether to give her the job. But Molly has plans. She decides to persuade him to join her in the pub, where he gets drunk. He inevitably says she can have the job, since he don't remember saying yes or no!

John Graham, the head of the house, is a grouchy old man and runs a strict house. While he is away in Suffolk working on his political career, Molly finds out that the domestic staff has been stealing from the house. With them all subsequently fired, it is down to Molly to keep the house in order. Molly also has to content with the grumpy old John Graham, and steps in to help with the relationship between him and his son.

My thoughts

As I usually find with most British comedies of this era, this is a highly entertaining, slapstick comedy. Gracie Fields was a legend in the acting world and she lights up the screen in this film. I love the storyline of the down beat actress getting a housekeeping job. Not only does she get a job which she totally lacks any kind of experience in, but she manages to take over and make complete changes. She makes changes in the housekeeping department, and also with personal matters concerning John Graham and his son, Jimmy. This is a wonderful masterpiece of a film and such an amusing and entertaining film to watch.

Shot in black and white, I find the picture quality rather good, considering this was made in the mid 40's. The picture is clear and well shot. I like the storyline of Molly Barry going in and trying to restore both the housekeepers and the relationship between John and Jimmy.

This film is categorized under musical as well as comedy. Although not much in the regards of songs throughout the film, it is still fun to watch the actors sing some light hearted songs. I think Gracie Field and Monty Woolley connected well onscreen and acted well together. It's nice to see Roddy McDowall in the film too. He so young in this film. This is a timeless classic and still great to watch after all these years. Maybe I am a bit bias though as I do like Gracie Fields.

© 2018 Louise Powles

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment
    • rajan jolly profile image

      Rajan Singh Jolly 

      20 months ago from From Mumbai, presently in Jalandhar, INDIA.

      I have always liked watching classic movies of any era and your review of this film has sparked my interest in this film. Thank you.

    • Sean Dragon profile image

      Ioannis Arvanitis 

      21 months ago from Greece, Almyros

      An excellent review that made me search for this film I haven't seen. Thank you for the motivation! You are a valuable source of information, my dear Louise!

      God Bless your work!

      Sean

    • Emmy ali profile image

      Eman Abdallah Kamel 

      21 months ago from Egypt

      I like watching classic movies. Thanks for the review.

    • Eurofile profile image

      Liz Westwood 

      21 months ago from UK

      Gracie Fields was a classic of her time.

    • Peggy W profile image

      Peggy Woods 

      21 months ago from Houston, Texas

      That sounds like a cute comedy to watch. Thanks for your review.

    • aesta1 profile image

      Mary Norton 

      21 months ago from Ontario, Canada

      I like old films and enjoy watching British films because of the acting. I hope I can still find this film.

    • Coffeequeeen profile imageAUTHOR

      Louise Powles 

      21 months ago from Norfolk, England

      Thankyou Flourish. I love these old classic films.

    • FlourishAnyway profile image

      FlourishAnyway 

      21 months ago from USA

      Sounds like a fun way to spend an hour or hour or so. Thank you for the review!

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://maven.io/company/pages/privacy

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)
    ClickscoThis is a data management platform studying reader behavior (Privacy Policy)