ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

A Movie Review: "Arthur" starring Russell Brand

Updated on August 23, 2017
Source

Arthur

I watched the movie "Arthur" last night with the boyfriend, starring Russell Brand, Helen Mirren, and Jennifer Gardner. It was everything you would expect from R.B. It was hilarious, it was filled with drunken antics, and it was amazingly tear jerking. Not only a comedy, but a romantic comedy. You get to see the softer side of Russell Brand, or should I say Arthur, as he is playing the rich single bachelor the best way R.B can, as you can imagine, getting drunk and partying everyday and having all sorts of promiscuous sex. His parents were never around much, he was basically raised by his Nanny played by Helen Mirren. She is a smart-ass, sarcastically witty character and I absolutely love her. While his real mother is fed up with his horrible behavior, and gives him an ultimatum, marry Susan (played by Jennifer Gardner) or be cut off from his most valued treasure, right next to booze, money. Very against marrying Susan, he ends up falling in love with a cute little illegal tourist at Grand Central. It is a lovely blooming relationship till the ultimatum stands in the way. Arthur has to make the hardest decision of his life to grow up and "Be a man" for once, or marry Bridezilla. Its a great learning experience and journey for all who watches the movie.



© 2011 Nikki Wicked

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Nikkij504gurl profile imageAUTHOR

      Nikki Wicked 

      5 years ago from Louisiana

      It is worth it. Quite zany and touching. So you should like it.

    • AudreyHowitt profile image

      Audrey Howitt 

      5 years ago from California

      I love zany movies that are touching also! Don't know this one but will look it up--Thank you!

    • Nikkij504gurl profile imageAUTHOR

      Nikki Wicked 

      6 years ago from Louisiana

      that from the original? this one is hilarious if you are a russell brand fan you need to watch it.

    • meow48 profile image

      meow48 

      6 years ago from usa

      it was great.... especially when arthur had to go without his money for a while and the butler was great.

      quote, "Bathing... it is such a lonely business..."

    • Nikkij504gurl profile imageAUTHOR

      Nikki Wicked 

      6 years ago from Louisiana

      i guess so. never saw the original.

    • meow48 profile image

      meow48 

      6 years ago from usa

      so like is this a remake? of arthur with liza minelli and dudley moore??? liked this review, made me want to see it, take care.

    • Nikkij504gurl profile imageAUTHOR

      Nikki Wicked 

      7 years ago from Louisiana

      changed :)

    • Nikkij504gurl profile imageAUTHOR

      Nikki Wicked 

      7 years ago from Louisiana

      well i have his name as a tag.. but will do! I will add the movie titles in there. thanks. cass.

    • Cheeky Girl profile image

      Cassandra Mantis 

      7 years ago from UK and Nerujenia

      Actually he is funny and cute and slightly out of phase with reality for a guy but very adorable! Hah! Nikki, you should re-edit the title of this hub, no one will read a hub that comes up in searches as #3, any chance you could give it a name and put Russell's name in the title - it will work as a keyword, and your rating and reads will go up! I am just making this wee suggestion! And if it works, check your other interviews titles too, okay?

      Have a great day! Cheers! :D

    • Nikkij504gurl profile imageAUTHOR

      Nikki Wicked 

      7 years ago from Louisiana

      haha i know me too! I would love to meet him. I never saw the original. Aww thanks cathy. tweet, tweet away! lol

    • Astra Nomik profile image

      Cathy Nerujen 

      7 years ago from Edge of Reality and Known Space

      I am so jealous. Cassy met that guy at a festival long ago in UK. And he friended her in Myspace. He is funny as guys go. A bit mad, perhaps but he is not afraid to express himself fully, and most guys seem to stumble a bit in that. I love the film and the original was good too. Russell is more gregarious than Dudley Moors from the first film. I wonder could Hollywood do this but with American stars, like Jim Carrey and maybe Fran Drescher (from "The Nanny")as the Helen Mirren character? That might work. Heh.

      I love the new film reviews here, Nikki. You are awesome. I am tweeting this.

    • Nikkij504gurl profile imageAUTHOR

      Nikki Wicked 

      7 years ago from Louisiana

      haha cool!

    • Mentalist acer profile image

      Mentalist acer 

      7 years ago from A Voice in your Mind!

      Thanks for the heads-up Nicole,I've already got this in my netflix cue.;)

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)