ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Entertainment and Media»
  • Movies & Movie Reviews

Movie Review - Dolphin Tale

Updated on August 8, 2013

Buy the DVD

The real Winter without her prosthesis on 7/13/12
The real Winter without her prosthesis on 7/13/12 | Source

Movie Plot

Dolphin Tale is the story of a young, shy, unmotivated boy named Sawyer who discovers a stranded bottlenose dolphin on the beach in Clearwater, Florida. The floundering creature is hopelessly tangled in the ropes of a crab trap. Emergency beach rescuers arrive and carefully take the dolphin to the Clearwater Marine Aquarium for care.

Sawyer sneaks away from summer school to visit the dolphin as he is rehabilitated. He meets Dr. Clay Haskett (Harry Connick Jr.) and his daughter, Hazel, and all the other members of the aquarium team. Coming out of his shell, Sawyer befriends many who care for the dolphin they name Winter.

After losing his tail, Winter adapts by moving his body from side-to-side to maneuver in the pool. While this does help him move around, the unnatural movement begins to damage his spine and could lead to death.

Inspired by his cousin Kyle's experience at a VA hospital, Sawyer enlists the help of Dr. Cameron McCarthy (Morgan Freeman) to make a prosthetic tail for Winter. Sawyer's mom (Ashley Judd) eventually jumps in to help, as well.

Among several events that unfold with all the characters, the aquarium is set to close. Sawyer's quest to keep it open and Winter's dramatic comeback give a fun and heartwarming ending for the movie.


5 stars for Dolphin Tale

My Review

Dolphin Tale is a great, family-friendly movie for all ages, particularly those who love dolphins. The characters and events are believable and likeable. Harry Connick Jr. was wonderful in his role. I highly recommend it for everyone.

Comments

Submit a Comment

  • Esmeowl12 profile image
    Author

    Cindy A. Johnson 4 years ago from Sevierville, TN

    I agree. Years and years (and years) ago, I was introduced to Harry's music by one of my students, his niece. Love him!

  • teaches12345 profile image

    Dianna Mendez 4 years ago

    We just gave this movie to our grandkids for Christmas. I am glad that your review is so positive. I think Connick has come a long way in the past few years in acting. He is a great singer, but good to know he can also put on a great performance.

  • Esmeowl12 profile image
    Author

    Cindy A. Johnson 4 years ago from Sevierville, TN

    You're more than welcome, Mhatter99!

  • Esmeowl12 profile image
    Author

    Cindy A. Johnson 4 years ago from Sevierville, TN

    Ha, ha! Me, too! Love me some Harry Connick Jr. Thanks for commenting!

  • Mhatter99 profile image

    Martin Kloess 4 years ago from San Francisco

    Thank you for this review.

  • drbj profile image

    drbj and sherry 4 years ago from south Florida

    I saw this movie and it was fun, Esme, thanks for the great review. Only distraction for me was I kept waiting for Harry Connick to burst into song. Never happened! :)

Click to Rate This Article