ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Movie Review - Dolphin Tale

Updated on February 8, 2018
The real Winter without her prosthesis on 7/13/12
The real Winter without her prosthesis on 7/13/12 | Source

Movie Plot

Dolphin Tale is the story of a young, shy, unmotivated boy named Sawyer who discovers a stranded bottlenose dolphin on the beach in Clearwater, Florida. The floundering creature is hopelessly tangled in the ropes of a crab trap. Emergency beach rescuers arrive and carefully take the dolphin to the Clearwater Marine Aquarium for care.

Buy the DVD

Sawyer sneaks away from summer school to visit the dolphin as he is rehabilitated. He meets Dr. Clay Haskett (Harry Connick Jr.) and his daughter, Hazel, and all the other members of the aquarium team. Coming out of his shell, Sawyer befriends many who care for the dolphin they name Winter.

After losing his tail, Winter adapts by moving his body from side-to-side to maneuver in the pool. While this does help him move around, the unnatural movement begins to damage his spine and could lead to death.

Inspired by his cousin Kyle's experience at a VA hospital, Sawyer enlists the help of Dr. Cameron McCarthy (Morgan Freeman) to make a prosthetic tail for Winter. Sawyer's mom (Ashley Judd) eventually jumps in to help, as well.

Among several events that unfold with all the characters, the aquarium is set to close. Sawyer's quest to keep it open and Winter's dramatic comeback give a fun and heartwarming ending for the movie.


5 stars for Dolphin Tale

My Review

Dolphin Tale is a great, family-friendly movie for all ages, particularly those who love dolphins. The characters and events are believable and likeable. Harry Connick Jr. was wonderful in his role. I highly recommend it for everyone.

© 2013 Cindy A Johnson

Comments

Submit a Comment

  • Esmeowl12 profile imageAUTHOR

    Cindy A Johnson 

    5 years ago from Sevierville, TN

    I agree. Years and years (and years) ago, I was introduced to Harry's music by one of my students, his niece. Love him!

  • teaches12345 profile image

    Dianna Mendez 

    5 years ago

    We just gave this movie to our grandkids for Christmas. I am glad that your review is so positive. I think Connick has come a long way in the past few years in acting. He is a great singer, but good to know he can also put on a great performance.

  • Esmeowl12 profile imageAUTHOR

    Cindy A Johnson 

    5 years ago from Sevierville, TN

    You're more than welcome, Mhatter99!

  • Esmeowl12 profile imageAUTHOR

    Cindy A Johnson 

    5 years ago from Sevierville, TN

    Ha, ha! Me, too! Love me some Harry Connick Jr. Thanks for commenting!

  • Mhatter99 profile image

    Martin Kloess 

    5 years ago from San Francisco

    Thank you for this review.

  • drbj profile image

    drbj and sherry 

    5 years ago from south Florida

    I saw this movie and it was fun, Esme, thanks for the great review. Only distraction for me was I kept waiting for Harry Connick to burst into song. Never happened! :)

working

This website uses cookies

As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

Show Details
Necessary
HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
Features
Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
Marketing
Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
Statistics
Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)