ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Movie Review: Summer of '84

Updated on July 25, 2019
Davey Armstrong (Graham Verchere) tries to convince his friends that he saw this missing boy in his neighbor's house
Davey Armstrong (Graham Verchere) tries to convince his friends that he saw this missing boy in his neighbor's house

What would you do if you thought your next door neighbor was a serial killer? Would you spy on them and what if you were wrong?

This is the question four childhood friends deal with in the Summer of '84 as they try to figure out if their neighbor, Wayne Mackey (Rich Sommer) is indeed responsible for the recent disappearances of young boys. The clincher though is Mackey is a local police officer, so surely he's innocent, right?

One night while playing Manhunt, Davey (Graham Verchere) sees a boy in Mackey's house and later when the boy's picture appears on a milk carton, he tries to convince his friends Eats (Judah Lewis), Woody (Caleb Emery) and Curtis (Cory Gruter-Andrew) that the boy was in Mackey's house. They all tell him that he's crazy since they've known Mackey all of their lives and since he's a cop, why would he be doing such a thing.

Davey argues his point and then they start to watch Mackey's every move from morning until the time he gets home from work.

The boys start to come up with evidence against Mackey, but they can't confirm anything until they do a stake out. Their investigating Mackey is also a distraction from their home lives, which aren't perfect and the four of them begin to form an even bigger bond.

While they're only investigating amongst themselves, their concerns begin to grow when their neighbors haven't been seen in awhile. Davey is convinced that Mackey has something to do with their disappearance and the boys break into the house. There they find their older neighbor Nikki (Tiera Skovbye) taking care of the cats.

She assures them that the family rented a camper and left a few weeks ago and the boys let it slip about their investigation against Mackey. Nikki thinks it's a pretty funny story, but, boys will be boys.

When the boys are discovered at what they've been doing, things begin to get dangerous for everyone involved and the Summer of '84 will go down in history.

If you're looking for an edge of your seat thriller, this isn't that type of movie, however, there are a lot of twists and turns throughout I'd say the last half. I'm not sure at which point things start to subtly change, but you will be going back to watch it again.

On a first viewing, you may not like the movie since it's not that edge of your seat type of thriller, but during the last act it makes up for lost time. It's fast paced and really edge of the seat excitement.

This is what I was hoping for in the beginning, but, after a few times of watching this movie, I'm starting to pick up on the things that I've missed.

The performances are great and I like anything set in the '80's (and for some reason, everyone seems to think that the real summer of 1984 was the best in the decade) but unfortunately, I don't remember it.

Now if this were set in 1985 it would be a different story.


Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment
    • profile image

      Michael115 

      24 months ago

      That is good. Keep busy on here whenever you can.

    • Eric Tuchelske 1 profile imageAUTHOR

      Eric Tuchelske 

      24 months ago from Detroit

      I’m trying to review all of the books that I’ve gotten from a publisher (I’m only 15 or 16 years behind but making progress!) and occasionally I’ll do my Video Rewind column. I have a ton of celebrity interviews that I should work on too!

    • profile image

      Michael115 

      24 months ago

      Okay. I review one movie a day. Just reviewed Once Upon A Time In Hollywood last night.

    • Eric Tuchelske 1 profile imageAUTHOR

      Eric Tuchelske 

      24 months ago from Detroit

      I have a couple of other movies to review which are similar and should do them this weekend.

    • profile image

      Michael115 

      24 months ago

      Yeah it is definitely rewatchable. The ending alone will draw you in for another watch.

    • Eric Tuchelske 1 profile imageAUTHOR

      Eric Tuchelske 

      24 months ago from Detroit

      I went into it blindly not really knowing anything about the movie. The only thing I knew was that it took place in 1984 and that a serial killer was on the loose. It did exceed what I thought and though slow at first, it slowly dragged me into it. That’s why I tend to find something new when I rewatch it.

    • profile image

      Michael115 

      24 months ago

      I was told to expect something off the wall and I got just that.

    • Eric Tuchelske 1 profile imageAUTHOR

      Eric Tuchelske 

      24 months ago from Detroit

      I’m still blown away by the ending and it’s something that you don’t see coming.

    • profile image

      Michael115 

      24 months ago

      I saw this movie and thought the ending made the whole thing worth while. Good review!

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://corp.maven.io/privacy-policy

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)
    ClickscoThis is a data management platform studying reader behavior (Privacy Policy)