ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Entertainment and Media»
  • Cartoons & Animation

Movie Review: The Wind Rises

Updated on September 22, 2016
Click thumbnail to view full-size
Theatrical Poster
Theatrical Poster
Theatrical Poster | Source

Why I Saw The Wind Rises

Watching The Wind Rises was part of an extra credit assignment for my son who was taking an animation class. I took him to see this movie. All I knew about The Wind Rises was it was a Japanese animated movie. I assumed it was good because it was Japanese and my son’s teacher had it as an extra credit assignment. It is an excellent movie. I believe not knowing anything about it enhanced my viewing experience. Hayao Miyazaki wrote the screenplay and directed the movie.

Click thumbnail to view full-size
Dr. Jiro Horikoshi as a student at Tokyo Imperial University.Giovanni Battista Caproni depicted on a modern Italian postage stamp.A replica of a Mitsubishi A6M Zero-Sen at Dulles Airport, VA, September 2013.
Dr. Jiro Horikoshi as a student at Tokyo Imperial University.
Dr. Jiro Horikoshi as a student at Tokyo Imperial University. | Source
Giovanni Battista Caproni depicted on a modern Italian postage stamp.
Giovanni Battista Caproni depicted on a modern Italian postage stamp. | Source
A replica of a Mitsubishi A6M Zero-Sen at Dulles Airport, VA, September 2013.
A replica of a Mitsubishi A6M Zero-Sen at Dulles Airport, VA, September 2013. | Source

The Review

The movie begins in 1918 with a young Jiro Horikoshi dreaming about taking off in a flying machine from his house. His dream turns dark when German zeppelins appear and drop bombs. This simultaneous joy and sadness is repeated throughout the movie. In fantasy sequences famed Italian aircraft designer Giovanni Battista Caproni[i] guides Horikoshi. Jiro is a studious boy who is fascinated with aviation. His poor vision means he could never be a pilot. He could design airplanes. He becomes an aeronautical engineer for the Mitsubishi aircraft company. The movie depicts the 1923 Kanto Earthquake, the Great Depression, the tuberculosis epidemic, and the activities of the secret police in Japan and Germany. The movie shows prewar Japan as a backwards country in many respects. This is brought out when Horikoshi and other Japanese engineers visit the Junkers factory in Germany. The film favorably depicts Hugo Junkers.[ii] Horikoshi and the other Mitsubishi engineers have to contend with inferior Japanese engines and so have to make trade-offs to design aircraft with comparable performance to Western aircraft. Dr. Jiro Horikoshi designed the Mitsubishi A5M and later the famous/infamous Mitsubishi A6M Zero.

The movie characters age but they don’t change. What changes is the movie’s depiction and audience perception of these characters. Jiro’s younger sister at first appears the annoying little sister who interrupts Jiro from his studies. His grown up sister, a medical doctor, shows she is the person who makes Jiro aware of the needs of others and his responsibilities to his loved ones. Horikoshi’s boss first appears as an office tyrant with a Napoleonic Complex. He is later revealed as a generous and caring man with a strong sense of morality. Had this movie been made in live action it probably would not have been as good a movie. The fantasy scenes worked well and greatly enhanced the movie. The film was not made to be a historical biography of Dr. Horikoshi’s life. People who believe movies with historical figures should portray those figures and events in their lives accurately may have trouble getting past the movie’s factual inaccuracies.

[i] Giovanni Battista Caproni (1886-1957) – He built a series of bombers for the Italian military during World War I. He continued to build bombers and transports for the Italian military after the war and in World War II. His company, Caproni aircraft-manufacturing company, is probably most famous for the Caproni Campini N.1 a hybrid aircraft that used a piston engine to power the compressor of a jet engine.

[ii] Hugo Junkers (1859-1935) – Founder of the Junkers aircraft and engine company. He built the Junkers J 1, the first practical all-metal aircraft which specialized in strafing enemy positions during World War I. He also built the Junkers Ju-52 which was used as an airliner between the wars and as a military transport during and after World War II. The Nazi government forced him out of Junkers in 1934.

Should movies about historical figures portray them accurately?

See results

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Robert Sacchi profile image
      Author

      Robert Sacchi 7 months ago

      Yes, I believe this is one of those movies that is very good but few people know about it. I hope you enjoy the movie. Thanks for reading and commenting.

    • Au fait profile image

      C E Clark 7 months ago from North Texas

      Sounds like this would be a good movie to rent or borrow from the library. I like movies that teach lessons, etc. Glad you reviewed this as I've put it on my list of movies to see whereas I would never have heard of it without your review.

    • Peggy W profile image

      Peggy Woods 2 years ago from Houston, Texas

      I agree with what lawrence01 wrote. As long as the "based on" part is put in the description of a movie most people realize that it may not be 100% factual. Sounds like you really enjoyed that animated movie. They can be very good and enjoyable in ways that filming real people cannot accomplish. Thanks for sharing it with us.

    • lawrence01 profile image

      Lawrence Hebb 3 years ago from Hamilton, New Zealand

      I love history and I love historical movies but there are times when the storyteller needs to change a few things to tell the story. As long as they tell me it's only 'based on' then I don't mind and I'll probably go and look up the story to see if I would do it differently. Really good hub

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: "https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr"

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)