ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Partners (CBS) - Series Premiere: Synopsis and Review

Updated on January 3, 2013
Source

On September 24 the new comedy series ‘Partners’ premiered on CBS. The show stars David Krumholtz (‘Numb3rs’) as Joe and Michael Urie (‘Ugly Betty’) as Louis. Louis and Joe are lifelong friends and work together in an architecture firm. When Louis is in a new relationship and Joe gets engaged their relationship is put to the test. The show is created by Max Mutchnick and David Kohan, both creators of ‘Will & Grace’.

Joe is ready to break up with his girlfriend Ali (Sophia Bush, ‘One Tree Hill’), after she announced she wanted to get married and have kids. Joe isn’t ready for this so the next day he goes over to her store to break up. When he arrives she says she doesn’t want to pressure him to get married, she was just afraid to lose him. At this point Joe gets on his knees and proposes to her. This is a sudden turn of events, but Louis told him to go with his guts, so he did.

The next day Louis and Ali have yoga class together. Louis still thinks Joe broke up with Ali so he starts to comfort her and tell her Joe just wasn’t ready to get married yet. Ali tells him they got engaged and Louis, who realizes his mistake, flees the class. Louis goes to work immediately to tell Joe what happened, but as he arrives Ali calls.

Ali tells Joe the engagement is off, and Joe is furious at Louis. Joe doesn’t want to be friends with Louis anymore, he doesn’t even want to work with him anymore. Louis feels horrible about his mistake, this was not what he wanted at all. He decides to go over to Ali and convince her to marry Joe after all.

‘Partners’ is not the world’s best comedy show, but it certainly has some funny elements. For example the way Joe and Louis always make fun of each other. Sometimes the jokes are a little vulgar, and usually have something to do with the fact that Louis is gay. Oh, I didn’t mention before that Louis is gay? Well to be honest, it wasn’t a big deal for the storyline in this episode. Louis’ current boyfriend did make an appearance, but he wasn’t part of the main storyline. However, the show did seize every possible moment to make a joke about Louis being gay.

Somehow I feel like his boyfriend, Wyatt (Brandon Routh) might not stay long in the show. The character doesn’t have a lot of dept yet and quite frankly he seems to be a caricature. The show really tries to let Wyatt come of as a dumb, gay person who’s really proud of his (stunning) body. I feel like the show could have done so much more with this character. But who knows, maybe we will explore a bit more of him in later episodes.

What do you think of Partners?

See results

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Robin Oatley profile imageAUTHOR

      Robin Oatley 

      6 years ago

      That is too bad. Perhaps something new comes along in midseason that you like. I'll soon publish some overview hubs on the upcoming series for midseason, so be sure to check back!

    • profile image

      emily 

      6 years ago

      I really liked the show, it was my new favorite show. I'm bummed to see it go.

    • Robin Oatley profile imageAUTHOR

      Robin Oatley 

      6 years ago

      Your comment made me realize that I didn't explain what I meant clearly enough. So I changed it a little and I hope others will understand what I am trying to say.

      I didn't experience your comment as negative so don't worry about that at all. I'm just happy you helped me make my hub a little better :), so don't hesitate to point out something like this again.

    • First Colony profile image

      First Colony 

      6 years ago

      Robin,

      I hope you know that I wasn't trying to point out a problem with your Hub. I really look forward to your TV Hubs, and your take on things.

      Not sure your Hub needs to be changed, just one man's opinion.

    • Robin Oatley profile imageAUTHOR

      Robin Oatley 

      6 years ago

      It did have that advantage of being in between How I Met Your Mother and 2 Broke Girls and we'll see in a couple of hours what that did for the ratings.

      The show indeed feels a little old. Perhaps the Will & Grace writers haven't noticed that it's over a decade later already. And they have also just brought the gay stereotype jokes with them.

      You are of course right in saying that Louis being gay was mentioned a lot, I just meant to point out that it didn't affect the main storyline at all. Perhaps that will be taken a look at in some of the next episodes by deepening the relationship between Louis and Wyatt.

      But I realize that it's not really clear that I meant that, so I'll change that in the hub later, thanks for pointing that out!

    • First Colony profile image

      First Colony 

      6 years ago

      I don't know about this one. It has the advantage of being sandwiched in-between two popular shows (HIMYM and 2 Broke Girls), but doesn't seem to have "legs". I'm stealing a line from another reviewer, but the show feels like 1997.

      And I disagree that Louis being gay wasn't a big deal in this episode. It seemed that every joke made mention of this, or every stereotype was brought up to remind the viewer that yes!, here is a gay man. From the Bette Midler comment when they were little to the secretary and her "gay,gay" comment. So we have to wonder-is this show about a gay man, or about a man who happens to be gay? I'm afraid that it is the first, and every stereotype will be exploited.

    • Robin Oatley profile imageAUTHOR

      Robin Oatley 

      6 years ago

      You're right; it is OK, but really not great. Perhaps it'll pick up in subsequent episodes, for instance by expanding the Wyatt-character. And just overall by being funnier, but that's of course really vague and a hard thing to accomplish.

    • Alecia Murphy profile image

      Alecia Murphy 

      6 years ago from Wilmington, North Carolina

      I haven't seen this yet but I know it's from the creators of Will and Grace. It didn't appeal to me in the previews- the jokes seem old or something. And from your review, it sounds like that's what happened. Maybe it'll find it's groove.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)