ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Paul Apostle Of Christ Film Review

Updated on April 16, 2019
Actor
Character
Jim Caviezel
Luke
Noah Huntley
Publius
Alessandro Sperduti
Cassius
Antonia Campbell-Hughes
Irenica
James Faulkner
Paul

About the film

Director: Andrew Hyatt

Producers: David Zelon, T J Beden

Running Time: 106 mins

Genre: Biography, Drama, Adventure

Distributed By: Sony Pictures

Budget: $5,000,000


The Film

This film covers the life of the Apostle Paul and how he was really the figure behind the formation of the Churches before his execution. The film begins with Luke entering Rome in secret to meet with Paul. Paul has been imprisoned by Nero for his Christian beliefs as Nero thinks he is a threat to him. Luke wants to try and persuade Paul to write about his Christian knowledge as Paul wants to write a book. After Jesus' death and resurrection Paul travels around the Roman Empire spreading the word of God and trying to build Churches. Captured by Emperor Nero, here he is stuck in prison and bound by chains.

Luke, a physician, wants to write a book about the beginnings of the Church, but is risking his life by approaching Paul. With Nero wanting to rid Rome of Christians, the film takes us through the trials the men went through and the persecution that the Christians went through at the time. Throughout the film, we see the extraordinary journey that Paul and Luke went through for the sake of their faith. With Paul already gone through so much and is now locked up in the most appalling prison, it is interesting to see this part of the Bible brought to the big screen and the suffering that Christians went through.

Source

My Thoughts

With Easter approaching, I think this film was released at the right time. As I sat watching the film, it made me realise what Christians went through at the time and the sheer torment that these people suffered. Jesus paid with his life on the cross, and after his death and resurrection, his apostles still went through the suffering and pain just because of their faith. They wanted to carry on spreading the word of God and this film shows us what people like Paul went through for their faith.

It is interesting to know that the actor who plays Luke, Jim Caviezel, played Jesus in the 2004 film, The Passion of the Christ. The film provides a few flashbacks to Paul's life so the viewer gets a bit of an insight into what has happened previously in his life. Although you don't really get to see any direct violence, you do get the sense that Christians are being persecuted. By this I mean you get to see the aftermath of the brutality that happened at the time and the way the Romans treated the Christians. There is quite of bit of blood in the film, so you might want to be careful if there is children watching this.

The acting I found really good, especially the actors who played the main characters of the Apostles Paul and Luke. By seeing the kind of conditions that Paul was in when he was in prison, the viewer gets a real sense of the sheer dismal surroundings he was experiencing. It made me sad to think that he was being treated this way just because of his faith. My heart did go out to him. The portrayal of Paul is excellently told in this film. And with his good friend Luke with him, it shows us just what Rome was like and what people went through. Watching this movie has left me wanting to read up about Paul again in the Bible and learn more about him.

If you've not seen this yet, I would recommend it if you are interested in this genre of film. 10/10 from me.

© 2019 Louise Powles

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment
    • Coffeequeeen profile imageAUTHOR

      Louise Powles 

      13 months ago from Norfolk, England

      Hi Lori, it was released in March so won't be out on DVD just yet. It's available to watch on Netflix, and also to buy on You Tube and Google Play.

    • lambservant profile image

      Lori Colbo 

      13 months ago from Pacific Northwest

      Thanks for this. I did not know about the film. Jim Caviezel is an outstanding actor. I'm sure the others are too. So this is already in the movie theaters or out on DVD?

    • teaches12345 profile image

      Dianna Mendez 

      13 months ago

      I have not seen the movie yet but you have inspired me to do see it soon. This would be a great add to a Bible study on Paul.

    • Tim Truzy info4u profile image

      Tim Truzy 

      13 months ago from U.S.A.

      Excellent, Louise. I think I will view this one. It sounds really interesting. Paul was an important figure for the development of the faith, and this movie sounds like it told the story well. Thanks for a superb review.

      Respect and admiration,

      Tim

    • Jodah profile image

      John Hansen 

      13 months ago from Queensland Australia

      I had not even heard about this movie Louise, so thanks for also bringing it to my attention. There have been plenty of movies about Jesus but this is the first I am aware of about Paul. It sounds interesting and I like Jim Caviezel as an actor.

    • Mamerto profile image

      Mamerto Adan 

      13 months ago from Cabuyao

      This could be a good Easter film. Thanks for sharing this!

    • Eurofile profile image

      Liz Westwood 

      13 months ago from UK

      I had not noticed this film on release. Thanks for bringing it to my attention and a good review.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://maven.io/company/pages/privacy

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)
    ClickscoThis is a data management platform studying reader behavior (Privacy Policy)