ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

A Romantic Movie Review: 'Playing for Keeps'

Updated on April 6, 2016

Looking for a Romantic Movie-Look no Further

Main characters played by Gerard Butler and Jessica Biel
Main characters played by Gerard Butler and Jessica Biel | Source

Cast of the Romantic Comedy

Playing for keeps has an all star cast:

  • Gerard Butler
  • Dennis Quaid
  • Jessica Biel
  • Uma Thurman
  • Judy Greer
  • Catherine Zeta-Jones
  • James Tupper




My Top 11 Romantic Movies

  1. The Notebook
  2. Sleepless in Seattle
  3. Pretty Woman
  4. Gone with the Wind
  5. The Wedding Singer
  6. Dirty Dancing
  7. Titanic
  8. You've Got Mail
  9. Love, Actually
  10. 10 Things I Hate About You
  11. When Harry met Sally

Plot of the Movie

The leads in this romantic comedy are played by Jessica Biel (Stacie) and Gerard Butler (George); a divorced couple with a young son played by Noah Lomax. The story line goes like this: Ultra handsome and charming Ex-husband George Dryer is a washed up soccer pro who comes back home to the Virginia suburbs. He's broke and down on his luck but desperately wants to re-build the relationship with his adolescent son Lewis. In order to spend time with his boy, he agrees to coach his losing soccer team. George's attempts at growing up and shedding his bad ways are hindered from a group of soccer mom's who want a piece of the handsome, retired soccer star.

Pro's and Cons of my Review

Unfortunately, the movie doesn't provide many surprises. It plays out like your typical clich'e romantic comedy. After watching dysfunctional drama's and trists play out, in the end, the family unit prevails. Mom, dad and son get back together despite many near misses due to George's blunders.

On the bright side of my review, I shamelessly admit it's a 'feel good' movie. It's December, a time of seeing the positive side of things. This all star cast is captivating to watch and I'm a sucker for a good romance. How can you not like a movie that ends with the family back together. If your looking for a romantic comedy; albeit predictable, this is a 'must see' holiday movie.


Movie Review

4 stars for 'Playing for Keeps'

Playing for Keeps-Good Romantic Movie

Romantic Comedies

Are you a Fan of Romantic Comedies

See results

© 2012 Linda Rogers

Comments

Submit a Comment

  • Minnetonka Twin profile imageAUTHOR

    Linda Rogers 

    4 years ago from Minnesota

    You are so funny Nell. I don't have a romantic love either but I still love watching those movies. I like to pretend I'm the girl in the movie. LOL

    I have always been a hopeless romantic. Good to see you Nell.

  • Nell Rose profile image

    Nell Rose 

    4 years ago from England

    Great review minnetonka, I am useless with romantic comedies, I hate them! lol! just too lovey for me, I am a horror fanatic, I love all those sort of things, maybe its because I don't have romance in my life I can't bear to see others happy in these films! LOL!

  • Minnetonka Twin profile imageAUTHOR

    Linda Rogers 

    5 years ago from Minnesota

    You'll like it. It's definitely a chick flick and nothing that will excite the man in your life. You can't go wrong with the handsome leading man. I just love romantic comedies. Hope you enjoy it.

  • Lady_E profile image

    Elena 

    5 years ago from London, UK

    Thanks. I would love to see it. I like the Cast too.

  • Minnetonka Twin profile imageAUTHOR

    Linda Rogers 

    5 years ago from Minnesota

    Not the best movie like you said, but I just enjoy romantic comedies, especially when the leading man is so darn handsome.

  • Ingenira profile image

    Ingenira 

    5 years ago

    I watched this movie while on the plane, flying to somewhere. Maybe I was sleepy, I felt the movie was quite slow, so I did not watch the movie till the end.

    But I am glad that someone else enjoyed it. Great review !

  • Minnetonka Twin profile imageAUTHOR

    Linda Rogers 

    5 years ago from Minnesota

    It was pretty predictable but I did think the acting was pretty good. I especially liked looking at the handsome Gerard Butler. It's a chick flick to be sure. My sister and I enjoyed it.

  • Kathryn Stratford profile image

    Kathryn 

    5 years ago from Manchester, Connecticut

    Romantic comedies can be incredibly corny at times, but there are many that I find heart-warming and worth it. It depends on how good the acting is, and how funny.

    This sounds like a decent plot, although now I know how it ends!

  • Minnetonka Twin profile imageAUTHOR

    Linda Rogers 

    5 years ago from Minnesota

    Hi acaetnna-I know you'll like this romantic comedy, especially when Gerard Butler is one of the leads. It's a great chick flick.

  • acaetnna profile image

    acaetnna 

    5 years ago from Guildford

    Romantic comedies I think are my favourite. Must definitely watch this one, especially after your great review.

  • Minnetonka Twin profile imageAUTHOR

    Linda Rogers 

    5 years ago from Minnesota

    Well, if the husband is cool with the handsome Butler, you're good to go. LOL Have a great movie night :-)

  • Monis Mas profile image

    Aga 

    5 years ago

    Very useful review! I like "feel good" movies, and I was planning to rent this one at some point. Gerard Butler is one of my husband's favorite actors, so maybe we will see it together.

  • Minnetonka Twin profile imageAUTHOR

    Linda Rogers 

    5 years ago from Minnesota

    Thanks for reading the review Seeker. I like the old movies too. I use to watch them with my father when he was still alive. The old ones are so much better. Although this wasn't the best movie and was quite predictable, it was a feel good movie and like you said, always fun to watch the charming and good looking Gerard Butler.

  • Seeker7 profile image

    Helen Murphy Howell 

    5 years ago from Fife, Scotland

    This is a great review for me as I haven't seen the movie yet - despite always enjoying watching Gerard Butler! I was in two minds whether or not to see it or just wait - think I'll wait, even although I do love 'feel good movies' especially in January as it's such a dreary month!!

    I think some of the modern romantic comedies could even learn a thing or two from old classics such as the Doris Day and Rock Hudson, 'Pyjama Games' and other movies of the 60's - I know my tastes are very old at times, but I love these old movies!!!

    An excellent, fair and well balanced review!! + Voted up!

  • Minnetonka Twin profile imageAUTHOR

    Linda Rogers 

    5 years ago from Minnesota

    Hi teaches-my family and I have been watching all those holiday romantic comedy's. I just love them. Some of them have some big stars in them too. Thanks for coming by and I hope your doing well.

  • teaches12345 profile image

    Dianna Mendez 

    5 years ago

    I love romantic comedy. There are many on TV for the holiday celebration. However, as you mentioned, they have predictable endings. I love it when it has some mystery as to how it will end.

  • catgypsy profile image

    catgypsy 

    5 years ago from the South

    Haha...that makes it worthwhile!

  • Minnetonka Twin profile imageAUTHOR

    Linda Rogers 

    5 years ago from Minnesota

    Tis a pleasure catgypsy-I thought it was entertaining albeit predictable but who cares-Gerard Butler is a babe :-)

  • catgypsy profile image

    catgypsy 

    5 years ago from the South

    Great review Minnetonka. I haven't seen that movie and you just helped me decide about it. Thanks.

  • Minnetonka Twin profile imageAUTHOR

    Linda Rogers 

    5 years ago from Minnesota

    Dear Ruby-you will definitely enjoy this romantic comedy. It's an all star cast that's fun to look at, especially the handsome Gerard Butler-Hubba Hubba! I think it's a nice holiday movie for the family but there are a couple scenes that are suggestive but no more than that. Merry Christmas my friend and I hope things are well in your life.

  • Minnetonka Twin profile imageAUTHOR

    Linda Rogers 

    5 years ago from Minnesota

    Hi drbj-Gerard Butler is sooo handsome and I thought he did a pretty nice acting job in this movie. The movie could have been written better but for me, all the celebs and the nice love story ending made it a fun out for me and a good way to start the holidays. Hope all is well :-)

  • Minnetonka Twin profile imageAUTHOR

    Linda Rogers 

    5 years ago from Minnesota

    Hi there KKgirl-I am a sucker for a romantic comedy. I actually enjoyed the movie very much. If your alright with happy endings that are predictable, then see this movie. There were a couple of sexy scenes if younger viewers want to see it but nothing too bad. It was rated PG13. Happy Holidays my friend :-)

  • always exploring profile image

    Ruby Jean Richert 

    5 years ago from Southern Illinois

    This is a movie i will definitely see, if not in the theater, for sure a home movie. Romantic comedies are my favorite movies. Thank's for the review. Best wishes..Merry Christmas..

  • drbj profile image

    drbj and sherry 

    5 years ago from south Florida

    I have been planning to see that film, Linda, since I enjoy Gerard and Catherine in any movie they appear in. So thanks for the advance review.

  • Minnetonka Twin profile imageAUTHOR

    Linda Rogers 

    5 years ago from Minnesota

    Hi Bill and of course your the first to comment on my review-you are such a good friend to me and so supportive of my writing. I actually enjoyed the movie even though it was very predictable. I hope your enjoying the holidays thus far-We did some Christmas shopping today and I ended up getting one thing for myself-LOL

  • KoffeeKlatch Gals profile image

    Susan Hazelton 

    5 years ago from Sunny Florida

    Thanks for the review. I still think I might want to catch it, maybe when it is available to rent.

  • billybuc profile image

    Bill Holland 

    5 years ago from Olympia, WA

    I love romantic comedies, but I am not a fan of Biel or Butler, so this one would be a tough sell for me. Thanks for the review; maybe if I see it on sale someday I'll give it a try.

    I hope you are well my friend; sending holiday best wishes to you and your sister.

    bill

working

This website uses cookies

As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

Show Details
Necessary
HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
Features
Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
Marketing
Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
Statistics
Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)