ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Prometheus- A movie review.

Updated on June 16, 2012

I must admit.....

I was disappointed! This was not very good.

Why do I say that ?

Charlize Theron fans will be disappointed, because her character was hard to figure out, and she was misused. Her star power was used to bring in movie goers, and not to improve the story.

Next, the story was flawed and under explained. There was too much sloppiness and inconsistency. This is the first prequel of one of the best horror trilogies ever, and they choose to come up short? There was no excuse for that.

The other alien movies and the Xenomorph as a race, were ignored too much and not really explained.The race on the foreign planet was an odd fit as well. The explaination didn't seem to work at all.

The upsides is that the graphics were great and I loved the exploritory ship. The acting was decent to good.

My suggestion is that you wait until it goes to the cheap theaters. It is too bad, because I looked forward to this for many reasons.

HUBPAGES yanked this and now its back. Oh joy!

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • tillsontitan profile image

      Mary Craig 

      6 years ago from New York

      Thanks for the heads up. I will certainly wait till it comes on HBO or DVD...we usually do as my husband doesn't like to sit in the theater. Alien was one of my favorite movies of all time.

      Voted up and useful.

    • JezDramaQueen profile image

      JezDramaQueen 

      6 years ago

      We can all hope xx :)

    • MikeSyrSutton profile imageAUTHOR

      MikeSyrSutton 

      6 years ago from An uncharted galaxy

      Thank you Jez! I can't believe that Ridley let this happen! Oh well maybe the sequels will be better.

    • JezDramaQueen profile image

      JezDramaQueen 

      6 years ago

      Totally agree with your review I watch this with my friends and not one of us could understand the plot line, plus the majority of the film was just pointless gore. Great review.

    • MikeSyrSutton profile imageAUTHOR

      MikeSyrSutton 

      6 years ago from An uncharted galaxy

      Thanks for the input!

    • Robwrite profile image

      Rob 

      6 years ago from Oviedo, FL

      Very short and direct interview. It's too bad you didn't enjoy the film. I haven't seen it and it's getting mixed reviews.

      Rob

    • MikeSyrSutton profile imageAUTHOR

      MikeSyrSutton 

      6 years ago from An uncharted galaxy

      Thanks for all of the input, Its too bad that this wasn't as good as anticipated!

    • CMerritt profile image

      Chris Merritt 

      6 years ago from Pendleton, Indiana

      That was pretty much EXACTLY what my son had to say about it.

    • MikeSyrSutton profile imageAUTHOR

      MikeSyrSutton 

      6 years ago from An uncharted galaxy

      I agree! The graphics and ships were awesome, but they had no control over the story. It was hard to follow.

    • Just For Fun profile image

      Joe 

      6 years ago from Pennsylvania, USA

      It was cool for the visual effects and the gross stuff, but I wasn't really drawn into the story. It's possible I missed the explanation or it went completely over my head, but why all the seeming mystery over the origin of the human race? We already generally know how we evolved, so I had a hard time getting into all the engineer other-worldly creator stuff. Anyway, still a fun movie.

    • shiningirisheyes profile image

      Shining Irish Eyes 

      6 years ago from Upstate, New York

      Helpful, informative review but I still have to see it.

      Thanks

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)