ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Review: Captain Phillips

Updated on January 30, 2014

*Mild Spoilers*

This continues my on-going set of Oscar reviews, marking my third entry, Captain Phillips. The film is yet again, similarly to American Hustle, based off of true events. It is directed by Paul Greengrass (Bourne Supremacy, Bourne Ultimatum) while also starring Tom Hanks and Barkhad Abdi. The direction by Greengrass is strong with a tremendous amount of realism and intensity pulsating throughout the entire film that builds and builds into the very last second. The first word that comes to people's head after seeing this movie is frequently, intense, which is the best way to describe it.

The film of course follows the titular character Captain Richard Phillips (Tom Hanks) who is in command of the MV Maersk Alabama, an unarmed container ship from Port of Salalah in Oman, with orders to sail through the Gulf of Aden to Mombasa around the Horn of Africa. The Captain is wary of pirate activity around the coast of Somalia thus he takes action by preparing strict security precautions on the vessel as well as carrying out practice drills. During one of these drills, the vessel is chased down by Somalian pirates in two skiffs. Under Phillips leadership and bluffing ability, they are able to elude the pirates. However, they do return with heavily armed reinforcements led by Abduwali Muse (Barkhad Abdi). The pirates are able to board the vessel. Before they board, Philips cuts the engine power and tells a majority of his crew to hide in the engine room. In an attempt to quickly get Muse and his men off the ship he offers up all the money in the ship's safe, but Muse has much grander plans as he wants to ransom the ship and it's crew for millions of dollars.

Seeing how the stakes are raised from this point, Phillips decides that the best course of action is to simply get Muse and his men off the ship. For if he doesn't men on both sides will die. Thus he takes them to a lifeboat, yet the pirates end up forcing him with them as leverage. Aboard the lifeboat he is frequently the subject of the pirate's anger and frustration, leading him to suffer. Shortly after, the Navy gets a hold on the situation and begins to take charge in order to preserve Captain Phillips life. Phillips tries to bargain with the pirates as he feels that the Navy would rather sink the boat then let them win, whereas Muse disagrees and that is why he brought him along as their leverage.

Closing Comments

The film is incredibly intense, especially in the final act all in large part to the superb direction by Greengrass but most of the credit here should really go to Tom Hanks. His ability to play the cool and calm Captain to the one that is suddenly being very heroic to a man that is just broken was very heartbreaking. It was amazing to watch and really stuck with me even months after having seen the movie, in the final act is where he really shined and showed why he is such a versatile actor, even in his elder years of acting. It is no shock that he is up for an Oscar for his performance and even Barkhad Abdi did a terrific job in the role of Muse. All in all, it is a very good thriller and very deserving of it's high praise.

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Nickalooch profile imageAUTHOR

      Nickalooch 

      4 years ago from Columbia, MD

      Everyone is entitled to their own opinion, no harm in it. I felt as if some of the drama was robbed in the fact that we obviously know that he makes it through the ordeal but still in terms of acting and directing I thought it was a solid film.

      Again, everyone is entitled to their own. Reviews are just that, one's own opinion. I appreciate hearing your side though and thank you for the comment.

    • rjbatty profile image

      rjbatty 

      4 years ago from Irvine

      I recently watched this film, and I didn't like it anywhere near as much as yourself. I watched it via Amazon, and ended up giving the thing two out of four stars. I thought Tom Hanks was good -- even though throughout the majority of the film he is just a captive being shoved around. His attempt at escape is thwarted pretty easily. Generally, I thought the film was tedious. I don't think all "real life" stories automatically lend themselves to a good major motion picture. For me, there just wasn't enough plot material or character evolution. Yes, we see Hanks devolve from a sturdy captain of a cargo ship to a shivering wreck, but we'd expect that kind of transformation from anyone who had undergone his trials. Even when the Navy Seals arrive on the scene, I still thought the drama was pretty sleepy. Sorry to disagree, but, well, there it is.

    • Nickalooch profile imageAUTHOR

      Nickalooch 

      4 years ago from Columbia, MD

      He really demonstrated how he truly is one of the best all time actors. I am glad you enjoyed the movie and thanks for the compliment.

    • vandynegl profile image

      vandynegl 

      4 years ago from Ohio Valley

      This was an amazing movie! We just watched it last night and Hanks plays the role well, as usual! Good review!

    • Nickalooch profile imageAUTHOR

      Nickalooch 

      4 years ago from Columbia, MD

      There is some people that seem to think he may have been in the wrong he how he dealt with the situation in an attempt to get his 15 minutes of fame, but I am not one to sit and say I know everything and that is what he was doing. All I know is that film was good. Thank you for the comment! I appreciate it.

    • mary615 profile image

      Mary Hyatt 

      4 years ago from Florida

      I watched an interview with the real Captain on CNN couple of nights ago. He certainly praised the movie depicting his real life adventure. I have not seen the movie, but I intend to. Great review.

    • Nickalooch profile imageAUTHOR

      Nickalooch 

      4 years ago from Columbia, MD

      You should give it a try then, it was very entertaining. I appreciate the comment.

    • jainismus profile image

      Mahaveer Sanglikar 

      4 years ago from Pune, India

      It seems an interesting movie. I am a fan of Tom Hanks and of course I would like to watch this movie.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)