ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Review: Iron Man 3

Updated on May 6, 2013

MILD SPOILERS

It feels like it has been a really long time since The Avengers dominated box offices everywhere a year ago. A lot has happened since then, but one things remains. Robert Downey Jr. is delivers the best performance time and time again as a comic book superhero known and loved by many. It is widely known that his contract with Marvel is up after this film but I would also say it is incredibly hard to think about Tony Stark being in the rest of the Marvel Cinematic Universe without Robert Downey Jr playing the part. He has carried this bold endeavor set out by the Marvel bigwigs and Kevin Feige. As for the actual movie though, this film sets up what is known as "Phase Two" of the universe. This film stands as the set up that will end with The Avengers 2. It does a good job of showing how the events of The Avengers had changed Tony, but as far as setting up the next phase, that remains to be seen. The only big thing that stands out would be the introduction of Advanced Ideas Mechanics, also known as A.I.M. (Yes, Marvel likes acronyms) A.I.M. in the comics, were a group of intelligent scientists that dedicated their lives to the acquisition of power and to overthrow all of the political powers by technological means. They had major villains like M.O.D.O.K, which is largely rumored as a villain in Captain America: Winter Solider. Now, back to the actual movie at hand.

The film starts off with a flashback to Tony's time before being Iron Man in which he met two talented scientists named Maya Hansen (Rebecca Hall) and Aldrich Killian (Guy Pearce). Tony, at the time, was romantic with Maya but Killian wanted Tony's attention to help jump start his career and his ideas. Tony disregards Killian completely as all he wanted was a little female companionship for the night. Fast forward back to present time and we see a bit more of a reclusive Tony, which is something completely new. The events that transpired in New York as Tony and the Avengers faced off against Loki's army had changed him. It has made him anxious and above all else protective of Pepper (Gwyneth Paltrow). Tony is a changed man and he can't sleep because all he wants to do is sit in his basement and tinker with his armors so that he cannot be thrown off guard by whatever is coming next. This causes a bit of a rift between he and the people close to him. He no longer sees Happy Hogan (Jon Favreau) and it leaves Pepper feeling neglected. Pepper, meanwhile, has been doing an admirable job running Stark Industries and surprisingly gets visited by a much different looking Aldrich Killian. Killian offers Stark Industries a place alongside him among his company, A.I.M., as he had created an experimental regenerative treatment that allows recovery from crippling injuries. Peeper is intrigued by the idea, but she feels it can be weaponized so she declines. Meanwhile, Tony gets wind of bombings around the world led by a man known as The Mandarin (Ben Kingsley). After a bombing that hits a bit too close to home, Tony decides to take things into his own hands and tells the Mandarin to come after him. With an experimental new suit on, he valiantly fights off the Mandarin's forces but his mansion is destroyed, and the world believes Tony Stark to be dead.

Tony of course survives the attack only to find himself in Tennessee all alone with a destroyed armor. This forces him to go back to the bare bones and do what he knows best. It very much goes back to his days in Iron Man 1 when he was stuck in a cave facing certain death. Except, now he knows that the imminent threat he is faced with is a personal one that could affect the entire world on a grand scale. He uses his skills to rebuild the armor, but also he begins to look into Extremis and the Mandarin. This leads to some terrifying discoveries as he and his best friend James Rhodes (Don Cheadle) take matters into their own hands to make things right against a powerful enemy.

Closing Comments

It is very much an entertaining film and new director Shane Black shines with his expertise in telling a story with a bit of a comedic overtone. It helps that Black is familiar working with Downey as the two previous had worked on Kiss Kiss Bang Bang. Even more impressive is Black's action sequences in the film, which were all very impressive. Another thing the film addressed from the previous Marvel films is the question that Captain America proposed to Tony Stark in the Avengers when he asked, "Big man in a suit of armor, take that a way and what are you?" This movie answered that question in a big way as we hardly see Tony in the suit. Instead of using the suit, he uses his brain, which is his strongest weapon. He also shows that he is a capable fighter in hand to hand fights. Of course, the Iron Man purists will not appreciate the twist involving the main villain in the film, but if you take a step back and look at the full product then you realize that they really did a fantastic job. My gripes with the film revolve around the incredibly rushed ending that could have certainly used more screen time as everything was resolved entirely too quickly. This is a solid start to the second phase of the Marvel Cinematic Universe, but I will also say that I am surprised at the lack of easter eggs that fans have become used to in previous films.

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • profile image

      rmcmillen 

      5 years ago

      Indeed, and I am also very glad to see my very opinionated "Open Letter To All Star Wars Fans" also featured at the bottom of this article.... Check it out some day if ya get the chance.

    • Nickalooch profile imageAUTHOR

      Nickalooch 

      5 years ago from Columbia, MD

      Reviews are just that.

    • profile image

      rmcmillen 

      5 years ago

      Now..... this is simply my opinion, but as I state in my hub "Iron Man 3 Through The Eyes Of A Real Fanboy"..... that's about 3 and a half stars too many.... but that's just my opinion

    • smcopywrite profile image

      smcopywrite 

      5 years ago from all over the web

      i really enjoyed the movie and felt you did a great job with the review. thanks for sharing

    • Nickalooch profile imageAUTHOR

      Nickalooch 

      5 years ago from Columbia, MD

      There is a big reason as to why the ten rings don't match up lol. I really really really wish I could speak about the villains. lol.

    • Stevennix2001 profile image

      Steven Escareno 

      5 years ago

      Pretty good review, as I think you brought up a lot of valid points. Looking back at this, I think I've come up with a few theories about this movie, as some of the things don't add up considering they don't explain the connection with the ten rings organization from the first film to this one too well; thus i think i might write a spoiler hub on this movie. thanks for giving me the great idea. lol.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)