ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Entertainment and Media»
  • Movies & Movie Reviews

Review of Movies about 9/11 Attacks on the US

Updated on September 14, 2013
cover photo for movie United 93.
cover photo for movie United 93. | Source
cover photo for movie World Trade Center.
cover photo for movie World Trade Center. | Source

Real Events vs. Hollywood Depiction

This year, I decided to purchase from the local DVD store copies of the movies made about the terrorist attacks on the United States on the date, September 11, 2001. Purchased and viewed were three movies, one was documentary, and the other two were dramatizations based on news reports and personal stories as told by the families of individuals involved in this national disaster. The movies I watched were called: World Trade Center, United 93, and Fahrenheit 9/11.

FAHRENHEIT 9/11

At the store, in the rack called special interest, I found the movie called Fahrenheit 9/11. A documentary film producer named Michael Moore focused on the events of the election of George W. Bush in 2000, and the events that occured while he was in office in the months prior to the date of the remorseful events. It showed President George W. Bush as a leisurely man, someone who had a comfort zone in his family, his residences, his hobbies, and his love for his dogs and visiting the public for personality appeal. When minutes of authoritative decision mattered as soon as the first plane had struck the first of the twin towers, I viewed in the film of the President not doing anything to change his activity at that current time. As he was faced with the reality, he relied on others to carry out the task of quick response to these occurences.

The movie not only provided the presidential side of the 9/11 events, Mr. Michael Moore continued to provide the global events of the Iraq War. The tragedies of that war targeted a whole nation and involved their neighboring countries, which resulted in the injury and death to hundreds of American soldiers, even though the US government was after one person who could have been the decision maker of the attacks after all.

UNITED 93

This movie was written, produced, directed and by Paul Greengrass. In this film, Mr. Greengrass captures the events that led to the fourth hijacked plane that never met its purpose but ended in death for all on this flight. My fascination with this movie was from the experience of the Air Traffic Control Tower that was tracking all the planes that were involved in the terrorist attack and how every minute of communication counted while trying to decipher the actual air traffic. My emotional grip on the passengers response to the hijackers of this flight kept me on the edge of the seat. The true events of the devastation of this plane crash in Pennsylvania on 9/11/2001 was tragic, but the accounts of how the flight crew and passengers supported one another during the moments before disaster represented unity.

WORLD TRADE CENTER

Oliver Stone, the producer of many block buster movies such as Platoon, Scarface, Conan the Barbarian, and Reversal of Fortune, has done an excellent job with this dramatization of the devastation of the Twin Towers in New York City on September 11, 2001. The story focuses on the entrapment of two policeman under the thickening rubble of concrete and metal .How their disappearance in the disaster site affects their families is very well done, creating this writer's heart felt response to the suspense. Nicholas Cage and Michael Pena portray two men a dependence of one another while anticipating either rescue or demise.

This writer feels that the Hollywood flavor of this film had its success due to the tremendous sound effects of crushing concrete and metal, and scenes of dark and light that would entice any theater goer, perhaps putting the viewer right there within the scenes. Passion and sweat went into the producer's concept of a true event bringing it to a permanent impression and understanding.

What these films are about

R oles played

E vents displayed

A ctual News

L ive and Real


L earn and discern

I ntense truth

F ilmed Proof

E xtraordinary Senses

Final Thoughts

Watching movies about real life events helps the viewers understand what has happened, what was the cause of the event, and can bring closure to the ones who have survived the experiences. As this writer prefers to watch movies with historical truth, sometimes the movie makers will embellish using the most dramatic effects to get the point across. The documentary style movie is the best way to get chronological facts straight as well as visual proof using newsfootage. In the current time, media is the most popular way to keep track of all events. With the power of online internet access, these events can be reviewed over and over. If one can trust the source of the audio visual then it helps make the viewer more certain of the footage. Some times we have to watch the news reels over again and again in order to believe it actually happened. Perhaps this is why movies are made about real life disasters. Movies of the world in its real state is enough to shock any viewer.

Trailer for Fahrenheit 9/11

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Lord De Cross profile image

      Joseph De Cross 22 months ago

      Very informative! Great review! Was this an inside job? Time will tell!

    • Ann1Az2 profile image

      Ann1Az2 3 years ago from Orange, Texas

      Interesting reviews. Living through the crisis made Untied 93 and World Trade Center hard to watch. That may be why I never watched FAHRENHEIT 9/11. I actually saw on the news Bush's reaction to the news - they played it over and over again, just like that did the fall of the Twin Towers.

      Good reviews, though and I voted this up.

    • CMCastro profile image
      Author

      Christina M. Castro 3 years ago from Baltimore,MD USA

      Thank you so much for responding Chitrangada Sharan. We can not close our eyes to the truth. I had to watch all of these films in succession to understand the truth. As we really don't understand why such violence takes place, We must always pay attention to it because our lives depend on having faith in God, so that we can protect ourselves and pray for those who concern us.

    • ChitrangadaSharan profile image

      Chitrangada Sharan 3 years ago from New Delhi, India

      Very well written hub!

      I believe documentaries are better to explain the sequence of events of this nature. I personally do not like too much dramatization of an already devastating attack.

      Wonderful hub! Voted up!

    • Eiddwen profile image

      Eiddwen 3 years ago from Wales

      Wonderful reviews Christina ;voted up and shared onto My Brand New Dawn.

      Enjoy your day and I hope all is well with you.

      Eddy

    Click to Rate This Article