ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Scorch Trials’ Film Abomination for Fans of Dasher Novel

Updated on September 24, 2015
Source

Intro

Lord of the Flies, No Country for Old Men, The Outsiders, Hunger Games, One Flew over the Cuckoo’s Nest, and A Clockwork Orange. These are all successful film adaptations which proved that a little hard work can result in an artistic masterpiece. As someone who enjoys movies slightly better than books in general, I think the orthodox mentality that books are ‘always better than movies’ is very outdated. That being said, Scorch Trials has failed to break the stereotypical mentality, and this blog is my rant of how much the movie disappointed me!

‘Why?’ is a strong question I’ve been repeating in my mind since I saw the film adaptation. It is a question I would love James Dashner to answer with the people involved in making this movie. Please understand that I am not particularly a negative person, instead focusing on the best in situations. Besides music, I have always considered film the second best choice of medium, many times preferring the artistic combination of language, images, and music in film compared to literature. However, throughout this film I could not help but squirm in my seat and think “no” the whole time.

The main reason I got into the Maze Runner was due to me thinking the first film was a complete masterpiece; I ran to my library afterward and read the rest of the books to know what happened. From there the book became one of my favorites of all time. I don’t understand why the filmmakers not only denied most of the unique plot in the novel, but also blatantly didn’t follow the same movie characteristics as the first film to achieve success.

I suppose for people who have no idea who James Dashner is, their questions were answered in this second film. My dad, who has been waiting the same time as me to see the second film and hasn’t read the books at all, was as extremely disappointed as I was (before I even listed all the things not in the book.) To speak positively, the film was action-filled and somewhat entertaining—I particularly liked the way they brought the scene with Marcus and the party to life in an interesting way. However, there are two thinks that irk me most in this film, which I have listed below.

1) Scariest/Best Scenes Cut

All the moments that scared the poo out of me while reading the novel aren’t in the movie. My favorite moment with the giant ball. The scene where Jorge falls from the tops of the ceiling onto Thomas and his group standing in darkness. The disgusting pod creatures. Last but not least, the terrifying Crank without a nose in the subway! The book makes Cranks a lot more human, causing everything to be more terrifying when they speak, opposed to the film’s effective but not disturbing demonic skeleton zombies. These are the interesting things that stood out as original in the novel, compared to other end-of-the-world stories.

2) No Character Development

While the first book and film featured lots of character growth, this movie hardly fits the bill, considering most of the words said during it were “let’s go!” and “are you okay?”. Everything feels quick and rushed, something I’m sure the filmmakers were under pressure for the time limit. At the same time, some places are really slow and we don’t see a continuation of the characters we have grown to love from the first movie. Minho, always the wisecracking clown, had the best one liners in the novel and not seeing that was a shame. Brenda was very sassy and bold, compared to the badass yet meek actress on screen.

It’s not just that they cut personalities, but I believe the decisions to cut lots of the plot stunted the character growth as well. This is mainly due to the fact that the filmmakers refused to make the characters continue their second “trial” that it is in the book. Many times our hero Thomas is torn between two things and has to weigh the two outcomes—Wicked being bad or good, the choice to keep in the controlling chip implant, Brenda or Teresa. I believe the actors did a great job considering what they were given, nonetheless, in the film decisions seem so fleeting and there isn’t drastic conflict.

Without these two major components, the Scorch Trials didn’t do a lot for me. It is just like other post-apocalyptic films, lots of action but lacking substance. Furthermore, it doesn’t quite stand up to the visually stunning and fairly paced Maze Runner, which unlike the second movie follows plot outstandingly.

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No comments yet.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)