ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Scrooge Film Review

Updated on October 28, 2019
Actor
Character
Alistair Sim
Ebenzer Scrooge
Mervyn Johns
Bob Cratchit
Hermoine Baddeley
Mrs Cratchit
Glyn Dearman
Tiny Tim
Michael J Dolan
Ghost of Christmas past
Francis De Wolff
Ghost of Christmas present
Czeslaw Kornaski
Ghost of Christmas yet to come

About the film

Released: 1951

Director: Brian Desmond Hurst

Producer: Brian Desmond Hurst

Running time: 1 hr 26 mins

Genre: Fantasy, Drama

Distributed by: Renown Pictures (UK), United Artists (USA)


The film

Scrooge is based on the classic novel, A Christmas Carol, written by Charles Dickens. The film is set in 1843, and Ebenezer Scrooge says he has no intention of celebrating Christmas. He doesn't like Christmas very much and think it's humbug. Scrooge certainly lives up to his name. For instance, he won't be lenient on someone who owes him money. And he won't give any money to these 2 men who are collecting funds for the workhouse. Bob Cratchit is Scrooge's loyal clerk, even though he is such a mean employer. After asking Scrooge if he can have time off over Christmas to spend with his family, he begrudgingly lets him have Christmas off.

Ebenezer Scrooge is dining out on Christmas Eve. When he returns home this is when he first encounters a ghost. He gets a visit from Jacob Marley, who is his dead partner. Marley has been dead for 7 years. He forewarns Scrooge about his miserly ways and informs him that he will be visited by 3 ghosts. These ghosts are:-

  • The ghost of Christmas past
  • The ghost of Christmas present
  • The ghost of Christmas yet to come.

Throughout the film we see how these 3 ghosts visit Scrooge in different forms, and teaches him a very hard lesson. They show him, in one way and another, how mean he has been and how it has been affecting the people around him. It isn't until he has been shown how his mean ways that he realises what he's been like and decides to take action. Each of these ghosts will show Scrooge different scenes from his life and of things going on in the lives of people he knows. Seeing all this makes Scrooge take stock and realises what he is like as a person.

My thoughts

Over the years, there have been many adaptations of this lovely story. Even if people have never seen a version of this film or read the book, I'm sure everyone worldwide has heard of this story. A Christmas Carol, or Scrooge as is this film named, is a classic and there's not a Christmas goes by where it's not on television somewhere around the world. Alistair Sim who plays Ebenezer Scrooge plays an excellent part as the miserly old man. The visits from the 3 ghosts I find fascinating. Considering this was made in 1951, the ghost effects come across really well on the screen. I like how well they made these men look like ghosts.

Mervyn Johns who plays Bob Cratchit plays an excellent part. You can see that both him and Alistair Sim have a good working relationship throughout this film. Shot in black and white, I think this adds to the eerie feeling Scrooge must of felt when the ghosts appear in front of him.

The story itself is beautifully told. It is interesting to see how the character of Ebenezer Scrooge changes throughout the course of the film. At the beginning we see how is this mean and grouchy old man. But by the end of the film he is a completely different man. And of course you've got the character of Tiny Tim, played by Glyn Dearman. I think he plays a really good part. I think the supporting cast in this film were excellent and the acting was 100%.

I can't say I've seen every version of Scrooge/A Christmas Carol ever made, but from the adaptations I have seen, this one is definitely on the top of the list. It is a wonderfully directed film by Brian Desmond Hurst. The whole film is just so brilliant, it's one I could watch over again. Alistair Sim proves he is an excellent actor and tells the story really well.

© 2019 Louise Powles

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment
    • ChitrangadaSharan profile image

      Chitrangada Sharan 

      6 months ago from New Delhi, India

      Nice review of an old classic film. Classic films have that nostalgia about them.

      Thanks for sharing.

    • Tim Truzy info4u profile image

      Tim Truzy 

      6 months ago from U.S.A.

      Definitely one of my favorite movies about this classic tale, Louise. Your review is fabulous. As a side note, in the 8th grade, I played the part of Tiny Tim in a school production of this story. What a joy this tale brings to my heart. Thank you.

    • AliciaC profile image

      Linda Crampton 

      6 months ago from British Columbia, Canada

      I love this movie and watch it every Christmas. Even though it's an old film, I think it has many good points. I always enjoy watching Alastair Sim act. Thanks for reminding me of Christmas, Louise.

    • shprd74 profile image

      Hari Prasad S 

      7 months ago from Bangalore

      Thanks for the great review. Will watch it. :-)

    • Genna East profile image

      Genna East 

      7 months ago from Massachusetts, USA

      One of my favorite films of all time...I think the version with Alastair Sim is the absolute best. "Can you forgive a pig-headed old fool for having no eyes to see with, no ears to hear with, all these years?"

      What a interesting and timely article for the upcoming holiday. Thank you.

    • Ben Reed profile image

      Ben Reed 

      7 months ago from Redcar

      Scrooge is my all time favourite movie. I absolutely love this version and now that the Christmas season is approaching once more, it gives me the perfect excuse to view it again.

    • Cheryl E Preston profile image

      Cheryl E Preston 

      7 months ago from Roanoke

      This is one of my favorite versions of the holiday story.

    • FlourishAnyway profile image

      FlourishAnyway 

      7 months ago from USA

      I’ve never seen this original one but enjoyed your review. Christmas is sooner than we think and we’ll all be watching movies like this.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://maven.io/company/pages/privacy

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)
    ClickscoThis is a data management platform studying reader behavior (Privacy Policy)