ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Stan and Ollie (2018) Movie Review

Updated on January 14, 2019
ethel smith profile image

Eileen enjoys a variety of movies and likes to share reviews of those that impress her. She also loves British television comedy series.

Source

About This Movie

It is 1937 and Laurel and Hardy are big name stars in the U.S.A. and across the world. It is Hollywood in its heyday but Stan Laurel thinks they are being underpaid and undervalued.

The comedy duo want a better deal from their studio boss Hal Roach; a financial deal that is on a par with other comedy stars of the day such as Charlie Chaplin and Buster Keaton.

Stan Laurel’s studio contract has ended and he thinks the time is right to push for more money but Oliver Hardy is still under contract and not prepared to break that deal.

Ollie has an eye for the ladies and likes to gamble on the horses. Stan is in a similar position with the ladies but his other financial drain is the bottle.

Laurel and Hardy briefly go their separate ways and that leaves unsettled business between the two men.That hurt resurfaces later but ultimately leads to new beginning to their friendship.

Fast forward to 1953 and Stan and Ollie are about to undergo a grueling tour of the U.K. while shooting a new movie along the way.

They need money but are now unfashionable performers. The tour kicks off at provincial theatres with poor audience numbers but that will change.

The tour climaxes with Stan and Ollie’s final stage performance as an act and they go out with a bang.

The journey the movie follows has laughter and tears, sadness and more.

This is a gentle, warm and poignant movie with Steve Coogan cast as Stan Laurel and John C Reilly as Oliver Hardy and playing the characters to perfection.

Occasionally this writer could hear Steve Coogan’s voice come through but not enough to spoil the performance; Coogan is a well known established British comedian and actor which may be one reason for that familiarity.

Overall, however, Coogan and Reilly ARE Laurel and Hardy with well crafted mannerisms, movements and personae that fits to a T.

Great way to spend a wintery afternoon
Great way to spend a wintery afternoon

Who Were Stan and Ollie?

Stan Laurel was a British man. Aged 22, in 1912, Stan Laurel visited the U.S.A. to tour with a troupe but he never returned home. His career on the stage continue. American Oliver Hardy was also getting some stage success and the pair eventually teamed up as Laurel and Hardy in the 1920s.

Ollie was rotund, Stan skinny. That physical combination proved comical to audiences but it was their sharp wit, often hidden inside slapstick comedy, that took them to another level.

Laurel and Hardy were truly The Kings of Comedy.

Oliver Hardy died August 7, 1957, and Stan Laurel died February 23, 1965.

Stan Laurel never worked again after Oliver Hardy died but he did continue to create new scripts for Laurel and Hardy.

Theirs was more than a business partnership. It was in many ways true love.

Main Cast and Characters

John C. Reilly ... Oliver Hardy

Steve Coogan ... Stan Laurel

Shirley Henderson ... Lucille Hardy

Nina Arianda ... Ida Kitaeva Laurel

Danny Huston ... Hal Roach

Rufus Jones ... Bernard Delfont

Richard Cant ... Harry Langdon

Production

Directed by .......Jon S. Baird

Writing Credits ......Jeff Pope

Produced by

Kate Fasulo ... executive producer

Christine Langan ... executive producer

Xavier Marchand ... executive producer

Joe Oppenheimer ... executive producer

Eugenio Pérez ... executive producer

Jim Spencer ... co-producer

Gabrielle Tana ... executive producer

Faye Ward ... producer

This is a British movie filmed at various locations and studios

It was made by B.B.C. films

Recommended Viewing

This movie has a gentle pace but has high and low points. It reduced me to actual tears more than once. It also gave me many laughs though not roll on the floor laughter.

The two men and their wives at the time are great characters acted to perfection.

Entertainment impresario Bernard Delfont, if the portrayal in this movie is accurate, was a slime-ball who ripped Stan and Ollie off during this tour.

But in the end their hard work paid off and their swansong was to rapturous applause.

First Class

5 stars for Stan and Ollie

Stan and Ollie official trailer

New To Laurel and Hardy?

It seems unbelievable to me that Laurel and Hardy are unknowns to modern generations. Their legacy lives on and their humor transcends the years that have passed.

Laurel and Hardy movies are widely available on DVD, some streaming services and occasionally aired on mainstream television.

Check out Laurel and Hardy at Amazon. There is a wide selection of movies and literature which will introduce you to their classic style of comedy.

The movie Stan and Ollie includes some of their most famous and quintessential comedy moments but you sit back in your own home and watch the real Laurel and Hardy at work.


© 2019 Ethel Smith

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment
    • Peggy W profile image

      Peggy Woods 

      5 weeks ago from Houston, Texas

      I'll keep an eye out for it if it comes this direction. Thanks!

    • ethel smith profile imageAUTHOR

      Ethel Smith 

      5 weeks ago from Kingston-Upon-Hull

      Thanks Peggy. This movie is on release in UK right now. I would say catch it where you are when you can. Well worth a watch

    • Peggy W profile image

      Peggy Woods 

      5 weeks ago from Houston, Texas

      I did not see this movie that you reviewed but well remember the old black and white television skits with Laurel and Hardy. They were comedic in a slapstick way that transcends time. Thanks for resurrecting those memories of mine. This sounds like it would be an interesting movie to see.

    • ethel smith profile imageAUTHOR

      Ethel Smith 

      5 weeks ago from Kingston-Upon-Hull

      Thanks Nick. As you can tell I thoroughly enjoyed this movie and would watch it again

    • Nick Bishop profile image

      Nick Bishop 

      5 weeks ago from Blackpool

      Great review delivered in a caring and respectful manner. I'm 52 so I have fond memories of the duo being shown on television.

      They were unique as comedy duos went perhaps, certainly, Abbot and Costello couldn't touch them. Laurel was English, so it is fair today perhaps to say British comedy duos, Morecomb and Wise, The Two Ronnies are also loved by British audiences even today.

      Laurel and Hardy are a comedy duo often copied, however, never equalled.

      To todays generation perhaps the black and white footage and the gags might seen archaic. However, slapstick transcends all generations, so the young should let the magic of Laurel and Hardy into their lives.

      When comedy today is full of smut and politics, this movie takes us back to more innocent times perhaps.

    • ethel smith profile imageAUTHOR

      Ethel Smith 

      5 weeks ago from Kingston-Upon-Hull

      Liz it is a thoroughly enjoyable movie. I think you will enjoy it.

    • Eurofile profile image

      Liz Westwood 

      5 weeks ago from UK

      This film only recently came on our radar, but it is now on our list. As a child I remember the black and white Laurel and Hardy repeats on TV. Like you say, it is quite shocking that the younger generation are unaware of them. Hopefully this film will put the record straight.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)