ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

"Stay With Me Baby" Jana Mashonee, A Review

Updated on December 18, 2011

Jana Mashonee has released a new single, "Stay With Me Baby". The song, written by Jerry Ragovoy and originally recorded by Lorraine Ellison in 1966, has been covered by several talented singers.

Jana has put her own unique spin on it while staying true to the emotional original. Trust me, she has the pipes for it! The vocals are super, the instrumentals and arrangement perfect.

Some music is meant to be listened to with the volume down, a nice glass of wine and a slow burning fire. This is not one of those songs.

Grab yourself a cold brewsky (light if you just have to), crank your stereo up and start a roaring fire in the pit in your backyard. Invite the neighbors over, stop cars going down your street and invite total strangers. They'll all thank you when they hear this song!

A few Saturdays ago I saw Roy Clark in concert here in Lancaster, SC. If you don't know who he is you are probably either from north of the Mason-Dixon line or very young. Mr. Clark is one of the great guitar players of our time who became nationally famous on that staple of Southern TV fare, Hee Haw.

What the heck does Roy Clark have to do with Jana Mashonee who was not even born until Hee Haw was off the air and in syndication?

Glad you asked!

At the concert Roy spoke of being lucky enough to find his signature song early in his career.Think about "Blue Christmas", "The Way We Were", or "Folsom Prison Blues". Even though many artists have recorded these songs, I bet there is one singer that came to mind when you read the titles.

Might this be Jana's signature song? Might this be the one that rockets her to super stardom? I wouldn't be a bit surprised. It's that darn good.

Some singers simply sing. Jana PERFORMS and she performs this song as she does all her music: from a personal place. In this case it's a place of pain, betrayal and need. We've all been there. If you've ever loved and lost, if you've ever had your dreams crushed, if you've ever experienced an emotion so overpowering that it was almost deadly, you've been there. When Jana hits that note, you know the one I'm talking about, it is obvious that Jana has been there as well.

STAY?

We'd be fools not to.

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • bappyhalder profile image

      bappyhalder 

      6 years ago

      Thanks for posting.....,

    • resspenser profile imageAUTHOR

      Ronnie Sowell 

      6 years ago from South Carolina

      Thanks, Lady E!

    • Lady_E profile image

      Elena 

      6 years ago from London, UK

      Lovely review - Lovely Photo. :)

    • resspenser profile imageAUTHOR

      Ronnie Sowell 

      6 years ago from South Carolina

      Merry Christmas, Bob! Hope lots of folks read this one, thanks for sharing it!

    • profile image

      bob Cornish 

      6 years ago

      I posted the photo and link to this page on my profile I'm sure lots of people will follow that lik :-) & I thought I had all the photos of Jana Hmmmmm someone's holding out on me LOL I bet that was taken when they filmed The Enlightened Times Video

      I'm always looking for new stuff on Jana never can get enough :-)thanks again I gotta go get a picture frame now :-)

    • resspenser profile imageAUTHOR

      Ronnie Sowell 

      6 years ago from South Carolina

      tirelesstraveler,

      Glad you like Jana's sound. Check out her Facebook page to discover more of her in depth persona. I think you'll be impressed.

      Bob,

      That is an awesome picture, isn't it? Thanks for dropping by and please share the review with everyone.

    • profile image

      Bob Cornish 

      6 years ago

      P.S. we're no fool :-) *******Always & Forever *******

    • profile image

      Bob Cornish 

      6 years ago

      agree totally & thanks for the new picture always glad to find new ones :-)

    • tirelesstraveler profile image

      Judy Specht 

      6 years ago from California

      Nice review. Have never heard of Janna before, but I like her sound. I have heard of Roy Clark who is amazing. Phil Keaggy is another amazing guitar player of supreme talent.

    • resspenser profile imageAUTHOR

      Ronnie Sowell 

      6 years ago from South Carolina

      Thanks for reading dahoglund, Merry Christmas!

    • dahoglund profile image

      Don A. Hoglund 

      6 years ago from Wisconsin Rapids

      Songs I think should be performed.Such singer as Emmy Lou Harris,Johnnie Cash and Burl Ives were all performers when they did a song.

    • resspenser profile imageAUTHOR

      Ronnie Sowell 

      6 years ago from South Carolina

      Thanks, Ralph. Merry Christmas!

    • profile image

      Ralph Thomas 

      6 years ago

      nice review--shared.

    • resspenser profile imageAUTHOR

      Ronnie Sowell 

      6 years ago from South Carolina

      Will,

      I got Mark to a seat and took his wheelchair out to park it near the elevator. Roy walked up and I said "How are you Mr. Clark?' He grinned and said "I'm not as quick as I used to be." But the twinkle was still in his eye and the sense of humor was evident.

    • resspenser profile imageAUTHOR

      Ronnie Sowell 

      6 years ago from South Carolina

      stars439,

      You got the talented star part right, for sure! Thanks for reading and the kind comment.

    • WillStarr profile image

      WillStarr 

      6 years ago from Phoenix, Arizona

      Hi, Ronnie,

      I saw him on November 26, 1960, when he was playing backup guitar and banjo for Wanda Jackson. While she and the rest of the band took a break, he entertained us with his brilliant guitar and banjo talents and some of his goofy comedy stuff. He was an unknown at the time, but I never forgot him.

      That was in the small town where I grew up. It had less than 200 residents, but it also had a major ballroom, so the very big country talent in that day performed there on Saturday nights!

      Oh, and my dad was the mayor! ^_^

    • stars439 profile image

      stars439 

      6 years ago from Louisiana, The Magnolia and Pelican State.

      Talented star. Excellent hub. GBY.

    • resspenser profile imageAUTHOR

      Ronnie Sowell 

      6 years ago from South Carolina

      WillStar, thanks for the link. Believe it or not the single is even better!!

      Roy preformed here three days after hip surgery and he can still smoke a guitar and a fiddle! I think he's 80 something!

    • WillStarr profile image

      WillStarr 

      6 years ago from Phoenix, Arizona

      Here, Ronnie:

      http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P4T3Cyw2yBc

      BTW, we have something in common...we've both seen Roy Clark in concert. I saw him many years ago.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)