ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Terra Nova (FOX) - Series Premiere: Synopsis and Review

Updated on April 3, 2013
Source

The new sci-fi drama series ‘Terra Nova’, produced by Steven Spielberg, premiered with a two hour special on Monday, September 26th on FOX. In the year 2149, planet Earth is polluted and overpopulated, the human race will go extinct if no action is undertaken. ‘Terra Nova’ is about the Shannon family that is, among others, sent back 85 million years in time to start a new life. The travelers are sent to a world with fresh air, living trees and actual daylight, but what they don’t know is that they enter the territory of beasts superior to them.

In 2149 people are not allowed to have more then two kids, “a family is four” is the motto against overpopulation. The Shannon family is a family of five, but they managed to keep their youngest daughter a secret, until a surprise inspection. Jim Shannon (Jason O’Mara), the father, is sentenced to six years in prison. Two years later his wife Elisabeth (Shelley Conn) is selected to go to Terra Nova, but she can only bring her two oldest kids Josh (Landon Liboiron) and Maddy (Naomi Scott). Jim then decides to escape prison, hide their youngest kid Zoe (Alana Mansour) in his backpack, and find a way through the portal that transports them to what they call Terra Nova. In the end, they all arrive on Terra Nova. Now, there is no way back.
When the family is getting acquainted with their new surroundings a few mysteries present themselves. They discover that a group of people, who were sent to Terra Nova before the Shannon family, parted from the larger colony and established their own colony not far away. Why they didn’t wanted to be part of the large colony is unknown, just like it is unknown who made the rock paintings that Josh’s new friends discovered, and why. The most important question, however, arises at the very end of the episode; what is the real reason of the existence of Terra Nova?

The foundation of ‘Terra Nova’ is, of course, the idea that time traveling is possible. If you have trouble accepting this you should not even bother watching the show. Otherwise, there won’t be many other hurdles to overcome. It is needless to say that 85 million years back in time there will be dinosaurs. If you liked ‘Lost’ or ‘Jurassic Park’ you will probably like ‘Terra Nova’, which resembles these other shows in some ways. For example, ‘Lost’ presented a lot of questions, more than it answered, and it seems like ‘Terra Nova’ will be doing the same thing. Large mysteries are presented, which will clearly play a huge part in the development of the storyline. In short, if you are into sci-fi and action series, this might just be your next favorite series.
The first season of ‘Terra Nova’ consists of 13 episodes, and the average budget for an episode is $4 million. Because of these huge costs, the show will have to draw a huge audience to be profitable. If it is not that much of a success, it is likely that FOX will cancel the show after the first season. Therefore, both for the producers and for us viewers, it is now or never.

What did you think about 'Terra Nova'?

See results

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Robin Oatley profile imageAUTHOR

      Robin Oatley 

      6 years ago

      Hi Mary, I've been thinking and I've searched on the web if I could find anything that matched your description. However unfortunately I didn't succeed. If you have more information let me know, then I'll might be able to find something.

    • Robin Oatley profile imageAUTHOR

      Robin Oatley 

      6 years ago

      I'm not sure I know which show you mean, but I will see if I can find the show. Do you have anymore information about it?

    • profile image

      mary 

      6 years ago

      help this show reminds me of one last year where people lived in a stockade and there were a breakaway group who lived outside. there were no dinosaurs though, the danger was from stars falling or something similar.What was it called?

    • Robin Oatley profile imageAUTHOR

      Robin Oatley 

      6 years ago

      I am really curious why the sixers decided to separated from the original colony. It probably has something to do with the big picture; Why they decided to send people among dinosaurs in the first place.

      I agree that mankind would have little chance surviving among dinosaurs in real life. Fighting them is a lost cause, so we would have to hide, but I don't see that happening. But apart from that I really like the show.

    • melpor profile image

      Melvin Porter 

      6 years ago from New Jersey, USA

      Robin, you pretty much covered all the corners about this show in your review. I thought the show was pretty good. I agree with you on the questions? Why did the sixers separated from the colony to establish another one? Also it is obvious they couldn't control the trip back in time. Why would you try to restart mankind among dinosaurs? Mankind would not have survived that long if this had really happen even if they had modern weapons. Anyway this is a good review. Thanks.

    • YadiraE profile image

      YadiraE 

      6 years ago from Puerto Rico

      I'll link too!

    • Robin Oatley profile imageAUTHOR

      Robin Oatley 

      6 years ago

      Great you liked the show YadiraE!

      And thanks Iggy for the link!

    • Iggy Falcone profile image

      Iggy Falcone 

      6 years ago from Zagreb, Croatia

      Great review! I'll be sure to link to it on my "Fall TV 2011" hub!

    • YadiraE profile image

      YadiraE 

      6 years ago from Puerto Rico

      I watched the premier last night, and I loved it!!! Sooo much!!! I can't wait to find out what's going to happen!!!!

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)