ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

The Avengers - A Review

Updated on May 11, 2012

How much did you enjoy The Avengers?

4 out of 5 stars from 4 ratings of The Avengers
Source

MARVELous - is how I would describe the newest movie directed by Joss Whedon: The Avengers!

I am the youngest of three siblings, the older two being brothers. I was educated to a large degree by my brothers’ love of music, movies, toys and comics. I guess I could have been called something of a tomboy, but maybe in every female lives the heart of a Superhero!

When I was a little girl and snuck my brothers’ comics to read, I was always VERY impressed by the efforts of Superheroes who could save the day. It always boiled down to a fight between Good and Evil and, needless to say, I always rooted for Good. I didn’t really think about the fact that most of the heroes were male, until heroines were included in the picture. I must admit, at that time, I did find Superman far more interesting than Superwoman. I would attach a towel to my shoulders with big safety pins and swoop around the back garden, down the hill and around the house being Superman! I even climbed up trees and got onto the roof of our house! I would SO have loved the costumes they make for kids today. I made sure that my son had enough of those and he enjoyed them to his heart's content!

Marvel's Superheroes on Steroids

I was not familiar with all of Marvel’s Superheroes, but my son will attest to the fact that Spiderman, Incredible Hulk, Thor, and D.C. Comics’ Superman and Batman, are all alive and well in the imaginations of little boys and girls everywhere (and maybe not-so-little boys and girls!) I have photos to prove it. Everyone loves a hero, and I am no exception. I went to see “Thor” and “Captain America” and thoroughly enjoyed both offerings.

The Avengers are Superheroes on Steroids! The fact that the movie shattered records by earning a stupendous $207.4 million in the opening weekend leaves one without any doubt. The last time I left a movie feeling totally energized, ramped up and raring to go, was most likely when I saw “The Ghostbusters,” “Star Wars,” “Flash Dance” and “Dirty Dancing.” As you can tell by the era of each movie, I was a lot younger then. The same heart beats within my chest, however, and as you may or may not know, dear Reader, as we live our lives through the years, though our exteriors may fade somewhat, we do not age on the inside! As a matter of fact, all the individuals in our party (roughly the same age), were immersed in the movie and were all enthusiastic upon emerging from the movie with its rousing score developed with the London Symphony Orchestra.


Official Trailer

ACTION!

This movie is an adrenaline-pumping, electrifying and exciting marriage of Superheroes, Technology, Choreography and fantastic Cinematography, all of which serve to highlight gorgeous and talented actors. Ever since I saw Robert Downey Jr. in “Chaplin,” I have been a fan of his artistry. I love his Ironman and the humor with which he delivers his lines, not to mention his ever-so-cool turbo-charged flying suit. (Ever since I was a kid, I wanted to be able to fly everywhere and even had flying dreams!) Chris Evans, the old-fashioned Captain America, has eyes one could swim in, and is wonderful to watch, including his rear! I thoroughly enjoyed Mark Ruffalo’s conflicted Dr. Banner who dares not lose control for fear of unleashing a HULK of gigantic proportions, which reminded me of a pumped-up, seeing-red, giant green Rottweiler. I loved the scene where he is given an instruction that he follows with abandon: “SMASH!” I also laughed uncontrollably when he was unleashed on a perfectly-played vile Loki, by actor Tom Hiddleston, whose beguiling face and compelling eyes belie his vengeful and hate-filled character. He reminds me of one of the sable antelope which grace the entrance to the Palace of the Lost City in South Africa, when he wears his full costume.

Loki-Look-Alike-Horns of Sable Antelope

Sable Antelope grace the entrance to the Hotel of the Palace of the Lost City - Sun City - South Africa
Sable Antelope grace the entrance to the Hotel of the Palace of the Lost City - Sun City - South Africa | Source

Superheroes are also Women!

Amongst all this heart-pounding testosterone, Scarlett Johanssen’s Black Widow is smooth and sexy but no pushover. Her character is a new addition for me and she does her role justice. Apart from the multiple roles women play in life (particularly being a single parent - a role I became intensely familiar with) such as Mother, Father, Nurse, Teacher, Cook, Housekeeper, Taxi, Peacekeeper, Social Secretary to name but a few - it is good to see a woman as an actual Superhero! The Black Widow is no ordinary ex-Russian spy. Not only does she physically put men in their place (so to speak), but she psyches them out and then applies balm to the wound (when they are deserving). She displays great skill in one so lithe, athletic and beautiful - (or perhaps her body double does)?

Chris Hemsworth’s Thor is mighty and imposing indeed, and what a Hammer. I definitely look forward to seeing more of him! Jeremy Renner plays a delectable and lofty Hawkeye (and as my Readers already know – I have an interest in and affinity for birds!) Throw in a handful of good-looking and intelligent agents and bunches of ugly and evil aliens bent on taking over our world and the end result was entertaining, exciting and uplifted by a lovely sense of humor which accompanied the action, and enough eye-candy to satisfy the hearts of both women and men! Yes, we will always appreciate a heart-throb!

Will Good triumph?

All of our yummy heroes are brought together to fight a common enemy and they are loosely held together by a tall and imposing Nick Fury – who would not recognize the magnetism of Samuel L. Jackson? Aboard a vehicle I would most certainly love to have – one which holds many surprises and revelations of futuristic technology, we accompany S.H.I.E.L.D. and witness the movie’s non-stop narrative of extreme action and exciting scenarios as our heroes band together to defeat Evil and we are taken along for the ride. If you have read comic books, or seen other movies with a similar theme, you'll pretty much know the plot. 'Nuff said.... as we all know, united we stand, divided we fall. Which will it be?

As you may well have noticed, dear Reader, mine is not the type of critique which movie schools teach their students, but you may always find in my reviews, a personal reaction and one which reaches into my experiences as a human being. I hope you find these entertaining and enjoyable to read and would love to hear from you about how a movie impacts itself on you. Don't forget to rate it when you've seen it :) Thanks for reading and please visit again soon.

New Avengers Poster

The new Avengers Poster
The new Avengers Poster | Source

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Suelynn profile image
      Author

      Suelynn 4 years ago from Manitoba, Canada

      Hi Ryanjhoe: It was lovely to read your comment and thank you for leaving one. I agree with your feelings about the movie. Quite some time has elapsed since I saw it, and much life has flowed in between, but it still stands out clearly in my memory. :)

    • ryanjhoe profile image

      ryanjhoe 4 years ago from Somewhere over the rainbow

      I really love this movie, somewhat hilarious, fun and entertaining. Suitable for all ages to watch and the storyline pretty impressive. Love your review and thanks for sharing your thoughts. :)

    • Suelynn profile image
      Author

      Suelynn 5 years ago from Manitoba, Canada

      Seabright, thank you for saying. :) I didn't know they would follow up with a trilogy... what fun!

    • seabright7 profile image

      seabright7 5 years ago from Seattle Area

      I have to agree with the consensus. As you would say, "What a MARVELous movie!" If anyone could do it, Joss Whedon could! Can't wait for the next one. From what I heard it's supposed to be a trilogy.

    • Suelynn profile image
      Author

      Suelynn 5 years ago from Manitoba, Canada

      Tillstontitan, thank you so much for your wonderful comments, I appreciate them very much. I hope you and your daughter and granddaughter enjoy the movie and would love to hear your thoughts when you have. :)

      I greatly appreciate the votes and the shares.

      Sinea Pies, lovely to hear your enthusiasm and grateful for your comments and votes. :) Thank you.

      Wewillmake, thanks so much for saying. Appreciate the vote very much. :)

    • wewillmake profile image

      wewillmake 5 years ago from kerala-INDIA

      Nice review ... Voted up...

    • Sinea Pies profile image

      Sinea Pies 5 years ago from Northeastern United States

      I absolutely LOVED the Avengers! So much fun. Don't go twice to see a movie in the theater very often but I definitely would go to see this one again. Great review. Voted up and awesome.

    • tillsontitan profile image

      Mary Craig 5 years ago from New York

      I'm going Thursday with my daughter and granddaughter and after reading this review now I really can't wait! I love your review and the way it's written. "The same hearts beats within my chest" I feel that line. I was (and am) a comic book junkie. I think that's why I like the Big Bang Theory so much! I really loved your review and the way you wrote. Voted up, useful, interesting and SHARED because it's such a great review.

    • Suelynn profile image
      Author

      Suelynn 5 years ago from Manitoba, Canada

      Sunshine, Rahul....I couldn't agree more! :)))))

      Hulk stole the day. Did Y'all vote?

    • rahul0324 profile image

      Jessee R 5 years ago from Gurgaon, India

      I loved the Hulk...... seen it thrice... still craving for one more watch,,,,

    • Sunshine625 profile image

      Linda Bilyeu 5 years ago from Orlando, FL

      I saw The Avengers yesterday and it was AWESOME! The theater was sold out and the laughter was contagious throughout the film. HULK SMASH!:)

    • Suelynn profile image
      Author

      Suelynn 5 years ago from Manitoba, Canada

      Ruchira, thank you so much for your kind comment - it's so greatly appreciated! Isn't that a perfect movie for an 8-year-old? :) So glad he loved it!

      KDuBarry, I agree some of the action was lengthy and I agree with the rest of your comments. Good points. :)

    • profile image

      KDuBarry03 5 years ago

      @Ruchira: some of the action did go on a little too much than was needed. Overall though, the characterization, the plot, and the detail of animation in the movie was well done :) maybe, for the next movie of the Avengers, the action can be taken down just a tad bit

    • Ruchira profile image

      Ruchira 5 years ago from United States

      my 8 year old kid loved it. Although, I felt it had lots of action, which was unnecessary...lol

      thanks for a wonderful review. you sure did a good job in writing it, Suelynn.

    • Suelynn profile image
      Author

      Suelynn 5 years ago from Manitoba, Canada

      KDuBarry, I must admit I didn't even know about the Wasp and Ant-man! My mind boggles! Thank you for visiting my hub and I so appreciate your comments and votes too. :)

    • profile image

      KDuBarry03 5 years ago

      I was very disappointed that the Wasp and Ant-man were not in the movie since they are also part of the founders of the original Avengers! Oh well...I have to say though, the movie was beautifully done with a great story and great graphics. THank you for sharing this hub! Voted up.

    • Suelynn profile image
      Author

      Suelynn 5 years ago from Manitoba, Canada

      Pamela99, thank you for your comment. Glad your son loved it and hope you love it too. It is quite long and non-stop action, so be prepared for a whammo of a movie. :)

    • Pamela99 profile image

      Pamela Oglesby 5 years ago from United States

      My son saw the movie Saturday and raved about it also. Great review and I hope to see it soon.

    • Suelynn profile image
      Author

      Suelynn 5 years ago from Manitoba, Canada

      LOL, Nell - that's too bad! Amazing how they appreciate in value after time! :)

    • Nell Rose profile image

      Nell Rose 5 years ago from England

      Sorry it took me so long to come back, no I don't think so, it was back in the late 70s so we didn't realise the value of them then! shame! lol!

    • Suelynn profile image
      Author

      Suelynn 5 years ago from Manitoba, Canada

      Rahul... you were right! You're a love and thanks for saying! :))

    • rahul0324 profile image

      Jessee R 5 years ago from Gurgaon, India

      I told ya You will love it...

      Great review... of the movie..

    • Suelynn profile image
      Author

      Suelynn 5 years ago from Manitoba, Canada

      Eric Calderwood, you're in for a treat! I was thinking, while watching, that this is definitely one of those movies that begs to be seen on the big screen! Of course, in addition, one can now choose 3D or Imax as well. I'm still not sure how I feel about those. Enjoy the movie and don't forget to come back and vote! Thanks for stopping by. :)

    • Eric Calderwood profile image

      Eric Calderwood 5 years ago from USA

      I still haven't seen it yet, but can't wait to. I don't usually go to the theatre anymore, but wait for movies to come out on DVD. But this movie looks like a good candidate to make an exception to that rule. There is a whole lot of talented actors together for this movie. I can't wait to see them interact, as well as see the plot unfold and watch the special effects!

    • Suelynn profile image
      Author

      Suelynn 5 years ago from Manitoba, Canada

      LOL, Nell... I'm with you on that hammer thing! :) Thanks for the kind words and the votes and sharing. Much appreciated. You will absolutely enjoy this movie and that's fantastic about the comics... did you make a good profit?

    • Nell Rose profile image

      Nell Rose 5 years ago from England

      I haven't seen it yet, but can't wait to go and watch it. I grew up probably from the teething stage on DC Comics and Marvel! Me and my brother had a stack of those comics in fact we sold them in the end when we got older, and there must have been about 5 hundred of the things! Now lets get down to basics, Thor please let me hold your hammer! of course purely for scientific purposes! lol! great review, and can't wait to see it, voted up and shared! nell

    • Suelynn profile image
      Author

      Suelynn 5 years ago from Manitoba, Canada

      Lovely, Margaret! ENJOY and don't forget to come back and rate it.... :)

    • Margaret Scarboro profile image

      Margaret Scarboro 5 years ago

      I can't wait to see this movie!

    • Suelynn profile image
      Author

      Suelynn 5 years ago from Manitoba, Canada

      CarltheCritic: Thank you for the lovely comments and gracious response! I see what you mean and perhaps I need to go back and review Women as Superheroes. :) I appreciate you taking the time to make the point. I wish you the very best of luck in the film industry and have no doubt that you WILL make it big one day. You have a great attitude. I'm happy you came by again and we shall be seeing each other (I will pop in to your reviews again too!)

      Stevennix2001: I'm glad you found my take interesting. Good to meet you. Please drop in again soon. :)

    • Stevennix2001 profile image

      Steven Escareno 5 years ago

      very interesting analysis.

    • CarltheCritic1291 profile image

      Carl 5 years ago

      Well kinda... I just thought that the topic of that section was going to focus more on the female characters of the movie, or that Black Widow was your favorite character, or something along those lines. It's not that I don't understand the POV of your article, from the beginning I knew this was a first person recollection of the film, and that's perfectly fine, it really didn't make sense to have a section called "Superheroes are also Women!" and only barely mention the women.

      This is why I am here to, encourage a great discussion with writers and readers alike and to better understand.

      I too noticed we used similar posters and trailers (actually almost all of the "Avengers" reviews on Hubpages seem to use the same Poster, I guess there was a law passed that everyone needed to use the same poster or else they get arrested by the Hubpages police). Anyway, I noticed that too, and I thought nothing of it because Great Minds think alike :) Personal reviews are great to write because you are being honest and not telling the reader how to feel about the movie, but more on how you felt. I try doing that mixed with my movie knowledge (I'm in the film industry hoping to make it big some day) to expand on how I felt.

      So in conclusion, if you write more movie reviews (and other work) as well as this, you can be sure that I will always come and visit from time to time :)

      Again, glad I read your review, hope you read more of mine, and I'm happy I came :)

    • Suelynn profile image
      Author

      Suelynn 5 years ago from Manitoba, Canada

      Hi CarltheCritic1291: Thank you for your insights and valuable feedback. I see where you may be confused and your points are valid. I do, however, talk about a movie from my own point of view - not being specifically trained to be a critic - but how a movie makes sense to me. I am looking at it from the point of view of a female and one from a different generation. When I grew up, girls had a more specific role and the liberation of women that began in America, made its way to distant shores in a more diluted sense and a lot later. Perhaps that may change your understanding a little? Thank you for the positive response and I appreciate the votes!

      I also wanted to say that I did not look at any other reviews about the movie before I wrote mine, except for Rahul's, and I noticed that I used the same trailer and poster as you did, but not by design. :) I also feel that there is plenty room for critics to review something in their own style and as I said, mine is purely personal. :) I hope you visit again soon.

    • CarltheCritic1291 profile image

      Carl 5 years ago

      Hmmm... It sounds to me as though you enjoy this movie :)

      This is well written, but I was confused about the section that said "Superheroes are also Women!". Not the fact that Superheroes are also Women!, that I understand, but instead of going into detail about the topic, you talk about three of the super heroes, and one of the film's plot points. This section didn't really make sense to me, maybe if it had a different title than "Superheroes are also Women!", but that's jut me living up to my name as a critic.

      Other than that, this is still a great hub, and am glad that we both agree with each other for the most part, and keep up the excellent work :) Voted Up, Awesome, and Interesting

    • Suelynn profile image
      Author

      Suelynn 5 years ago from Manitoba, Canada

      Where are you off to, Clairemy?

    • clairemy profile image

      Claire 5 years ago

      I just hope I can see it in English...not the language of the country I am off to;))

    • Suelynn profile image
      Author

      Suelynn 5 years ago from Manitoba, Canada

      Woohoooo, Clairemy - I don't think you will be disappointed! :)

    • clairemy profile image

      Claire 5 years ago

      I have not seen it yet, but It sounds like a must. You certainly have me enthused Suelynn.

    • Suelynn profile image
      Author

      Suelynn 5 years ago from Manitoba, Canada

      thearbiter0808: I couldn't agree more with your comments and perfect summation. Thanks so much for commenting.

      DS Duby: I appreciate your kind words and you're right, they did put it all together and make it great! Thanks so much for your vote of confidence - it's greatly appreciated. :)

      MelChi: Woohoooo! I agree with you - sometimes we just don't have much expectation from a movie and perhaps we just get tired of the same old stuff served up on a different platter, but THIS was AWESOME! I highly recommend both Captain America and Thor - both actors are HIGHLY watchable and the movies do them both justice! Needless to say, I don't think I have heard anyone being disappointed in either Robert Downey Jr. or Samuel L. Jackson! Big box office draw! Thanks so much for commenting, my friend. I greatly appreciate your votes. :)

    • MelChi profile image

      Melanie Chisnall 5 years ago from Cape Town, South Africa

      Suelynn - you summed the movie and characters up perfectly! I am still in awe after going to see The Avengers - I wasn't a huge fan before seeing it, and still haven't seen Captain America or Thor, but this movie blew me away. I am also a HUGE fan of Robert Downey Jnr and Samuel L Jackson - I'll watching anything with either one of them in it! :) Voted UP and sharing!

    • DS Duby profile image

      DS Duby 5 years ago from United States, Illinois

      Great review, they definitely found a way to put it all together and make it great didn't they. Your review did the movie justice as well, you receive an Awesome thumbs up.

    • thearbiter0808 profile image

      thearbiter0808 5 years ago

      I am not biased, but if its robert downey jr. you'll always love his character. And yes, The Hulk really stole the limelight. All in all, it is an excellent movie with the right mixture of a good story and action-packed adventure.

    • Suelynn profile image
      Author

      Suelynn 5 years ago from Manitoba, Canada

      Clevercat: LOVED The Hulk and Iron Man is hard to resist, that's for sure! GREAT time and glad you thought so too. :) Thanks for the comments.

      Sunshine: I guess! :)))) Thanks so much for your comments... ENJOY the movie, you won't be disappointed!

    • Sunshine625 profile image

      Linda Bilyeu 5 years ago from Orlando, FL

      So I guess you enjoyed the movie?!:) Excellent review!! I hope to see it soon!

    • theclevercat profile image

      Rachel Vega 5 years ago from Massachusetts

      I think The Hulk stole the show. He was my absolute favorite (and I went in with a big heart for Iron Man.) What a fun time!