ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

The Cobbler-A Movie Review

Updated on January 25, 2016
Source

Introduction

The Cobbler was released in Canada in September 2014 and in the United States in March 2015. This international success film stars funny man Adam Sandler in a PG-13 rated drama/comedy that is a little different for his regular works. All though the storyline could make for an extremely funny role for him, he tends to play a much more serious character.

This movie is written by Timothy McCarthy and Paul Sado. Tim McCarthy directs this film as well writing it. Besides Sandler other cast include, Melanie Diaz, Steve Buscemi, Sondra James, Evan Neumann, Dan Stevens, and Dustin Hoffman as well as many others.

The Cobbler is a far-fetched story of fantasy. Sandler’s character Max Simkin, cobbler is busy repairing shoes when one day his stitching machine breaks. He is forced to go to the basement and use the huge dinosaur contraption there that must have been ancient. The size of it prevented it from being moved upstairs so Max had no choice but to do his work in the basement. Max looks at the size inside the tongue of the shoe he just finished repairing. It is a size 10 ½. The same size he wears. He tries the shoes on out of curiosity and catches a glimpse of the shoe owner’s reflection in a nearby mirror which scares him. He can’t believe his eyes. He begins stitching other shoes and discovers he takes on the identity of the shoe owner simply by putting the shoes on.

Max finds himself into all kinds of adventures as well as trouble. He even ends up helping put some bad guys away. This could be dangerous if they ever found out who he was. Max even takes the form of his own long lost father (Dustin Hoffman). His father had owned the shop before him, but had left him and his mother years ago.

Max keeps his ability to transform a secret from everyone, but finally tells his barber friend neighbor the whole story. The ending to this story will surprise you.

The Cobbler Trailer

Conclusion

As we are not use to watching Adam Sandler play such a serious role, this may damper our decisions on how much we like this film. Sure, he had his funny parts in this movie, but the drama/action parts took on more of a super hero appearance and for me it out weighed the funny stuff that Sandler is famous for and my reason for watching this film to begin with. All and all it is worth watching as I don’t tend to keep watching a film that’s not entertaining.

If you are looking for a movie a bit out of the ordinary, The Cobbler could be just what you are looking for.

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment
    • Diana Lee profile imageAUTHOR

      Diana L Pierce 

      3 years ago from Potter County, Pa.

      Thanks for feedback, Missy Smith. Adam Sandler is talented. One never knows what kind of movie he will do next. The more ridiculous the story line the better he is.

    • Missy Smith profile image

      Missy Smith 

      3 years ago from Florida

      I watched this movie on Netflix not long ago, and I really liked it. I thought it had a great story. Very imaginative.

      I'm a halfway Adam Sandler fan. I liked him when he started out on SNL, and several of his movies have been really funny, some I thought were too over the top, even for Adam. However, I like that he ventures out from time to time to do something serious and different; "Spanglish" and Reign Over Me" come to mind for some of his more earnest roles. I actually liked both. My favorite movie of his will always probably be " 50 First Dates"

    • Diana Lee profile imageAUTHOR

      Diana L Pierce 

      3 years ago from Potter County, Pa.

      Thanks stopping by, Jackie. Some of Sandler's characters are a bit off the beaten path from normal, but I like most of his comedy. This film shows that he can do drama.

    • Jackie Lynnley profile image

      Jackie Lynnley 

      3 years ago from The Beautiful South

      I am not crazy about Adam Sandler either but I saw this and thought it was a good movie.

    • Diana Lee profile imageAUTHOR

      Diana L Pierce 

      3 years ago from Potter County, Pa.

      He's a more serious in this one, Paintdrips. You might like it. I did.

    • PAINTDRIPS profile image

      Denise McGill 

      3 years ago from Fresno CA

      My husband has been suggesting I watch this movie on Netflix and I have resisted because I don't really care for Adam Sandler's humor style. I find him vulgar usually, but after reading this I am more inclined to watch it after all. Thanks for the review.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)
    ClickscoThis is a data management platform studying reader behavior (Privacy Policy)