ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

The Fourth Kind-My Review

Updated on March 23, 2014

 

I have always been interested in the paranormal and ghost story type movies, and recently saw a movie that really left me disappointed and that movie was Paranormal Activity. It was like the Blair Witch Project in how disappointing the ending was. I saw it with my sister and while people in the audience were snickering and sometimes laughing, my sister and I really didn’t care for it very much.

Recently I saw another movie around the same genre and it was The Fourth Kind. Apparently the fourth kind of paranormal activity is supposed to be when aliens make physical contact with you, as in abduction. This topic really fascinates me so I gave it a go. I always give everything the benefit of the doubt even movies, and the trailer for it looked kind of promising.

The premise of the movie is that there is a small town called Nome in Alaska, where this psychologist, named Abigail Tyler (played by Mila Jovovich) had several of her patients that were experiencing strange activity when they were being hypnotized. She was concerned because there were also reports of missing people and a lot of U.F.O sightings in the area that the sheriff seemed to be trying to keep quiet.

One of the supposedly "actual scenes"
One of the supposedly "actual scenes"

Now don’t get me wrong, I thought that this was a decent movie but at the beginning of the movie the actual actress (Jovovich) comes on the screen to let you know that what you are about to see is real. Or at least some of the footage is real. Some of the sessions where the patients were hypnotized were supposed to be from the actual sessions. I was totally drawn in at first. I mean it actually did look real to me. And then they also had what was supposed to be footage of the real Abigail Tyler being recorded, and telling her side of the story. Apparently after all that happened to her, she went a little cuckoo.

But then I started noticing that some of the footage looked kind of fake and that the “real “Abigail Tyler” looked like she was reading from a script and then I thought, these guys are lying to us and making us think that this is real when in fact it is not. Now I am not easily fooled but when the actress of the movie comes on to tell you that what you are about to see is actual footage, that is what you expect, but in this case I think that they blatantly lied and why not? They are Hollywood and they can do whatever magic they want to get people to buy into the lie and get them to buy tickets to sell their movie.

I have to admit that some of the supposed “actual footage” was creepy and if it was real would have scared the pee out of me, but after a while I wasn’t scared at all and I applaud them for doing such a good job of fooling me. I just don’t like when people misrepresent themselves and tell you something is real when it isn’t. But like the disclaimer does say, “you be the judge”. Don’t want to spoil the ending of the movie for you because there is a lot that happens in this movie but it really didn’t answer anything for me. Maybe I am being too hard on this flick but I think I would have enjoyed it more if they would have just said it was a work of fiction to begin with. So take a chance and be the judge for yourself.

© 2010 ladyjane1

Comments

Submit a Comment

  • WeLoveMusic profile image

    WeLoveMusic 

    8 years ago

    I agree with the review mostly, the part about not being real. but I am a skeptic by nature so that came naturally to me. Love Mila, but didn't love the movie!

  • passonno73 profile image

    passonno73 

    8 years ago

    Wow!Great review.You really hit the nail on the head!

  • ladyjane1 profile imageAUTHOR

    ladyjane1 

    8 years ago from Texas

    Hi Nell I think I know what story you are talking about and yes it is quite similar. I guess my red flag just went up during this movie and I am always leary of "true stories" anyway, thanks for reading.

  • Nell Rose profile image

    Nell Rose 

    8 years ago from England

    Hiya, I have seen this film and I totally agree with you. But I will tell you something interesting. As I was watching the film I realised that I had read the story before, years ago! Back in the eighties, a man called Witley Streiber wrote about his so called true adventures with aliens, and the film was more or less word for word, apart from the fact that they made it sound in the film that it was lots of people, not just one. So maybe they will justify the so called reality of it, by quoting this writer. What I do not understand is that, why did they not just make it from his book? maybe his was made into a film, I don't know. Thanks again. Nell

  • ladyjane1 profile imageAUTHOR

    ladyjane1 

    8 years ago from Texas

    prasetio thank you for reading. Let me know what you think if you see it. Thanks again.

  • prasetio30 profile image

    prasetio30 

    8 years ago from malang-indonesia

    I never see this movie before. I'll found and rent the video. Thanks for showing me this review. good work.

  • ladyjane1 profile imageAUTHOR

    ladyjane1 

    8 years ago from Texas

    hello hypnodude yes you may enjoy this part of the movie. Let me know what you think.

  • hypnodude profile image

    Andrew 

    8 years ago from Italy

    Maybe I'll give it a chance, just to see how they hypnotize people. :)

  • ladyjane1 profile imageAUTHOR

    ladyjane1 

    8 years ago from Texas

    breafastpop thanks for reading, always nice to see you in the mornng. You are welcome and if you do see the movie I hope you enjoy it. Come back and let me know if you agree with me about the realization. Thanks again.

  • ladyjane1 profile imageAUTHOR

    ladyjane1 

    8 years ago from Texas

    Hey Pamela as far as scary movie goes I have to admit I am a scary movie buff, the scarier the better lol but the topic was interesting, if you are interested in this plot and not think too much about it being real then I think you might enjoy it. Thanks.

  • breakfastpop profile image

    breakfastpop 

    8 years ago

    I will try and see this movie and I thank you for this review.

  • Pamela99 profile image

    Pamela Oglesby 

    8 years ago from Sunny Florida

    I don't watch many scary movies but this one just sound intriguing. Thanks for the review.

  • Coolmon2009 profile image

    Coolmon2009 

    8 years ago from Texas, USA

    Thanks I will have to check it out; thanks for sharing.

working

This website uses cookies

As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

Show Details
Necessary
HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
Features
Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
Marketing
Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
Statistics
Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)