ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

COLLATERAL Movie Review

Updated on May 24, 2018
Source
Source
Source

COLLATERAL

Starring: Tom Cruise, Jamie Foxx, and Jada Pinkett Smith.

Directed by: Michael Mann

Rated R (this review may contain spoilers)

I wake up, and there's this theme from a movie that's stuck in my head. It's moving and somewhat ethereal, and then I realize it's the ending music for a movie I've not seen in awhile, a movie that moved me significantly when I was just a teen in 2004. That movie is COLLATERAL. So, after a nice jog, I popped in the DVD and made a cup of French Roast coffee... and enjoyed both the coffee and the flick. I hope you enjoy my review. =]

Collateral is a remarkable action thriller from, in my opinion, one of the best directors ever... Michael Mann. The complexity of character developments and the plot itself kept me on the edge of my seat. The central thing -- for me -- about the film is Tom Cruise, playing an exceptionally cool character. Tom Cruise's performance in Collateral is gripping and is cold-blooded. His character is, plainly put, awesome – and a facade all too real. It’s his best character and his best performance out of any movie he's been in. Even Mission Impossible or Minority Report. The movie starts off with Jamie Foxx as Max -- a hard-working man who takes his job as an L.A. cab driver very seriously, to perfection actually. And incredibly performed by Jamie Foxx as well. Max knows all the best routes in L.A., too. His first passenger of the night is Annie (Jada Pinkett Smith). They decide to bet on whose desired routes will get them to her destination quicker. If Annie is right, her ride is free.

On the way, they engage in a friendly chat and get to know each other a bit. We get to know Max. We learn that Max dreams big, he dreams of starting a limo company some day. Annie is a successful lawyer in the middle of a big case currently, by the way. She then gets out of the cab after arriving to her destination. Max won the wager apparently. She decides to give her business card to Max after Max sweetly gave her a picture of significance. It's a picture of Maldives Islands; Max's escape from a stressful L.A. day... but Annie seems to need it more than him and so he gives her his cherished photo.

Shortly after that, Max then picks up his next fare -- Vincent (Tom Cruise). Later on, he offers Max six hundred dollars to take him to five locations because he has "real estate" business to take care of while he's in town. In reality, Vincent is a hit man whose job for the night is to kill five witnesses. Vincent's first kill goes slightly wrong... and soon after that, Max's "perfect" routine cab night turns into pandemonium as he's forced to be Vincent’s getaway driver. By the second act, Vincent and Max gain some understanding of each other as the chaotic night rolls on.

Collateral has meaningful dialogue and AMAZING NIGHT SHOTS to balance the realistic action as Max and Vincent discuss the importance of life, the meaning of taking a life, and things like that. We also learn that Max has been driving a cab for 12 years, even though he initially tells Vincent that it is “temporary.” By the third act, Vincent informs Max of his logic on life itself and it's that we're all just specs in the universe, lost in space -- and so who notices if a person dies. "Who notices?"


This movie is absolutely brilliant and has very complex characters. A must-see. Sadly, I feel this film is quite underrated... hopefully, this hub can inspire people who haven’t seen it to watch it! And I also love the fact it was shot in HD (I am an HD filmmaker). The performance in low-light was amazing. When I first saw this, I never saw such clarity for night shots. I have too many favorite scenes in Collateral... there's the night club scene, which is still my favorite shoot-out sequence EVER, but I'll point out one that's pretty epic:

The Coyote Scene. In a moment of silence, Max stops the cab and lets two coyotes cross the road. Vincent and Max gaze at the creatures in the night for a long beat... and then drive off. "Shadow of the Sun" by Audioslave starts up while this is happening... OH -- IT IS BEAUTIFUL. I can only interpret what it means, as it's vague, but I would guess it means that life is more than what it means to actual people -- but what about other living things? Are their lives just as significant or insiginificant as ours?

Collateral is more than just a thriller, but it questions the point of life itself. And what's interesting most about the movie is Vincent -- a disconnected human being in a disconnected town. The last line of the movie will leave you pondering throughout the day.

VERDICT: A+

Also, do give me a "Vote Up" if you found this hub useful or cool. Thank you very much. The Jet signing out.

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment
    • The Jet profile imageAUTHOR

      The Jet 

      8 years ago from The Bay

      Glad to hear your copy of Collateral is well-used. Mine as well. Haha. Audioslave is one hell of a band. The album "Out of Exile" was bad-ass.

      I really enjoyed The Last Samurai, but I disagreed with movie posters that ONLY featured Tom Cruise as he's NOT the Last Samurai. Ken Watanabe was. At least put him somewhere on the poster. lol. But it's an American movie, so that pretty much says it all.

      You make a good point about being yourself and the blurry definition of "normal."

      Thanks for reading, man. Take care.

    • Max_Power profile image

      Max_Power 

      8 years ago from Sunshine Coast, Queensland, Australia.

      Dude, I love this movie! Great review, I hear where you're coming from. I have a well-used copy of Collateral, and also a bit of Audioslave.

      I agree Tom Cruise is one of the best actors around. I have a few of his movies, and especially enjoyed 'The Last Samurai' also.

      As far as him being a weirdo, well if Katie Holmes was my wife I would be jumping all over the couch too Lol. Everyone is so concerned with trying to be 'normal', but what's normal anyway? At least he is being himself I say.

      Anyway, keep up the great work - You are really pumping the hubs out lately!

    • The Jet profile imageAUTHOR

      The Jet 

      8 years ago from The Bay

      Thank you, Katie. I hope you enjoy it. =]

    • katiem2 profile image

      Katie McMurray 

      8 years ago from Westerville

      I haven't seen this one, Collateral sounds like a good movie and one I will be checking out now that I've read your wonderful review of Collateral. :) Katie

    • The Jet profile imageAUTHOR

      The Jet 

      8 years ago from The Bay

      I'm glad I might have convinced you to watch it. I did my job. Haha.

      And a very big thank you for watching my film "She's Not There." I would also love to see what I can do with a budget. I've written a feature script that I would absolutely want to make.

      Orson Welles is/was the man. Citizen Kane was quite the lesson in composing interesting shots and a great story as well. Thanks for that comparison to Welles. Really an honor. Thanks for reading and have a great day.

    • Billrrrr profile image

      Bill Russo 

      8 years ago from Cape Cod

      I have not seen Collateral but might watch it soon. I did watch your film, "She's Not There". Very nice job. I would love to see what you can do with a budget. You are the same age as Orson Welles when he did Citizen Kane. He was an 'old soul' too. Keep on doin' it.

    • Billrrrr profile image

      Bill Russo 

      8 years ago from Cape Cod

      I have not seen Collateral but might watch it soon. I did watch your film, "She's Not There". Very nice job. I would love to see what you can do with a budget. You are the same age as Orson Welles when he did Citizen Kane. He was an 'old soul' too. Keep on doin' it.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://maven.io/company/pages/privacy

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)
    ClickscoThis is a data management platform studying reader behavior (Privacy Policy)