ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

The Lorax and the Secret World of Arrietty: Two new Robwrite Reviews

Updated on March 16, 2012

The Lorax speaks for the trees...With Danny DeVito's voice

Dr. Seuss and Hayao Miyazaki...fun family fare

THE LORAX (3 stars out of 5)

Let’s talk about the Lorax; he speaks for the trees,

He was invented by Dr. Seuss in the 1970s.

My name is Rob and I’m reviewing a movie.

Some say it’s bad, but I thought it was groovy.

This is a message film, and not a subtle one,

It’s an in-your-face lesson, and it’s rather fun.

The reviews have been mixed and the verdict is split,

But I cast my vote by recommending it.

There’s been political debating a lot,

about this film being a left-wing plot.

Well, there is an environmental moral here,

but it’s not a leftist plot, so there’s nothing to fear.


The story follows 12 year-old Ted, (Zac Efron does the voice)

and the sight of local girl Audrey (Taylor Swift) makes him rejoice.

They live in the plastic, anti-septic city of Thneedville,

where everything is totally artificial.

The town is run by evil Mr. O’Hare

who makes people pay to breathe his factory-made air.

There are no trees left anywhere around.

Audrey would love to see one but they can’t be found.

Ted wants to prove to Audrey he’s worthy to be her steady guy.

He goes off to get a tree—or at least to try.

He slips out of the city and goes where trees used to grow

but now the forest is gone and polluted rivers flow.

No animals are left and the air really smells.

In this decimated landscape, only one person dwells.

His name is Once-Ler, and he lives with his guilt,

because nature was sacrificed for the empire he built.

Once-Ler tells young Ted his story,

about the consequences of his grasp at wealth and glory.

Years ago Once-ler invented the impractical ‘Thneed’.

Something everyone wanted but nobody really needs.

To make his trendy garment he took an ax,

and chopped down trees with gleeful whacks.

He chopped down as many as he pleased.

and thus appeared the Lorax, who speaks for the trees!

The Lorax (Danny DeVito) is the protector of the woods.

He tries to tell Once-ler that destroying nature is no good.

Once-ler won’t listen, no matter how hard the Lorax tries.

Once-Ler builds pollution-making factories, rising into the skies.

Soon there are no more animals, birds, trees or fish.

The Once-Ler comes to regret getting his wish.

With the land in ruin, along come O’Hare,

who becomes the new big-wig with his monopoly of air.

O’Hare doesn’t want there to be any trees at all,

because his empire built on supplying air would crumble and fall.

But Ted gets hold of the very last seed,

and knows that trees are what everyone needs.

O’Hare wants to stop Ted and recover that seed,

because having trees around is the last thing O’Hare needs.


So as far as the story goes, that’s all I will tell,

But that’s the gist of it in a nutshell.

The film strays far from Dr. Seuss’ 1971 children’s book,

but it retains the spirit and distinctive Seuss look.

The moral is heavy-handed, it’s very clear,

that the loss of the trees is something to fear.

There are some good jokes, puns and gags.

For the most part there are no major lags.

The singing fish are the funniest part,

and the movie as a whole retains Dr. Seuss’ heart.

It’s not a work of genius or great art,

But it’s fun and enjoyable for the most part.



Recommended.



2nd film…



Note: Before I begin my second review, let me say that I am a huge fan of the great Hayao Miyazaki; the man who has been called the ‘Disney of Japan’. His Ghibli Studios has replaced Disney as my favorite animation company. I’ve seen all of the films of Miyazaki, the master of anime. I won’t go into a long discourse about the genius of Miyazaki now because I’ve done that already in another hub. If you want to see my tribute to the great one, or if you’re unfamiliar with the work of Miyazaki and want to know more, feel free to check out my hub on the films of the king of Japanese anime.


The Secret World of Arrietty


THE SECRET WORLD OF ARRIETTY (3.5 stars out of 5)


You can always recognize a Studio Ghibli/Hayao Miyazaki film right away. Not only is their style of animation easily recognizable, but there is a good-hearted grace to the storyline. Even though the great Miyazaki only writes and produces this one but doesn’t direct it, it still has that uniqueness which separates it from any other studio. This film is based on “the Borrowers” childrens books by Mary Norton, which translates effortlessly to modern-day Japan.

As is the norm with a Ghibli/Miyazaki film, the main character is a young but strong-willed female who has to accomplish a difficult task while maturing from childhood to adulthood. What’s wonderful about the heroines in Ghibli films is that, unlike most modern film and TV heroines, they don’t save the day with fists or guns. They use brains, compassion, courage and love to empower them. Many young male fans today may get a fetishistic thrill seeing modern interpretations of Snow White or Alice in Wonderland charging into battle, sword in hand, but the female heroes in the Ghibli oeuvre manage to be strong role models without pressing the trigger or making a fist.

The story begins when a sickly young boy--named Shawn in the American dub (voiced by David Henrie)--with congenital heart trouble is sent away by his parents who are too busy with their careers to care for him. Shawn is sent to live in the country home of his grandmother to convalesce before a risky heart operation. While there he discovers the Borrowers.

Arrietty (Bridget Mendler in the US version) is the four-inch-tall daughter in a family of ‘Borrowers’ who live under the floorboards of the old home. They come out at night and purloin whatever they require to survive, but they only take what they need and no more. Rumors of “the little people” have persisted for generations and the family servant Hara (Voiced by Carol Burnett in the US dub) has long been obsessed with catching one.

When Arrietty is accidently discovered by Shawn, he just wants to help her and be her friend because he’s afraid he’s going to die soon and would like to do something that matters and be her hero while he still can. Arrietty’s parents are alarmed at the discovery because, in their experience, it has always been a disaster when a Borrower is spotted by a ‘Human Bean’. Arrietty is torn between her curiosity about her new friend and heeding her parents warning. Shawn wants to keep being friends but his actions make Hara suspicious, and she sees a chance to prove that the legends of the little people are real, if only she can trap one. When Arrietty’s mother is caught, it’s up to little Arrietty to surmount all obstacles in her path and rescue her mom, with a little help from Shawn.

The film is gentle and sweet, in the style of My Neighbor Tortoro and Kiki’s Delivery Service. The innocent relationship between Arrietty and Shawn is touching. Shawn feels vulnerable because of his fragile health, and Arrietty because of her Thumbellina size. Together, they become stronger than they are individually. It's a nice message about how having a good friend can change your perspective on life and make everything seem just a little better.



Recommended.



Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Robwrite profile imageAUTHOR

      Rob 

      6 years ago from Oviedo, FL

      Hi Jools; If you haven't seen any Miyazaki films, you're missing out. He's a genuine cinematic genius.

      Thanks for stopping by,

      Rob

    • Jools99 profile image

      Jools Hogg 

      6 years ago from North-East UK

      Rob, The Lorax is only just coming out now in the UK, quite a long lag since its USA release. I won't go to see it at the cinema but I rather like the look of it and will certainly see it when it hits Pay Per View at home. I loved your poetic treatment of it :o)

      I have not seen any Miyazaki movies but your review now has me wanting to see one.

    • Robwrite profile imageAUTHOR

      Rob 

      6 years ago from Oviedo, FL

      Hi Carolina; Glad you liked it.

      Rob

    • carolinemd21 profile image

      Caroline Marie 

      6 years ago

      Great review Rob. Interesting and informative. Voted up.

    • Robwrite profile imageAUTHOR

      Rob 

      6 years ago from Oviedo, FL

      Hi Flora. Yes, I'm close to two milestones. My Native American Indian hub is almost at 20,000 views.

      Good to hear from you,

      Rob

    • FloraBreenRobison profile image

      FloraBreenRobison 

      6 years ago

      Hey, you are only 9 followers away from 300!

    • Robwrite profile imageAUTHOR

      Rob 

      6 years ago from Oviedo, FL

      OK, why not?

    • profile image

      dasha 

      6 years ago

      put a game on the enternet

    • Robwrite profile imageAUTHOR

      Rob 

      6 years ago from Oviedo, FL

      Hi Bruce; The Lorax was better than I thought it would be. the trailers made it seem kind of stupid but it was actually rather clever. My friend Steph didn't even remember "the Lorax", so I was wondering if I was the only one who remembered that story.

      "Arrietty" is a nice film and if you can ever get a chance to catch up on the Miyazaki oveure I think you'll really enjoy them. Everyone I've recommended Miyazaki to has been glad I did.

      Good to hear from you. Thanks for reading.

      Rob

    • Cogerson profile image

      UltimateMovieRankings 

      6 years ago from Virginia

      Very nicely done....I loved reading your Lorax review....kudos for giving us a movie review that Theodor Geisel would have loved reading. Surprisingly my kids have not talked me into taking them to The Lorax. My oldest son took his daughter(my granddaughter)...and can not believe the book I used to read to him as a child is a movie that he took his child too....I told him...Imagine how I feel...lol.

      I imagine Secret World of Arrietty will be the first Hayao Miyazaki I see....I will have to check out the hub you did about him to see if I can secure some of these movies you like so much....voted up and very useful

    • Robwrite profile imageAUTHOR

      Rob 

      6 years ago from Oviedo, FL

      Hi Steve; Thanks, glad you enjoyed the rhyme.

      Good to hear from you,

      Rob

    • FloraBreenRobison profile image

      FloraBreenRobison 

      6 years ago

      I have lost your email address, so I've sent you a message via facebook. Look for it.

    • Stevennix2001 profile image

      Steven Escareno 

      6 years ago

      Pretty good review. I was thinking about doing my review in rhyme too for the lorax, but after reading yours, I don't think i will. besides, i don't want other people say that I'm some sort of copycat. lol. however, good show nonetheless.

    • Robwrite profile imageAUTHOR

      Rob 

      6 years ago from Oviedo, FL

      Flora; If you're planning to see any Miyazaki films, you can find out more information on my other hub "Hayao Miyazaki: an Animation Legend". I give details on all his previous films.

      Thanks for reading,

      rob

    • FloraBreenRobison profile image

      FloraBreenRobison 

      6 years ago

      Yes, still here. It seems everyone knows that now. And I mean *everyone.* I am familiar with Miyazaki only through you as recommendations to us. I have lots of films on my to-see list. Hundreds.

    • Robwrite profile imageAUTHOR

      Rob 

      6 years ago from Oviedo, FL

      Hi Flora; Good to see you're still here.

      As for the 'Lorax' there's always hipocracy in the business world, even if they have good intentions, such as in this film. It's the nature of the beast.

      "Arrietty" is definitely the superior of the two and I think you'd enjoy it. I don't know if you're familiar with Miyazaki or not, but he really is an artist in his field.

      Rob

    • FloraBreenRobison profile image

      FloraBreenRobison 

      6 years ago

      Love your poem ala Seuss, Rob. It made me smile. Not sure I like the fact that an environmental film has a car as a sponsor.

      I think the Japanese film sounds more to my taste.

    • Robwrite profile imageAUTHOR

      Rob 

      6 years ago from Oviedo, FL

      Hi Steve; I enjoyed them both and I hope you do, too. "Arrietty" is the better of the two and far more artful, but the "Lorax" is silly family fun with a good environmental message.

      Thanks for reading,

      Rob

    • Steve Lensman profile image

      Steve Lensman 

      6 years ago from Manchester, England

      Hi Rob, thanks for the reviews. I want to see both films. Arrietty is available to buy here in the UK. The Lorax I'll wait and blind buy it when its out on blu-ray.

      Vote up.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)