ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Entertainment and Media»
  • Movies & Movie Reviews

The Runaway Bus Film Review

Updated on February 15, 2018
Coffeequeeen profile image

Louise is a film enthusiast and enjoys films particularly from the 40's and 50's era & enjoys writing about films she has seen.

The actors & characters in the film

Actor
Character
Margaret Rutherford
Cynthia Beeston
Frankie Howerd
Percy Lamn
Marianne Stone
Travel Girl
Belinda Lee
Janie Grey
Lionel Murton
Mexican Traveller
Petula Clarke
Lee Nicholls
Sam Kydd
Security Officer
Toke Townley
Henry Waterman

About the film

The Runaway Bus is another one of them classic films that is perfect to watch when the weather is cold and miserable. Make a mug of coffee, get comfortable on the couch and sit down to watch a film is my idea of bliss. A heavy and thick fog has fallen over much of southern England, which has put a stop to any flights entering or taking off from Heathrow Airport. Cynthia Beeston is a very headstrong and outspoken woman. So when she is told that all the flights have been cancelled, she is adamant that she must be taken to Blackbushe Airport, where she may be able to catch a flight to Dublin. She persuades the B.O.A.C (British Overseas Airways Corporation) to transport her and a few other people to Blackbushe Airport.

Percy Lamb, played by Frankie Howerd, is hired as the relief driver to take them to the airport. They are ushered onto coach 13 where they are to be transported in the thick fog. Little do the people on the bus know that this is £200,000 worth of gold bars hidden in the boot of the bus. And also, that one of the passengers is the villain. When the police eventually find where the gold bars are hidden, they have a number of problems. First and foremost, they have to try and locate where the bus is. Percy informs them that he is lost, so this is problematic. And also they have to talk to Percy over the radio system in the bus. Percy isn't the most patient of people and is often short with them.

But what we see is a typically quintessentially British film where a group of the most unlikely of people are somehow put together on a bus in thick fog to get to an airport that might take them some place else. And to top it all, there's a villain and a stash of gold to top it all off.

My thoughts

I've always like Margaret Rutherford as an actress. In fact, she is the reason I watched this film because I saw her in it. I didn't know that Frankie Howerd was in it though, so to see these two people acting together was surprisingly nice. Margaret played a strong, forthright person who isn't scared to say what she thinks or what she wants. I found the storyline interesting, and kept me watching to the end to see what happens. With Frankie Howerd in it, you are bound to get some comical moments in it. And indeed you do with his trademark ooooo's and groans. And being assigned the job of relief bus driver, you can expect plenty of antics from him. Especially with all problems he has to face with the horrid weather and criminals on the bus. The bus is aptly named coach 13, being the unlucky number.

What I like is that there's no bad language in the film. I don't like films that has too much vulgarity in it. So, although considered a crime film, I like the fact there's no bad language in it and little violence. It was also nice, I thought, to see a young Petula Clarke in it playing Lee Nicholls, assigned the job of looking after the passengers on the bus. She's well known as a singer, but I don't know much of her acting career.

All in all, this is an interesting classic old film to sit down and watch. The acting is strong, and the storyline I enjoyed.

© 2018 Louise Powles

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • teaches12345 profile image

      Dianna Mendez 5 weeks ago

      You have me on this review. I am going to look this up at the library. I do believe it would make for a great film today.

    • Frank Atanacio profile image

      Frank Atanacio 7 weeks ago from Shelton

      I got this and streamed it through Decades.. I LOVED it thank you

    • Coffeequeeen profile image
      Author

      Louise Powles 2 months ago from Norfolk, England

      Thankyou Frank. Yes, I love all the old classics too.

    • Frank Atanacio profile image

      Frank Atanacio 2 months ago from Shelton

      I loved the classics, and believe it or not I haven't even heard of this one.. I gotta stream it now because of your review.. tell them to send you a check...:)

    • Coffeequeeen profile image
      Author

      Louise Powles 3 months ago from Norfolk, England

      Thankyou Margie. I love these old films.

    • Coffeequeeen profile image
      Author

      Louise Powles 3 months ago from Norfolk, England

      Yes Dora, that's true. Thankyou for the lovely comment.

    • Margie Lynn profile image

      Margie Lynn 3 months ago from Beautiful Texas Hill Country

      I want to watch this Louise, I have never hear of it! Great review, thanks.

    • CaribTales profile image

      Dora Weithers 3 months ago from The Caribbean

      I'm guessing that the British accent only adds to the energy of the excitement. Thanks for your opinion on the movie.

    • Kenna McHugh profile image

      Kenna McHugh 3 months ago from Northern California

      This is the first time I have heard of this movie. It reminds me that a filmmaker can create suspend anywhere.

    • Coffeequeeen profile image
      Author

      Louise Powles 3 months ago from Norfolk, England

      Thankyou Devika. =)

    • DDE profile image

      Devika Primić 3 months ago from Dubrovnik, Croatia

      I have not heard of this movie. Your review enlightens me and would like to watch it.

    • Coffeequeeen profile image
      Author

      Louise Powles 3 months ago from Norfolk, England

      Yes, I loved him. He was such a great comedian.

    • Claire-louise profile image

      Claire Raymond 3 months ago from UK

      I didn't know Frankie Howerd was in it either!

    • Coffeequeeen profile image
      Author

      Louise Powles 3 months ago from Norfolk, England

      She's probably most well known for playing Miss Marple in the 60's.

    • FlourishAnyway profile image

      FlourishAnyway 3 months ago from USA

      I don’t think I’ve heard of this classic, but I liked your review. The old lady seems familiar. Maybe she has starred in something I know of?

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: "https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr"

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is used to quickly and efficiently deliver files such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisements has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)