ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

The Two Popes Film Review

Updated on January 1, 2020
Coffeequeeen profile image

I am a film enthusiast and enjoy reviewing films I have watched. I like all sorts of films but mainly black & white ones from the 50's & 60s

Actor
Character
Anthony Hopkins
Pope Benedict XVI
Jonathan Pryce
Cardinal Jorge Mario Borgoglio
Sidney Cole
Cardinal Peter Turkson

The Film

  • Released: 2019
  • Director: Fernano Meirelles
  • Producers: Dan Lin, Jonathan Eirich, Tracey Seaward
  • Running time: 2 hrs 5 mins
  • Genre: Drama, Comedy, Biography
  • Distributed by: Netflix

The Film

The Two Popes is a biographical film about Pope Benedict XVI and the subsequent, and current Pontiff, Pope Francis I. The film begins with Jorge Mario Bergoglio (Pope Francis I), then then Archbishop of Buenos Aires, being summoned to the Vatican City. This is following the death of John Paul II. Cardinal Joseph Ratzinger was eventually elected Pope Benedict XVI, but Jorge was initially the front runner for this role.

Jorge wants to resign as Archbishop, but it seems his requests are being ignored, and his letters unanswered. But he is summoned to the summer house of Pope Benedict, where Jorge discusses the possibility of resignation. Pope Benedict is having none of it though, and tells him that it would seem there is a vote of no confidence in his leadership, that being of the Pope's role. Seven years into into Pope Benedict's role as Pope, the Catholic Church is hitting the headlines with scandals, thus leading to his resignation as the Pontiff.

Although these 2 men have disagreements, which we will see in the film, they are friends and share some common ground, like watching football together. The film covers the resignation of Pope Benedict and the now Pope Francis I taking over as Pontiff. During the film there is also snippets of 'real-life.' For instance, when Pope John Paul II passed away, you can see the news broadcasts from around the world broadcasting this news, and also when the election of the new Pontiff began.

My Thoughts

I personally really enjoyed watching this film. I think the interaction between the 2 actors worked really well. Considering throughout the majority of the film these are the only 2 actors in it, I think they did really well. They didn't always see eye to eye or agree on everything, but we also see how these 2 men struck up a bond and quite a close friendship. I also found moments that were heartwarming and touching to see. For instance, towards the end of the film, we see them dancing. Strange as it might seem, this was really nice to watch and made me smile.

With an estimated 1.2 billion Catholic followers around the globe, you can understand the importance of such a role in the Catholic Church. So when the news broke that Pope Benedict was to resign, it was a shock to the nation. This is usually a role that lasted until their death. So I found watching this film of the former and current Pope intriguing, yet refreshing and heart-warming. With regards to the current Pop Francis, we also get to see flashbacks throughout the film of his younger days and how he entered the Priesthood. You also get to see snippets of 'real life' news clips from around the globe. For instance, when Pope John died and also when they were electing the new Pope and also when Pope Francis took office. I think by including these news clips from around the world, you get a sense of how big this story was and how relevant it is to people globally. I also like the little touches that have been included in the film, like the pressing of the pens, the voting system and the black and white smoke omitting the chimney. All these little things added to add to the drama.

This is a delightful film. I thoroughly enjoyed it and found the relationship between the two Pontiffs strained at times, but ultimately, there is a special bond between them I think. It's humbling to watch. Even if you're not a religious person, I think you would enjoy this.

The Two Popes Official Trailer

© 2020 Louise Powles

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment
    • savvydating profile image

      Yves 

      10 months ago

      A lovely review. I watched the film and enjoyed it thoroughly. Both actors did a splendid job in portraying the pontiffs. Personally, I respect Pope Francis and I am saddened by the misinformation that abounds on the internet regarding his "motives". He is a good man and a worthy Pope.

      Thank you for writing this review. I hope more people will feel inspired to watch this fine film.

    • FlourishAnyway profile image

      FlourishAnyway 

      15 months ago from USA

      Although not a Catholic, I think this would be a worthy film to watch from a human perspective to see how two leaders with different perspectives were able to forge a lasting personal relationship.

    • vocalcoach profile image

      Audrey Hunt 

      15 months ago from Idyllwild Ca.

      Now that I've read your review I think I'll add this film to my "must-see" list.

      Thank you!

    • AliciaC profile image

      Linda Crampton 

      15 months ago from British Columbia, Canada

      This film sounds interesting. I didn't know that it had been made. I'd like to watch it, as long as it's historically accurate. It sounds like it could be educational as well as entertaining.

    • lambservant profile image

      Lori Colbo 

      15 months ago from United States

      I saw this last week and was riveted. I thought it so interesting how their relationship started out rather rocky because benedict didn't agree with anything Francis believed and they ended up with a very special friendship. I loved seeing them being regular guys at times - watching a soccer game, eating, playing the piano. It also gave us a real inside look at the life and politics of the Roman Catholic upper echelon. I also thought Francis' life as a younger man was interesting. Well acted, the cinematography was excellent.

    • MsDora profile image

      Dora Weithers 

      15 months ago from The Caribbean

      Louise, thanks for introducing this film. I intend to watch it. Sure would like to know more about a world which is still unfamiliar.

    • Eurofile profile image

      Liz Westwood 

      15 months ago from UK

      I had heard of this film, but had not had a chance to see it. I heard that in retirement the former pope has been writing books. The relationship between the two popes sounds interesting.

    • Jay C OBrien profile image

      Jay C OBrien 

      15 months ago from Houston, TX USA

      I wonder how accurate this film is.

      I do like the quote of Pope Francis, "Violence by man against man is in contradiction with any religion worthy of that name," January 18, 2016.

      This idea should be institutionalized. It should be placed as a heading on every page of the Bible. We should compare all our readings and actions to it.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://maven.io/company/pages/privacy

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)
    ClickscoThis is a data management platform studying reader behavior (Privacy Policy)