ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Entertainment and Media»
  • Movies & Movie Reviews

The Two of Us DVD Review

Updated on January 8, 2013

Based on a True Story

When French Director, Claude Berri was a little Jewish boy living in Nazi-occupied Paris during WWII, his parents decided that it would be safest to send him to the countryside to live with the Catholic parents of a friend until after the war. Eight year-old Claude was forced to hide his identity while staying with the kindly, elderly, anti-Semitic, Catholic couple. This is the story of the wonderful time he had!

You will be safer in the countryside...

I love the small details in this still. Look at the modern art etched glass in the door!
I love the small details in this still. Look at the modern art etched glass in the door!

Poignant & Fun!

The Two of Us is based on Claude Berri’s experiences. Claude is played beautifully by young actor, Alain Cohen, in his first role. Veteran French actor, Michel Simon plays the curmudgeonly, staunchly anti-Semitic Pepe (Grandpa). The two become great friends sharing lots of fun and a few touching moments.

Best Friends!

The bond between these two was real. Michel Simon stayed in touch with Alain Cohen for the rest of his life!
The bond between these two was real. Michel Simon stayed in touch with Alain Cohen for the rest of his life!

Delightful!

Lots of Laughs!

This movie is just delightful from start to finish. Alain Cohen is charming and mischievous and Michel Simon is hilarious and touching. Simon was a legendary French actor. This late-in-life role was one of his most memorable. Scenes in which young Claude pretends to be “afraid” of being Jewish, based on Pepe’s description of Jews and then turns the tables and points out that Pepe looks a bit Jewish himself are charming. Scenes in which the two are playing chase, swinging, and romping around pretending are simply uproarious.

Fun for Anyone!

The plot is clever and cute. Knowing that the movie is based on a true story makes it even more fun. I really think anyone could enjoy this movie. The dialogue is not complex, so there is not a lot to reading the subtitles. Watching the actors is entertaining in itself. I felt very light-hearted when the story ended.

This 1967 French Comedy/Drama is poignant and lighthearted. The Two of Us was acclaimed director Claude Berri's debut feature length film. Be sure to watch the special features, especially the interview with Alain Cohen, who is now a mature man. He speaks so fondly of Michel Simon and Claude Berri. It is a pleasure to hear. Claude Berri’s very first film, an Oscar winning short feature called Le Poulet, is also included in the Special Features. It is quite charming.

Thanks! :)

I hope you will remember to rate this HUB (just above the COMMENTS section) and LIKE/TWEET it (just below the title).

How would you rate The Two of Us?

Choose 1 Star/Bad - 5 Stars/Great or Haven't Seen It.

See results

Comments

Submit a Comment

  • justmesuzanne profile image
    Author

    justmesuzanne 5 years ago from Texas

    Yes, this movie is funny, but it is also true! It is the director's story! I just recently watched all of the movies and documentaries about Anne Frank that Netflix has to offer. Oddly, I have never read her diary, but I should and shall! :) Thanks for commenting!

  • Peggy W profile image

    Peggy Woods 5 years ago from Houston, Texas

    Much more serious of course...but I loved reading it and learning from it...was the book about Anne Frank. Those were horrendous times! Lucky are those who survived the Nazi regime and extermination efforts. This movie sounds like a much more light hearted approach to the subject regarding those times.

  • justmesuzanne profile image
    Author

    justmesuzanne 5 years ago from Texas

    Thanks! I loved this movie! I really should have my own copy! :)

  • Peggy W profile image

    Peggy Woods 5 years ago from Houston, Texas

    What a cute sounding movie Suzanne. Thanks for the review. I hope to see it someday. Up and interesting votes.

  • justmesuzanne profile image
    Author

    justmesuzanne 9 years ago from Texas

    Thanks! You can get it from NetFlix! :)

  • profile image

    buttman 9 years ago

    This is very nice! I'm looking forward to see this movie somewhere.

    Thanks.

  • justmesuzanne profile image
    Author

    justmesuzanne 9 years ago from Texas

    Thank you! I really enjoyed it. I hope you will also check out my review of Paranoid Park (link above). I posted it last night then immediately edited it. I think when you do that, your HUB appears to be unpublished while you are editing, so if people are not able to see it.

  • Elena. profile image

    Elena. 9 years ago from Madrid

    Good review, Suzanne, I think you do the movie justice -- it's a sweet, heart warming one :-)

working

This website uses cookies

As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: "https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr"

Show Details
Necessary
HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
Features
Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
Marketing
Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
Statistics
Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)