ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

The princess and the frog film review

Updated on August 29, 2018
Journey * profile image

Nyesha loves writing about cooking/recipes, restaurants, movies, weddings, and poetry.

photo credit: imdb.com
photo credit: imdb.com

Film review for The Princess and the Frog the movie

The Princess and the Frog is the first Disney movie to star an African American female who marries a prince and thus becomes a princess.

The Princess and the Frog the movie tells the story of Tiana, a young girl whose mother is a master seamstress.

  • In The Princess and the Frog, Tiana accompanies her mother when she works in various jobs sewing dresses.
  • Tiana's mother's best customer has a daughter around Tiana's age and the young girls become friends.
  • Tiana's mother, Eudora sometimes reads fairytales to them and they both get their early impressions about what love is and begin to dream.
  • In The Princess and the Frog the movie, Tiana's friend is a little more idealistic and willing to dream than Tiana is.
  • Tiana's friend says that she would be willing to kiss a frog in order to turn him into a prince. Tiana thinks that is disgusting and would not hear of it.
  • Tiana is more preoccupied with dreams of owning a fabulous restaurant, named Tiana's place. It is a dream that she and her father share.

The Princess and the Frog is set in New Orleans, Louisiana. Tiana and Eudora take the train from Eudora's workplace are where many of the mansions are and they travel across town to their own home which is much more modest. Tiana helps her father with cooking a gumbo dinner and they invite the neighbors to join them for a meal. Everyone gathers around the front porch and enjoys food and conversation in a very open environment. Tiana's father speaks of the lesson about food bringing folks together.


photo credit: imdb.com
photo credit: imdb.com

Fast forward to Tiana being an adult. Her father has passed away. He worked hard all of his life with 2, sometimes 3 jobs. She is very close to her mother who still wants to see her realize her dream of owning the restaurant. Tiana has been working as a waitress and saving up for a long time. Her friends think she works too hard and her boss taunts her, thinking that she will work for him forever and never save up enough to get the restaurant.

That same night, Tiana's childhood friend comes by and places a big food order because she will be entertaining a prince, Naveen at her father's mansion.

photo credit: imdb.com
photo credit: imdb.com

The Princess and the Frog

Tiana is now temporarily confident that she will have enough savings to put the down payment on her restaurant. She does so but quickly finds out the she has been outbid.

Tiana then becomes saddened and wonders what the possibilities will be. She feels silly as she begins to wish on a star like she did as a child.

Behold, a talking frog appears and insists that he is a prince. He says that if Tiana kisses him, he will change back into the human he is supposed to be. After a few moments of being disgusted and freaking out because a frog is talking to her, Tiana complies and kisses the frog. Instead of the frog turning into a prince, Tiana turns into a frog!

photo credit: imdb.com
photo credit: imdb.com

The film continues with the two frogs setting on a big adventure to attempt to become human again. Along the way, they find that they are now able to talk to other animal species. They solicit the help of an alligator who wishes he was human so that he could perform, playing jazz "with the greats". They also meet and get the help of a firefly named Ray. Ray gets his whole family on board to light the way for Tiana and Naveen's journey as frogs in the swamp.

photo credit: imdb.com
photo credit: imdb.com

They have learned about Mama Odie, who might be able to help them change back into humans and they are on their way to seeing her.

This film is filled with a lot of entertaining song and dance but there are also depictions of voodoo, some of which could be quite scary for young children. There are many images of dark shadows and skeletons. Aside from that, the film is quite cute. I think it would be best for children 6 years old and older.

There is some good emphasis on family values and remembering what is important in life. Tiana's mom offers her a lot of advice and before passing away, her father did as well.

The dvd rental includes a music video by singer Neyo who contributes to the theme music of the film.

Directed by Ron Clements and John Musker

Starring Anika Noni Rose (voice of Tiana) and others

I rate it 3.5/5 stars


Ne-Yo "Never Knew I Needed" music video

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Journey * profile imageAUTHOR

      Nyesha Pagnou MPH 

      8 years ago from USA

      Hi jim10, thanks so much for posting a comment. Yes, the music was really great. Getting the CD is a good idea. I don't have it yet either.

    • jim10 profile image

      jim10 

      8 years ago from ma

      I loved the movie. I had to get it for my wife. But, we all loved it. The music was amazing and I plan to get the CD.

    • Journey * profile imageAUTHOR

      Nyesha Pagnou MPH 

      8 years ago from USA

      Hello, hello and alekhouse, thank you for your kind comments!

    • alekhouse profile image

      Nancy Hinchliff 

      8 years ago from Essex Junction, Vermont

      Nice review. Took my granddaughter to see it. She loved it. It's really well done.

    • Hello, hello, profile image

      Hello, hello, 

      8 years ago from London, UK

      A wonderful review. Well written. Thank you.

    • Journey * profile imageAUTHOR

      Nyesha Pagnou MPH 

      8 years ago from USA

      Hi martycraigs,

      Thanks very much for commenting on this hub. Enjoy the film.

    • martycraigs profile image

      martycraigs 

      8 years ago

      My family and I actually missed this film when it was in theaters. We will definitely have to rent this one, as it looks great and seems like something all would enjoy. Thanks for the synopsis and review.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)