ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Unforgettable (CBS) - Series Premiere: Synopsis and Review

Updated on August 18, 2012
Source

‘Unforgettable’ is a new drama/mystery series on CBS, based on the short story ‘The Rememberer’ by J. Robert Lennon. It stars Poppy Montgomery (‘Without A Trace’), doing her best American accent. Actress Marilu Henner serves as consultant on the show, as she has hyperthymesia, just like the lead character. Ironically, Henner also plays Carrie’s aunt, who suffers from early-onset Alzheimer’s disease. The series first premiered on September 20th 2011, and it airs in the Tuesdays at 10/9c timeslot.

Carrie Wells (Poppy Montgomery) has a very rare condition called hyperthymesia. Due to this condition she can remember every single detail of her life, except for the one thing she is always trying to remember; what happened to her sister Rachel. Carrie used to be a Syracuse detective, and because of her condition, one of the best, but she gave up her career after reopening and failing to solve the case of her sister’s murder.
One day, she becomes a witness in a murder investigation. She finds the victim, her upstairs neighbor, just after she is murdered, and with her impeccable memory, she is able to give the police some crucial information. One of the detectives, Al Burns (Dylan Walsh, ‘Nip/Tuck’), a former colleague from Syracuse, involves her in the investigation as a consultant. Because of all this, she starts to get some memories back of the day that Rachel died.

Montgomery is clearly in her element portraying Carrie. You can really feel the trauma that Carrie still has from her sister’s murder, and the guilt she feels that that is the only thing she can’t remember. It becomes clear too that it isn’t always a blessing to remember everything. Apparently, Carrie left the police force in Syracuse because she couldn’t handle remembering every case, every murder. Also, she broke off her short relationship with Al; she couldn’t let go of their fights and the things he had said in an outburst of anger.
The fact that Carrie has hyperthymesia definitely gives a twist to the standard procedural police drama concept, though it is unlikely that Carrie is going to witness murders time after time. The murder case itself isn’t really spectacular, but that is an aspect that makes the show more credible, as opposed to the hyperthymesia, of which there are only 20 confirmed cases
worldwide.
Overall, if you are willing to believe the coincidence that Carrie and Al meet again over a murder in her apartment building, ‘Unforgettable’ is a very watchable new police drama with a nice twist.

What do you think of 'Unforgettable'?

See results

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Robin Oatley profile imageAUTHOR

      Robin Oatley 

      6 years ago

      You're welcome, mirror_eyes. When I first heard it I had no idea what hyperthymesia was, so I thought it'd be useful to describe it for you.

    • mirror_eyes profile image

      mirror_eyes 

      7 years ago from north Texas

      Sounds like it's going to be a good series - thanks for describing it along with an explanation of hyperthymesia!

    • Robin Oatley profile imageAUTHOR

      Robin Oatley 

      7 years ago

      You're welcome, Eiddwen!

    • Eiddwen profile image

      Eiddwen 

      7 years ago from Wales

      Interesting review,thanks for sharing.

    • Robin Oatley profile imageAUTHOR

      Robin Oatley 

      7 years ago

      Thanks for reading this hub, Alecia. And I'm glad you thought it was interesting!

    • Alecia Murphy profile image

      Alecia Murphy 

      7 years ago from Wilmington, North Carolina

      I was wondering about this show. I didn't know Marilu Henner was a consultant on the show. Interesting Hub!

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)