ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Up film review

Updated on August 19, 2018
Journey * profile image

Nyesha loves writing about cooking/recipes, restaurants, movies, weddings, and poetry.

Up the movie

Up is a great movie. Up is a thoughtfully made and well made movie. Up is memorable to watch and sad at times.

I really enjoyed the film Up. It is a real gem. Up begins with a young boy named Carl Fergusen who has a taste for adventure. He is also quite shy. He meets a quirky and talkative girl named Ellie with the same sense of adventure. She shows him her adventure book which she has never shown to anyone else "in [her] whole life!"

She has big plans for what she will do in her future, especially travel to South America. The last page in her adventure book says "stuff I am going to do." Carl is impressed. Ellie says to him. "You don't talk much. I like you!" I love that line.

Fast forward to their marriage as adults. They look like an adorable couple and they enjoy life often staring up at the sky and sun while lying on a picnic blanket.

One day the clouds in the sky all take the shape of babies and they see that as a sign to start their family. Sadly, Ellie is unable to have children but their lives together are wonderful nevertheless. The sad reality causes them to revive their sense of adventure and they plan to travel to South America. They take small steps in this plan, saving their extra change daily and putting the coins in a large jar.

Then something very poignant happens in the Up movie and all of us in the audience are all able to relate to it. There are several instances that create unforeseen expenses and the couple has to take a hammer to the jar, breaking it so that they could get the money when a tree falls on their house in a storm, when Carl breaks his leg and has hospital bills, etc, etc. They attempt to replenish the coins every time they are used up but they just get used up so often. It is difficult to save.

So life happens and the years pass them by. They lead a very happy life together but will they ever get to their proposed adventure in South America? Ellie especially wants to see the remarkable Paradise Falls and has pictures of it. They replaced a mural suitable for a baby's room with a large picture of their own house situated right at Paradise Falls! Is that a dream that can really be realized?

photo credit, imdb.com
photo credit, imdb.com

Not too many spoilers here

I think I will stop here, making this film review much more brief and less detailed than most of my film reviews usually are. Nevertheless, I had the pleasure of watching this film not really knowing what to expect and never knowing what would happen next, from scene to scene. I had known of none of the spoilers whatsoever, making it a terrific movie going experience.

I think that revealing information was well protected in the Up movie trailers and I had not read any reviews prior to seeing the movie. The trailer below is just a teaser trailer but even the full length trailers are not too revealing about the plot. Of course we do see the house up in the air suspended by the balloons but there is lots more to the story.

I think not knowing much beforehand makes a really positive difference when seeing this film especially and the surprising things that occur take the audience member on an adventure as well.

There are both happy and sad moments in this animated film. Some things make us regress back to a childlike wonder as we watch the far fetched and unreal things that will never happen but oh, what fabulous ideas they are.

Some moments show us the tough stuff that we can go through in real life.

Up Trailer

Up voice actors and characters

 

Rated PG

Ed Asner as the voice of Carl (as an older man) and others

I rate it 5/5 stars *****

© 2010 Nyesha Pagnou MPH

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Journey * profile imageAUTHOR

      Nyesha Pagnou MPH 

      8 years ago from USA

      Nancy's Niche and ethel smith, yes, this is a movie where I really would not want the plot to be spoiled for you before you see it. I'm glad it's on your to see list. Thanks for your nice comments.

    • ethel smith profile image

      Ethel Smith 

      8 years ago from Kingston-Upon-Hull

      Thanks for not spoiling the plot. It is on my list of to see movies

    • profile image

      Nancy's Niche 

      8 years ago

      Thanks for the great movie review on UP. I will be adding this to my list of movies to see. Sound like it was written by one who has experienced that "one thing after another" bad luck phase...

    • Journey * profile imageAUTHOR

      Nyesha Pagnou MPH 

      8 years ago from USA

      Hi Sandyspider, Peggy W, thanks for commenting. Sandyspider, I'm glad you've seen the movie and like it!

    • Peggy W profile image

      Peggy Woods 

      8 years ago from Houston, Texas

      It sounds like a good one and I am glad that you did not give away the ending.

    • Sandyspider profile image

      Sandy Mertens 

      8 years ago from Wisconsin, USA

      That was a wonderful show to watch. Thanks.

    • Journey * profile imageAUTHOR

      Nyesha Pagnou MPH 

      8 years ago from USA

      Hi Candie V, Hello, hello, alekhouse and IzzyM. Thanks to all of you for posting comments on this hub. I know you'll enjoy this movie when you see it!

    • IzzyM profile image

      IzzyM 

      8 years ago from UK

      I'm off to download it now. Sounds good :)

    • alekhouse profile image

      Nancy Hinchliff 

      8 years ago from Essex Junction, Vermont

      Sounds like a fun movie. I just may take a look at it. Thanks

    • Hello, hello, profile image

      Hello, hello, 

      8 years ago from London, UK

      Thank you for hub about a film not to be missed. Thank you.

    • Candie V profile image

      Candie V 

      8 years ago from Whereever there's wolves!! And Bikers!! Cummon Flash, We need an adventure!

      Sounds like "UP" is a good movie to see! I'll put it on my list! Thanks Journey!

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)