ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Veep (HBO) - Series Premiere: Review

Updated on January 3, 2013
Source

On the 22nd of April the new comedy series ‘Veep’ premiered on HBO. Julia Louis-Dreyfus (‘The New Adventures of Old Christine’) stars as Selina Meyer, the Vice President. The series revolves around Meyer and the people she works with and has to deal with on a daily basis. One of those people is the Chief of Staff, Amy Brookheimer, portrayed by Anna Chlumsky, who also played a role in ‘In the Loop’. The latter is a spin-off movie of what is known to be the British version of ‘Veep’. Other members of the cast include, but are not limited to: Tony Hale (‘Arrested Development) and Matt Walsh (‘Outsourced’).

‘Veep’ immediately starts off strong; it begins with a few jokes that everyone understands, regardless of whether you know the characters or not. Great way to start and attract the attention of the audience. The most appealing part of this show is that it is set in a U.S. Vice President’s office. In a setting like this, one might expect professional people who have everything under control. However, they are a bunch of people who don’t really seem to know what is going on and definitely don’t have everything under control. This unexpected combination leads to surprisingly funny situations.

After eyeing the very first trailer of ‘Veep’, I wasn’t very enthusiastic. I had no idea what type of show it was going to be; the trailer had a very typical drama-look, but ‘Veep’ was stated to be a comedy show. Only a few days before the premiere a better trailer was released which gave me a bit of hope. The trailer was pretty funny, although it was very unclear what the show was really about. Yes, it revolves around Meyer, but what’s her story? Actually, I still don’t know. The show doesn’t really seem to have a story. It is just a full half hour of continuous (rather good) jokes set in the life of a VP, or veep.

So, should you watch ‘Veep’? Yes, you should really give it a try, the show is enjoyable to watch. It might not really have a story, a purpose, but it’s good TV. You don’t have to watch every episode to understand the jokes and therefore enjoy the show. If you have the night off, watch it, but don’t clear your calendar for this show.

What did you think about Veep?

See results

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Robin Oatley profile imageAUTHOR

      Robin Oatley 

      6 years ago

      I've watched both episodes too, I think the 30 minute format is perfect for a show like this. Selina's staff is hilarious indeed, my personal favorite is Amy.

    • weestro profile image

      Pete Fanning 

      6 years ago from Virginia

      I've watched the first two and enjoyed it, I like the 30 min format so it's not too long, her staff is hilarious, I'll watch it again.

    • Robin Oatley profile imageAUTHOR

      Robin Oatley 

      6 years ago

      @NiaLee, I think the reviews were all quite negative because the first trailers were a little weird. I thought it wasn't going to be a good show, but I had to revise my opinion.

    • NiaLee profile image

      NiaLee 

      6 years ago from BIG APPLE

      Thanks for that great review. Yes, I have seen a few trailers and intend to check the show. The reviews have tried to kill it before it was even aired!

      The argument: too much surrealistic intake and to far away from real job and situation!

      I definitely find it to tap into the Sarah Palin vice president fantasy. Does she pull the glasses out???

    • weestro profile image

      Pete Fanning 

      6 years ago from Virginia

      I've DVR'd it, and hope to check it out this week.

    • Robin Oatley profile imageAUTHOR

      Robin Oatley 

      6 years ago

      @Weestro & Alecia: Thanks for reading! I think you really should check out a least one episode, if of course you have HBO.

    • Alecia Murphy profile image

      Alecia Murphy 

      6 years ago from Wilmington, North Carolina

      I don't get HBO but if I did, I think I would enjoy watching this. I think Julia Louis Dreyfus is a terrific comedic actress who I don't think gets the due she deserves. It will be interesting to see how this show unfolds but I will try to check it out on DVD, great review!

    • weestro profile image

      Pete Fanning 

      6 years ago from Virginia

      I will definitely be checking this out, thanks for the info! Voted up!

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)