ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Victoria and Abdul Film Review

Updated on March 2, 2020
Coffeequeeen profile image

I am a film enthusiast and enjoy reviewing films I have watched. I like all sorts of films but mainly black & white ones from the 50's & 60s

Actor
Character
Judy Dench
Queen Victoria
Ali Fazal
Abdul Karim (The Munshi)
Eddie Izzard
Bertie, Prince of Wales
Tim Piggott-Smith
Henry Ponsonby
Paul Higgins
Dr Reid
Michael Gambon
Lord Salisbury

About the film

Producers: Tim Bevan, Eric Fellner, Beeban Kidron, Tracey Seaward

Director: Stephen Frears

Running time: 1 hr 51 mins

Genre: History, Drama, Biography

Distributed By: Focus Features

Budget: $21,000,000


About the film

Abdul Karim is a Prison Clerk from India, which at the time was run by England. The film is set in 1887 and Abdul is instructed to travel to England to present to Queen Victoria a mohur for her Golden Jubilee. A mohur is a coin which was especially minted as a token of appreciation from India. Initially, he is reluctant to travel, but eventually agrees to undertake this task. So he sails to England with strict instructions on how to act when he meets the Queen. He is told, especially, not to make eye contact with her.

So when he arrives in England, he does his utter best to do as he is instructed when he presents her with the mohur. But Abdul does catch a glimpse of her when he is bowing to her, and she returns the gaze. Queen Victoria was feeling quite alone and fed up after the death of her husband, Albert. Strange as it may seem, she strikes up quite a close friendship with Abdul, and the 2 become really close friends, spending a lot of time together. She enjoys his company and the pair can often be found alone walking the grounds, talking and laughing with each other.

The unlikely friendship is not received well amongst her closest aids and family. More astonishingly, she had promoted him to Munshi, which is a Persian word for someone who is a master of languages. Queen Victoria's household are even more shocked by this. There is a scene in the film where her son, Edward, tells her he will have her certified insane if she carries on with this friendship. Of course she doesn't take this comment well and soon puts him in his place. As her closest aides try to destroy their close friendship, the pair only seem to grow closer. The film tells the story of the close bond these 2 unlikely candidates struck up and the strong will that Queen Victoria had with the people around her.

I am 81 years of age. I've had 9 children and 42 grandchildren, and have almost a billion citizens. I have rheumatism, a collapsed uterus, I'm morbidly obese and deaf in 1 ear. I have known 11 Prime Ministers and passed 2,347 pieces of legislation. I've been in office 62 years, 234 days. Thus, I am the longest-serving monarch in world history. I'm responsible for five households and a staff of over 3,000. But I am anything but insane.

— Queen Victoria

My Thoughts

When I saw this film advertised on Netflix, I was intrigued. I had no idea that Queen Victoria had made such a special friendship and bond with Abdul. The film portrays the story of this friendship in such an excellent way. Having been widowed for several years now when she met Abdul, she was fedup with Royal duties and, I think, longed for a bit of excitement in her life. Not only that, but Abdul was a breath of fresh air in her life.

I think Judy Dench played an excellent part as Queen Victoria. Although I had not heard of Ali Fazal before, who played Abdul, I think he played a really good roll. The 2 actors seemed to have a really good working relationship and worked well together. The film kept me interested enough to want to know what would happen next. It was certainly an interesting and intriguing friendship they had. Not everyone agreed with it. But Queen Victoria was a strong and stubborn woman and wouldn't let anything or anyone stop her doing what she enjoyed.

If you've not seen this, it's available to watch on Netflix. Personally, I loved it.

© 2020 Louise Powles

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment
    • rajan jolly profile image

      Rajan Singh Jolly 

      12 months ago from From Mumbai, presently in Jalandhar, INDIA.

      The movie does seem very watchable as per your review. Thanks for sharing.

    • swalia profile image

      Shaloo Walia 

      13 months ago from India

      Nice review.

    • DDE profile image

      Devika Primić 

      13 months ago from Dubrovnik, Croatia

      I watched this movie and both played their roles as expected for me. Just perfect!

    • AliciaC profile image

      Linda Crampton 

      13 months ago from British Columbia, Canada

      I knew about the relationship between Queen Victoria and Abdul, but I didn't know about this film. I'd like to watch it very much. The real-life association between the two people has interested me for some time. I think it's lovely that they became friends.

    • profile image

      Pat Mills 

      13 months ago from East Chicago, Indiana

      I'm glad this film has found its way to Netflix for you. I saw this at the cinema and would also recommend it. Dench also played Victoria well years ago in Mrs. Brown. Thanks for sharing.

    • Donna-Rayne profile image

      Donna Rayne 

      13 months ago from Sparks, Nevada

      Louise, I forgot about this movie and I am excited to see that it is on Netflix. I can't wait to watch and thank you for sharing your well-written article!

      Blessings,

      Donna Rayne

    • bhattuc profile image

      Umesh Chandra Bhatt 

      13 months ago from Kharghar, Navi Mumbai, India

      Very interesting review. Well presented.

    • Lorna Lamon profile image

      Lorna Lamon 

      13 months ago

      I think this movie portrayed Queen Victoria's softer side when it came to her relationship with Abdul. I'm a big fan of Judy Dench and she did not disappoint in this role. I enjoyed the movie and also reading your excellent review Louise.

    • Jodah profile image

      John Hansen 

      13 months ago from Queensland Australia

      I had heard of this movie and read good reviews. This one just adds to that and has convinced me to watch it. Thanks for sharing, Louise.

    • FlourishAnyway profile image

      FlourishAnyway 

      13 months ago from USA

      Your review is convincing. I was intrigued when I first saw the movie advertised but the movie slipped my mind. Thanks for the memory jogger.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://maven.io/company/pages/privacy

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)
    ClickscoThis is a data management platform studying reader behavior (Privacy Policy)