ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Watchmen: A Review

Updated on March 14, 2009
20th Century Fox, All Rights Reserved. (Or it might be Warner Bros.)
20th Century Fox, All Rights Reserved. (Or it might be Warner Bros.)

By Wes J. Pimentel

OK, so I saw it. Watchmen is a movie inspired by a comic book. Actually, it started as a series of comic books that later became, and was published as, a single volume.

A lot of people are asking what the big deal is about this movie, or the comic book on which it is based. My wife doesn't get it. She doesn't even get Batman, though, so I wouldn't exactly consider her views about super-hero movies the norm. Many people are asking what makes this movie different from others.

One thing that makes this particular story very unique is the way the writer inserted the presence of super-heroes into our nation's history, starting as far back as the 40's. This element is very original and it brings you right in, as you have a frame of reference for the story right from the beginning.

Upon seeing the previews of the movie, unless you're a die-hard comic book freak, you immediately notice that you don't recognize any of the characters. But, there is something familiar about all of them. The reason for this is that each character is either a composite of various heroes or a hero archetype. Basically, this was written as a commentary on the genre of comic books, rather than a simple story.

The author's aim at the time of its writing was to offer a very intimate and tangible version of the super-hero. Rather than fitting into the expected black and white, good guy/bad guy roles, these characters are painted with a realism that is almost disturbing. It is the humanity of each that gives the overall story its Herculean success as a narrative. I can see why this story has garnered so much praise. These characters are as real as you and I, only... they wear costumes. And fight crime. And have gadgets way cooler than my iPhone.

Now, many people claim that other than Dr. Manhattan (the blue guy), no other character has super-human abilities. Well, if you've seen the movie, you know there are things that these "people" do that defy physics, physiology, and the limitations of the human body.

Speaking of what they do... The fight scenes. Wow. The fight scenes are wonderful. They are fast and clean and really kick-ass (pun, I know). If you liked the action in 300, you will definitely enjoy this. They were directed by the same guy, Zack Snyder, and you can tell. The fight scenes have that signature momentum that made 300 so cool.

The movie is 2 hours and 45 minutes short. At the end of it I felt like I could have stayed and watched at least another hour of it. The story is so complete and rich, it's simply captivating. The actors do a superb job and really sell it.

There are a couple of interesting historical facts about the evolution of this project from comic book idea to movie. First, the idea. The man who wrote the original comic books, Alan Moore, had this idea and approached DC Comics about using one of their already-existing group of super-heroes for the project. They denied his use of those characters because most of them would not be able to be included in future issues, once the events in the story transpired.

Another interesting thing is how long it has taken for the film to come to fruition. The truth is that they have been trying to make this into a movie since 1986. That's 23 years. The voyage the film adaptation of this story has taken is truly amazing, but I won't go into it here. You can read about it here http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Watchmen. In recent history, 20th Century Fox sat on it for a while, before Warner Bros. took it and ran with it. There was some legal dispute as to who owned the rights to produce it, and Warner Bros. has ended up having to pay Fox a percentage of the take.

The last interesting bit of trivia is the fact that the original writer, Alan Moore, has never wanted to be affiliated with a film version of the story. He has even been reported to have stated that if it ever makes it to film he won't see the movie. He is of the opinion that there are elements to the story that can only be expressed in the comic medium. Too bad, 'cause that movie is hot!

So, that's it. In short, go see it. I've finished up here with a round-up of the main characters and actors.

The Watchmen characters and actors are as follows:

Dr. Manhattan - The blue guy. I think he's made out of radioactive plasma, although research into the actual comic books might offer the exact explanation. An interesting note on this character is that his penis gets more on-screen time than the actor who played Max Headroom. He's played by Billy Crudup. If you don't know who he is, look him up. He's done some work. http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0001082/

Silk Spectre - The chick. Hot. She has "no super-powers," but she's an incredible fighter and she has a supernaturally appealing physique. She is played by Malin Akerman. Although not a household name as of yet, she has also done some work. http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0015196/

Ozymandias (The Smartest Man in the World) - The pretty blonde boy. I guess this guy's abilities lie in his use of his entire brain. This not only gives him unsurpassed intellect, but apparently makes him fast enough to catch a bullet. No super-power? Anyway, the guy's name is Matthew Goode. http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0328828/

Rorschach - For those of us with a mental health background, this guy is freakin' awesome! What a cool concept. This is the guy with the ever-changing ink-blot mask. Now, without super-powers, how do you keep the ink-blot on the front of your face changing? My brother proposed that his mask might be made out of that "Hypercolor" stuff, like those t-shirts that highlight your armpit sweat. I guess. But, not really. Anyway, he, like the rest of the heroes, is a ridiculously good fighter, endowed with incredible speed, strength, and agility. He is played, quite well, by Jackie Earl Haley. http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0355097/

The Comedian - This is the guy smoking a cigar in every preview. He is the coolest, assholiest super-hero ever. He is very similar to the Punisher. If I were a super-hero I would be a lot like this guy, except for one really major difference, which I will not spoil. He is a veteran and a die-hard patriot, who is disillusioned with the state of our country. He is played expertly by Jeffrey Dean Morgan. http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0604747/

Nite Owl - This is the guy with the most super-heroest costume. He's the one who looks a lot like Batman. And his namesake is a nocturnal bird of prey. And he fights with a bunch of gadgets based on that animal. And... I think you get the point. He is the sort of straight-man of the bunch. I would guess that his political views are very conservative. He is played by Patrick Wilson. http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0933940/

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Schwag profile imageAUTHOR

      Schwag 

      9 years ago from Clarksville, TN

      jonaitis - Yeah, I see how relevant it is for Rorshach's character, I just don't see why this regular civilian would need a dress made of such stuff or why Dr. Manhattan, the guy working on saving the world, would spare a moment for some light tailoring.

    • profile image

      jonaitis 

      9 years ago

      She wasn't a hero--I'm not sure of her need for the dress, maybe it was just another example of Alan Moore grounding the comic in historical fact. It was such an abominable crime and the resultant donning of the mask certainly fits with Rorshach's character.

    • Schwag profile imageAUTHOR

      Schwag 

      9 years ago from Clarksville, TN

      jonaitis - Thanks for the comment, compliment, and the tip. I just looked up the girl's name. So, in the comic book is Kitty Genovese a hero also? I wonder why she would need such a garment and why the doctor would provide it to her.

    • profile image

      jonaitis 

      9 years ago

      Nice review. Rorshach's mask is explained in the comic book as constructed of special fabric of heat sensitive liquid suspended in latex made by Dr. Manhattan for Kitty Genovese (who was raped and murdered in New York while her neighbors watched in the 1960s--a famous case); after her murder, Rorshach dons the mask made from this material in disgust with the crime, further cementing the theme of super heroes in our historical past. Pretty cool stuff.

    • Schwag profile imageAUTHOR

      Schwag 

      9 years ago from Clarksville, TN

      Dork - No probblem. I've been getting annoyed by other people's reviews of this movie. Instead of reviewing the movie, everyone seems to be reviewing the disparity between the comic books and the movie. Friggin' comic snobs.

    • imadork profile image

      imadork 

      9 years ago from St. Peters, MO

      I'm looking forward to seeing this movie. Thanks for the review.

    • Schwag profile imageAUTHOR

      Schwag 

      9 years ago from Clarksville, TN

      Cris A - I hear you on the super-hero movies. I'm a kid at heart and I have always liked to see familiar characters on the big screen. I almost climaxed when I heard about the first Transformers movie. I'm glad my review helped to encourage you to see this.

      Paul Profitt - Watchmen and The Watcher are totally unrelated. Thanks for the comment.

      Tom - Thanks for the comment and the compliment. I hope you enjoy the show.

      Abhishek87 - My pleasure. I hope you like it.

    • Abhishek87 profile image

      Abhishek87 

      9 years ago from India

      Read the hub, watched the trailer : I am definitely going for it... 

      Thanks :)

    • Tom Cornett profile image

      Tom Cornett 

      9 years ago from Ohio

      Thanks Schwag, cool hub, now I gotta see the movie. :)

    • Paul Profitt profile image

      Paul Profitt 

      9 years ago from England

      I like the look of this film as I use to be a huge comic book fan, especially marvel comics. I have been wondering if the name of this movie Watchmen has any connection to a famous Marvel comic character called the Watcher.

    • Cris A profile image

      Cris A 

      9 years ago from Manila, Philippines

      Now I'm definitely going to see it! It's nice to know that film adapations from comic books have been improving of late (Dark Knigh, Ironman etc.). They're given more soul, more relevance, more currency. I mean, who wants a happy Batman? Hopefully the days of eye candy superheroes are over. Thanks for this review Wes! Great job! :D

    • Schwag profile imageAUTHOR

      Schwag 

      9 years ago from Clarksville, TN

      NO SPOILERS!! Well, tiny hinting ones, but I HATE when people tell me about a movie, so I respect that. I promise you won't be mad if you read it.

    • Cris A profile image

      Cris A 

      9 years ago from Manila, Philippines

      I haven't seen the movie so I'd skip reading this hub! Unless there are no spoilers! Are there?

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)