ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

What Are Chords?

Updated on June 6, 2012

Chords are, in all its simplicity, combinations of notes.

These combinations, however, are not just coincidental. There are a lot of systems to learn when learning chords. In this article, I will go through the most used types of chords.

All examples are showed on a piano. The system is the same for guitar, but the order of the notes may be different and you may have to play a note more than one time for the chord to sound well.

Major Chords

A 'major' chord is the most commenly used chord and is known for having a 'happy' kind of mood. It consists of three notes:

The key note (in this case a C)

The major third (in this case an E)

The fifth (in this case a G)

C Major is written 'C'.

Minor Chords

A 'minor chord' is known for having a 'sad' kind of mood. It also consists of three notes, but notice that the third has changed from a major third to a minor third. This simply means that you have to play the third a half note below.

Notice that the E has now become an E flat (written as 'Eb').

C minor is written 'Cm'.

7 Chords

A '7' chord is mostly used in blues music. This chord consists of four notes. The three first are the same as in the usual major chord, but the fourth note is the 'minor seventh'. This note is three half notes above the fifth. In a C7, the seventh is a B flat (written as 'Bb').

Minor 7 Chords

A 'minor 7' chord has a happy-sad sound and is used in all kinds of music. It is build like the regular 7 chord, but with a minor third instead of a major.

Note that the E has turned into an E flat because it is now a minor chord instead of a major chord.

C minor 7 is written 'Cm7'.

Major 7 Chords

A 'major 7' chord has a flying sound. It is very light and, joyful and is most used in pop and jazz played lightly.

It is almost similar to the regular 7 chord. The only difference is that the minor seventh is now a major seventh - just a half note above.

Note that the B flat is now a B.

C major 7 is written 'Cmaj7'.

Diminished Chords

A 'dimished' chord has a very dark sound. It usually consists of three notes: The key note, the minor third and a note three half notes above the minor third.

C diminished is written 'Cdim' or 'C°'.

Suspended Chords

A 'suspended' chord is just like a regular major chord, except the third is now a fourth, meaning that you move the middle note up half a note. If you play in C, you would have to change the E to an F (suspending the third).

C suspended is written 'Csus' or 'Csus4'.

If you see a 'Csus2', it means that the third has become a second - the middle note will be a D.


    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No comments yet.


    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at:

    Show Details
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the or domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)