ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

What Happened Miss Simone Film Review

Updated on March 11, 2018

About the film

Released: 2015

Director: Liz Garbus

Executive Producer: Lisa Simone Kelly

Running time: 1 hour 41 minutes

Genre: Music, Biography, Documentary

Distributed by: Netflix


About the film

Nina Simone is an iconic singer, famous for her singing a range of music including blues, jazz, pop and classical. This documentary film, exclusive to Netflix, is a film documenting her life and career. The film goes behind the scenes and explores Nina's personal life and singing career. She was born in North Carolina and learned to play the piano at around the age of 4 yrs old. Going to Church and playing the piano was a very big part of her early life.

The film begins in 1976 and shows never before seen footage of Nina, and also covers her activist role in the 60's. There are unseen videos and photographs of Nina, and interviews she had given during her career. Throughout the film the people closest to her give personal interviews about Nina, including her daughter, Lisa. They talk about what she like as a person, both to work with and live with. It could be especially difficult at times, due to her being diagnosed with Bipolar Disorder. They never knew what her mood was going to be like. She clearly loved her daughter, but even their relationship at times could be difficult. The film also covers her physically abusive marriage with her husband/manager, and how this affected both her and the people around her. She also loved her music, and the film gives a unique insight into a legendary artiste. The film also shows the struggles she had with playing the classical music she dearly loved, due to her race.

My Thoughts

Whilst viewing may be difficult in some parts to watch, I found this compelling to watch. I've always loved Nina Simone's music and song. She's got a unique sound to her voice, and she loved singing. It can be uncomfortable to watch at times, with the abuse she suffered at the hands of her husband, and also with her suffering with bipolar. But still, I found this documentary highly informative with a varied amount of still pictures and videos of Nina. There are interviews with people that knew her well and her daughter, Lisa, plays a big part in this film. Lisa is, in fact, the executive producer. And when the civil rights movement began, Nina was not afraid to air her views, most certainly in her songs. The film takes you on a journey of self discovery from her childhood right up to her death. We meet the people that was closest and dearest to her, and through her unique singing voice, how she made it to super stardom all over the world. I felt quite sorry for her really. Her husband clearly didn't respect and mistreated her in a way that no woman deserves to be treated. Yet, she has this powerful voice that could please everything when she started to sing.

I think Liz Garbus who directed this did an excellent job at portraying her life through her career and personal life. And with the personal insight from friends and family, you get to see who Nina was as a person. This is a highly informative and interesting film to watch on a national treasure. I would highly recommend this film. As I say, it's on Netflix and I think they had done a brilliant job at creating a documentary on a much loved singer.

Sometimes I sound like gravel and sometimes I sound like coffee and cream.

— Nina Simone

What Happened, Miss Simone? official trailer

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Frank Atanacio profile image

      Frank Atanacio 

      7 months ago from Shelton

      good review coffeequeen.. I have netflicks so I am going to give it a watch.. again thanks for sharing

    • Coffeequeeen profile imageAUTHOR

      Louise Powles 

      8 months ago from Norfolk, England

      It's very interesting. I've always liked her music.

    • Claire-louise profile image

      Claire Raymond 

      8 months ago from UK

      Sounds like it will definitely be worth a watch!

    • Coffeequeeen profile imageAUTHOR

      Louise Powles 

      8 months ago from Norfolk, England

      No I didn't know much about her either till I watched this. It was very interesting.

    • MsDora profile image

      Dora Weithers 

      8 months ago from The Caribbean

      Never knew of Nina Simone until I watched the movie on Netflix. Couldn't stop thinking about her. Thanks for the review and the memory.

    • Coffeequeeen profile imageAUTHOR

      Louise Powles 

      8 months ago from Norfolk, England

      Oh it's a lovely film Flourish, I'm sure you'll enjoy it.

    • profile image

      Pat Mills 

      8 months ago from East Chicago, Indiana

      This is one of many films I'd like to see on Netflix.

    • FlourishAnyway profile image

      FlourishAnyway 

      8 months ago from USA

      I’m definitely going to see this movie, Louise. Thank you for drawing my attention to it.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)