ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

A Mom's Review of Sons of Anarchy: Season 6

Updated on December 20, 2016
TJHousel profile image

Tawnya is a freelance writer who LOVEs movies and televison series! She enjoys family movies and animated movies the most.

As a mom, many of my reviews are about kid's programs, but I do get to watch "grown-up" TV from time to time. In fact, from September to December my nighttime routine is dedicated to getting everything is taken care of and my daughter in bed before my favorite show, Sons of Anarchy. This review is specifically for the sixth season of FX's best-running TV show ever.
Sons of Anarchy Season 6 Review

When season 6 began, we found Jax (Charlie Hunnam) struggling to hold his personal and professional life together. His wife, Tara (Maggie Siff) is in jail, and so is his estranged stepfather, Clay (Ron Perlman). Early in the season, the corrupt US Marshall, Lee Toric (Donal Logue), has approached both Tara and Clay with deals, if they turn on the club. Initially, they both refuse, but it is evident that Tara and Clay are both questioning their allegiances to Jax and the club.

Bobby (Mark Boone Junior) leaves the club after disagreeing with the way Jax leads the club, and both Chibbs (Tommy Flanagan) and Jax are questioning whether or not Juice (Theo Rossi) belongs in SAMCRO anymore. A clash with the Irish results in SAMCRO having to relocate their clubhouse and relationships begin to crumble as well. As a last resort, Tara reaches out to Wendy (Drea de Matteo) and Dr. Murphy (McNally Sagal) and devises a plan to protect her children in case she has to go to jail. When Gemma (Katy Sagal) learns of this scheme, she fears she will lose her grandchildren forever and wages war on Tara.

As the season nears an end, Jax finds his personal and professional life in greater turmoil than when the season began. With no end of trouble in sight, Jax makes a plan to protect Tara, his kids, his business with Nero (Jimmy Smits), and his future. However, Tara makes a plan of her own...one that conflicts with what Jax has already set-up.
Sons of Anarchy Season 6 Finale

When the season 6 finale was on, I was nearly on the end of my seat. Through the years, I have learned that I cannot predict what Kurt Sutter, the creator of Sons of Anarchy, is going to do next. The finale began with massive conflicts between main characters including Tara, Jax, Gemma, Nero, Juice, and many others. Unbeknownst to everyone, Jax decides to sacrifice himself to save the club he loves and the woman he loves and adores. However, Gemma, who isn't thinking clearly thanks to a personal conflict, isn't happy about what is happening to Jax. Unfortunately for Tara, when Gemma has a chance encounter with Tara before Gemma has had the opportunity to talk to Jax, it leads to tragedy.

Check out some of My Favorite Sons of Anarchy Scenes

Are you Excited for the last Season of Sons of Anarchy?

See results

Have you seen this FX show? If so, what do you think?

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • profile image

      Lynn Klobuchar 

      4 years ago

      Thanks for the review. I haven't watched because I am never in charge of the remote!

    • Zeross4 profile image

      Renee Dixon 

      4 years ago from Kentucky

      Can't wait to watch this, sounds like a great show!

    • TJHousel profile imageAUTHOR

      Tawnya 

      4 years ago from NE Ohio

      @shoputopian: I'm sad to see it end too. I'm hoping that Sutter does create a 1960s prequel. I would love to see it, and I'm anxious to see what Unser does. If he doesn't tell Jax the truth, I think Juice may end up taking the blame for Tara's death and the KG9s too.

    • profile image

      shoputopian 

      4 years ago

      It's sad that season 7 will be the last one and I'm predicting that Unser will of had enough of Gemma and he'll come clean and tell Jax the truth about Tara.

    • TJHousel profile imageAUTHOR

      Tawnya 

      4 years ago from NE Ohio

      @aesta1: You are very welcome! It really is a great show.

    • aesta1 profile image

      Mary Norton 

      4 years ago from Ontario, Canada

      Another show to put on my list. Thanks.

    • TJHousel profile imageAUTHOR

      Tawnya 

      4 years ago from NE Ohio

      @SheGetsCreative: I agree, one of my favorite scenes from the sixth season is when Nero is comforting Jax with one hand and clenching his fist with the other.

    • sousababy profile image

      sousababy 

      4 years ago

      I haven't seen this show (yet). Thank you for an enticing review.

    • SheGetsCreative profile image

      Angela F 

      4 years ago from Seattle, WA

      One of my favs. I also heard Wendy was going to be a major character - and I predict there's going to be some painful interactions between Nero and Jax in the final season.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)