ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

A Mom's Review of Superstar - An SNL Spin-Off

Updated on January 11, 2016
TJHousel profile image

Tawnya is a freelance writer who LOVEs movies and televison series! She enjoys family movies and animated movies the most.

Add Superstar to Your At-Home DVD Collection

Source

Facts About Superstar

  • 1999 comedy film
  • Features Mary Katherine Gallagher - a recurring character from Saturday Night Live
  • According to Rotten Tomatoes, this film is another SNL misfire with a dumb plot and bad jokes
  • Grossed 30.6 million at the Box Office

Superstar Review

I'm a huge fan of SNL spin-off movies and Molly Shannon and Will Ferrell. In fact, much like Mary Katherine Gallagher, this film sparked my love affair with Will Ferrell. The 1999 film Superstar is a Saturday Night Live spin-off featuring everyone's favorite special education student, Mary Katherine Gallagher (Molly Shannon). In this comedic spin-off, Mary Katherine Gallagher is an awkward teenage, Catholic school girl trying to survive at St. Monica High School. However, the self-professed ugly duckling has one big problem, she wants to be kissed, and she will do anything to get the kiss she desires.

Not just an Ordinary Kiss

Unlike some of her peers, Mary Katherine doesn't want just any ordinary kiss. Instead, the kind of kiss she desires is a knock-your-socks off, curl your toes, soulful connection kind of kiss. To make matters more complicated, this over-the-top, Hollywood kiss can't be from just anybody. Instead, the object of Mary Katherine's desire is Sky (Will Ferrell). The only problem is Sky and Mary Katherine aren't in the same clicks. In fact, Sky may not even know Mary Katherine exists. To make matters worse, Sky's girlfriend, Evian (Elaine Hendrix), has made it her goal in life to make Mary Katherine's days at St. Monica High School very long and painful.

A Superstar is Born

After much self-pity and evil scheming, Mary Katherine decides the only way she will win Sky's heart is by becoming a full-blown Superstar. To accomplish her plan, she gets celebrity advice from her fellow special education students and Jesus, of course, and signs up for the school's annual talent show. Competing against her in the talent show is Sky and Evian, but Mary Katherine isn't worried. She is confident that after Sky and the dozens of other audience members see her perform, she will indeed become a superstar and get the mind-blowing kiss that she desires.

Why I Still Love Superstar Today

I first saw this movie over a decade and a half ago, and I still love it today. You didn't have to be an SNL fan to follow the story and the pairing of Molly Shannon with Will Ferrell was and still is comedic genius. These two comedians will have you in stitches from the moment they grace the screen till the second before the credits roll.

Do you like SNL Spin-Off Movies?

See results

I'd love to know you stopped by!!! Feel free to leave a comment, a note, or your favorite Superstar moment below.

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Funken Wagnel profile image

      Funken Wagnel 

      4 years ago

      I know not everyone likes this movie, but I love it! Can't get enough of it. It's a total crack up

    • NicoleRM profile image

      NicoleRM 

      4 years ago

      Love this movie!

    • TJHousel profile imageAUTHOR

      Tawnya 

      4 years ago from NE Ohio

      @serendipity831: Thanks, Serendipity. This is my first RotD, so I am very excited. The tree licking scene is one of my favorites. My daughter is also a gymnast and a bit of a ham, so we also tease her about being a "superstar" like Molly Shannon.

    • serendipity831 profile image

      Drake McSherry 

      4 years ago from Milwaukee, WI

      Congratulations on RotD! This brought back memories of her licking the tree and the way she said 'Superstar' Lol

    • profile image

      getmoreinfo 

      4 years ago

      Will Ferrell is one of my favorite comedians too, I love his movies, very funny guy. Thanks for the review of SNL superstar.

    • TJHousel profile imageAUTHOR

      Tawnya 

      4 years ago from NE Ohio

      @sousababy: Thanks, Rose. It's my first RotD and I'm very EXCITED!

    • sousababy profile image

      sousababy 

      4 years ago

      Congrats, I read your review earlier and just found out you won RotD (Review of the Day)!

    • sousababy profile image

      sousababy 

      4 years ago

      Haaa, yeah, Molly Shannon really pulled-off the nerdy girl in Superstar (before Ugly Betty did). I loved Will Ferrell in it (as well as his Roxbury skits on SNL). Pinned, etc.

    • TJHousel profile imageAUTHOR

      Tawnya 

      4 years ago from NE Ohio

      @kristalulabelle: Thanks! I loved the list!

    • kristalulabelle profile image

      Kristen 

      4 years ago from Wisconsin

      This movie has always made me laugh! Great review!

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)