ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Avatar Movie Review

Updated on October 7, 2014
Avatar
Avatar | Source

Looking For A Good Avatar Movie Review?

Avatar was such a beautiful film that I cannot help but think it should be seen only in a movie theatre. However, that time has come and gone and now, if you want to see Avatar, you will need to rely on the benefits of your HDTV and your blu-ray player.

Twentieth Century Fox Home Entertainment released Avatar, James Cameron's science fiction movie to DVD and blu-ray disc, on Earth Day, April 22nd, 2010.

Avatar is the first movie that I ever thoroughly enjoyed on 3D. It did an amazing job of combining the effects with a good storyline. I was actually able to forget that I was watching 3D. I do not think that it has ever happened to me before. If this is the future of 3D, I think we have a lot to look forward to.

On this page, you will find my Avatar movie review. You will also find links to many more top quality reviews of Avatar, the movie trailer and information about the blu-ray disc.

It took 12 years and five hundred million dollars for James Cameron to create this epic movie which makes it the most expensive movie ever made, a title previously held by James Cameron's Titanic, which went on to be considered by many the best movie ever made. It will take you 161 minutes to soak up all its glory and what may well be the best movie effects ever.

Click here to order your copy of Avatar from Amazon.

Avator Movie Storyline

Avatar is about a former U.S. soldier who travels from Earth to Pandora in order to enter a tribe of alien Na'vi who just happen to be living over a rich mineral deposit. The mission is to find a way to convince the tribe to move but the soldier falls in love with a member of the Na'vi and winds up organizing the revolt against the human invasion. A visually spectacular 3D movie, this one also includes an environmental theme, a love story and plenty of action and adventure.

Avatar opened in movie theatres on December 18, 2009.

Blu-ray and DVD release date was

April 22, 2010.

Avatar Official Movie Trailer

This is the second, slightly longer Avatar movie trailer although at 3:32 minutes it is not overly long. It is, however, a far better representation of what this movie is all about than the first trailer was...and it is this trailer, which reveals more of the storyline, which convinced me to go with two members of my family to see this movie at the theatre.

Indy Mogul Review of Avatar

James Cameron is back in a big way and the question is can he deliver the promised most technologically advanced movie ever made. On this video, Indy Mogul starts off with a brief look at and analysis of James Cameron's movie making history and of Avatar and then then she goes to the box office to interview movie goers who have just seen the film. Did James Cameron succeed? Watch and see what these movie goers have to say.

Jeremy Jahns Review of Avatar

I enjoy Jeremy Jahns reviews but be warned that he uses some foul language in his movie reviews. His review of Avatar actually is tamer in that respect than some of his other reviews that I have viewed. In terms of this movie, well, I can say that Jeremy loved it:

"I expected a good movie or at the least a very pretty looking movie but damn its safe to say that I did not expect this level of emotional gravity. There are scenes that just break your heart in this movie."

If you watch this trailer, you are going to want to see this movie and I will go along with Jeremy when he says, "Go, go now!"

Avatar won three Academy Awards, for Art Direction, Cinematography and Visual Effects.

Avatar Blu-ray
Avatar Blu-ray
Avatar (Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray/ DVD Combo Pack)
Avatar (Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray/ DVD Combo Pack)

Striking artwork on this edition, which includes the blu-ray disc, the blu-ray 3D disc and the DVD versions of the movie.

 

Avatar Rated PG-13

Not a children's movie, Avatar is rated PG-13 for battles, warfare, sensuality and language.

First, be aware that this movie Avatar is not in any way connected to Avatar: The Last Airbender. It is a PG-13 motion picture extravaganza that is not appropriate for younger children.

Christian Science Monitor gave this movie a grade of B+ and reminded us that it is rated PG-13 for "intense epic battle sequences and warfare, sensuality, language, and some smoking."

The Movie Mom echoed the B+ grade and said that she felt that this movie is appropriate for middle schoolers and up, warning that this movie contains "extensive sci-fi action-style fantasy violence, peril, injuries, and death involving every possible kind of weapon from poison-dipped arrows and knives to high-tech missiles, teargas, and bulldozers." She goes on to say that there are animal attacks, a non-explicit, sensual scene, a bit of foul lanugage and some macho military talk. Characters are also attacked by animals. There is a non-explicit but sensual scene involving some alien snuggling. Characters use about a dozen bad words and there is some macho military talk, too.

Finally, Common Sense Media issued a strong warning too, saying that this science fiction movie might just be too intense and possibly too long for many tweens.

Avatar on Blu-ray and DVD
Avatar on Blu-ray and DVD

Order Avatar on Blu-ray and DVD Now

The Art of Avatar: James Cameron's Epic Adventure Hardcover Book

© 2010 Treasures By Brenda

What do YOU think of Avatar? What sort of Avatar movie review would you write?

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Lee Hansen profile image

      Lee Hansen 

      8 years ago from Vermont

      My comments as I left the Imax 3D theater: Best movie I've ever seen in my entire life. We just bought the DVD and watched it/relived it at home this weekend.

    • WildFacesGallery profile image

      Mona 

      8 years ago from Iowa

      Definitely one of the movie greats. Nice lens! 5*

    • carny profile image

      carny 

      8 years ago

      It was an enjoyable movie with spectacular CG. Nothing amazing but fun to watch. I've watched it on cinema but not the 3D version, heard it was even cooler in 3D.

    • tandemonimom lm profile image

      tandemonimom lm 

      8 years ago

      Great review! I loved the movie and can't wait to see Avatar on our new Blu-ray machine!

    • SusanDeppner profile image

      Susan Deppner 

      8 years ago from Arkansas USA

      Well, I haven't seen it and probably won't watch it anytime soon since we're not really fans of this type of movie, though I am curious. I do love the blue art on the black background on the posters and t-shirts, though. Gorgeous!

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)