ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Brassed Off!: A true review

Updated on June 10, 2015
Source

An honest review about the movie Brassed Off

Just look at the cover on the right. What does that suggest to you? What sort of film do you expect from a DVD with a cover like that? I rather imagine that you would expect a light-hearted comedy girl-meets-boy romp, wouldn't you?

You would be so wrong. They'd have been far better off asking me to design it. :)

Of course, it's funny

It takes place in Yorkshire. Yorkshire people are funny. We have to be. If you know anything about this history of God's Own County, then you'll know that its people have no option. If we didn't see the funny side, we'd have become as extinct as the dinosaur.

Yes, you'll laugh, but you'll cry too.

My eyes water the second the film starts

Yes, that's because I know what's coming, that's true. But there's another aspect too. Brass band music. To Yorkshire people, brass band music is somehow hard-wired into our brains. Maybe we remember the Salvation Army bands at Christmas - maybe it's more deep-rooted than that.


The mining village of Grimethorpe

This film is based on the story of the coal mining village. Historically, mining was the only industry and formed its only economy. Like most northern pits, there was an incredibly talented brass band.

There really wasn't much to do in Grimethorpe. The band provided entertainment and just for the locals - it was incredibly well-respected. But of course, its fortunes and future were tied to the coal mining industry.

A comedy with tragedy

A couple of years before this film was made, Grimethorpe was classed as the most impoverished village in the UK. It was certainly the most hopeless. The miners' strike in the previous decade had seen to that and pits throughout the region were closing and its men becoming unemployed. This had a knock-on effect on the whole local community.

I don't have the words to tell you more

You have to see for yourself.

Note that the music throughout the film is played by the real Grimethorpe Colliery Band with a few actors playing the parts of some musicians.

Watch!

1.The band have won the prestigious award. The conductor, Danny, was too ill to attend but comes onto the stage and explains about how the men have lost their jobs. Tissue alert, profanity alert but worth watching.

2. This is a real event that I used to go to composed of competing bands, marching. Notice how the band progressively get more & more drunk. So true to life!

3. Band practice. Gloria has been away from her hometown but has returned. She asks to sit in. She has been practicing Concierto de Aranjuez or 'orange juice' as the lads call it.

4. Severe tissue alert. Danny is seriously ill. The band go to the hospital and by the light of their pit helmets,play Danny Boy. Note the lad with the cut on his temple is Danny's son and Andy is whistling because he's had to sell his horn.

5. The official trailer.


Watch this and tell me that this film is a light-hearted comedy. I imagine that the graphic designer who created the DVD cover above had never even seen the film. Oh and remember this is English - profanity alert near the end of the clip.

My ex played the trumpet in a brass band and we used to go to this very contest. It's actually as much of a drinking contest as a musical contest. Everyone ends up thoroughly plastered. A great day out.

Gloria has come back to Grimethorpe. She joins the band practice. The lads think that she'll be so bad. Whilst mining officials decide the fate of the pit, the band plays Concierto de Aranjuez - 'de orange juice' as they call it.

Danny, the conductor is seriously ill. The band go to the grounds of the hospital and play Danny Boy by the light of their pit helmets. Andy has to whistle because he's had to sell his tenor horn. It's essential to watch this to the end.

The official trailer.

This shows our house keys. See the key ring? The two brass squares belonged to himself's dad when he was a miner in the Grimethorpe area.

Source

For the brass band fan

Classic Brass
Classic Brass

The Grimethorpe Colliery Band is internationally respected and renown today. If you want to hear more, here it is. This is a great gift for the brass band fanatic - or for a Yorkshire person. It's the music of our roots.

 

© 2013 Jackie Jackson

Guestbook

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • BritFlorida profile image
      Author

      Jackie Jackson 3 years ago from Fort Lauderdale

      @JohnTannahill - nice one :)

    • JohnTannahill profile image

      John Tannahill 3 years ago from Somewhere in England

      @BritFlorida - no, I don't want to say anything that might get me band.

    • BritFlorida profile image
      Author

      Jackie Jackson 3 years ago from Fort Lauderdale

      @JohnTannahill - oh, please do!

    • JohnTannahill profile image

      John Tannahill 3 years ago from Somewhere in England

      @BritFlorida I was going to say something funny but I decided not to.

    • BritFlorida profile image
      Author

      Jackie Jackson 3 years ago from Fort Lauderdale

      @JohnTannahill - well, someone blowing something is an improvement...

    • JohnTannahill profile image

      John Tannahill 3 years ago from Somewhere in England

      It must just be the US version or something. The UK DVD cover has people blowing brass instruments on the cover.

    • BritFlorida profile image
      Author

      Jackie Jackson 4 years ago from Fort Lauderdale

      @sousababy: It's such a shame that someone decided to market it as a comedy. Yes, it's very funny (the Yorkshire thing!) but so meaningful too.

    • sousababy profile image

      sousababy 4 years ago

      Indeed, Yorkshire people ARE funny. Miners certainly had (have) a dangerous occupation. I'd never have pegged this movie as more than a light-hearted comedy, at first glance. Thank you for this review.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: "https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr"

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)